We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, paceful and beatiful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Highland Resort

Save Saved
You added Highland Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Highland Resort
Kinilow Jaga VI | Tomohon, Minahasa 95362, Tomohon 95362, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Tomohon
Artés
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great, paceful and beatiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

It's a good place to explore the surrondings.
Good rooms, spacious, and cleanest.
Nice lunch, and breakfast.
Good spa
And nice place to stay
. Excelent wifi.

Very quiet place good for family and friends. Good satff

Room Tip: All rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    18
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
34
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The Highland Resort is not a place of extraordinary luxury, but it is a pleasant and comfortable place to stay. The superior rooms are fairly spacious bungalows with all modern conveniences. The staff is all very nice and helpful but also very efficient. I found the town of Tomohon not very interesting, but the surrounding area is beautiful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunaken Island, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We first stayed in January 2011 for 4 nights and liked it so much we took my parents for 5 nights when they came to visit us in February this year (2012). Planning another visit again this year!!

All the staff are so friendly and helpful, food very tasty and the massages and other spa treatments fantastic. The location is beautiful and a nice cool escape from the heat of Manado and Bunaken.

We did 3 different tours on our second visit: The Highland Tour, Mahawu Volcano Trekking Tour and Tangkoko Nature Reserve. All 3 tours were great fun, well organised and the driver and guide very knowledgeable.

The Deluxe rooms are lovely, very big with comfortable furnishings and a small fridge, so you always have a cold Bintang at hand!!! Everything is well kept and always clean and tidy.

A delight to stay and we cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: All room locations are great. Deluxe rooms nice and big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed 6 nights at Highland Resort in beginning of July 2012 and wanna thanks for the realy nice staff. Also the food from the restaurant with the bring-in Service was excellent :)
Its a place where you can go to nice tripps, as well in Tomohon (catch a mikrolet at the main street)
Price for Blueberry Taxi _ Manado-Highland Resort: 80'000Rp
Thanks alot for this nice time
N + N , Switzerland

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed three nights at Highland Resort in the beginning of June this year (2012). The staff were great, the rooms clean and the food in the restaurant was tasty.
But the best thing were the tours organized by the resort. We did the volcano trekking and the white water rafting. Everything guided and organized by the friendly tour guide Moody. Thank you for two unfogettable days!

/M, M and K from Sweden

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie L, Inhaber at Highland Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thanks Mattias - very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and the tours. I will tell Mody.
Hope we can welcome you again some time.
Best wishes from the Highland Resort team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

I had a very nice and peaceful time at Highland Resort: the place is very calm 6 beautiful, settled between the trees and you have a nice view on Lonkon Volcano just at the door of the resort! You jsut need 5 minutes walking to get the public transport if you want to hang around. All the people working there are very kind and care a lot to make you stay as pefect as possible. Moody is a very keen and sympathic guide who will show you a lot if you ask him!

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie L, Inhaber at Highland Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you very much! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again one day. It has been a pleasure to have you as our guest!
Warm regards from the Highland Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Stayed here in April '12 with a group of friends. The place is beautiful and the staff go out of their way to make sure everything is ok for you. Food in the (very small) restaurant is excellent.

It's only 10 cottages. Rooms are beautiful and cool. The spa is great.
The setting is breathtaking and there is lots to do in the region.
You can take a bemo to the town, do the Minahasa tour, go to Tangkoko park, swim in the public pool (springboard 5m high!) etc.

It's hard to meet an Indonesian that isn't hospitable and warm, but the people at Highland Resort are the best we encountered on our trip around the archipelago.

Room Tip: The suites are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Highland Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Resort

Address: Kinilow Jaga VI | Tomohon, Minahasa 95362, Tomohon 95362, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Tomohon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Tomohon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North Sulawesi has a lot more to offer than Bunaken. The Highland Resort and Spa is an ideal place to base yourself in the volcanic highland area near Manado. Our unique resort offers a cool respite from the tropical heat of the city, and a quiet venue to relax and enjoy the lush vegetation and birdlife found here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Highland Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highland Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.