We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great view, great restaurant, great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jungle Hill Cafe

Jungle Hill Cafe
Jalan Orangutan, Bukit Lawang, Indonesia
+62 822-7716-0471
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 11 Restaurants in Bukit Lawang
Price range: $1 - $5
Cuisines: Italian, International, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Description: Ice cold beer, pizza and quality food. River views with the jungle opposite.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great view, great restaurant, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

you can watch the jungle from your chair, in the mean while you can have such a fine meal, while you are being served so friendly; would love to return!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    6
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mudgee, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Lovely food lovely place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I spent hours here taking my time ordering and taking our time eating. We were in jungle mode. My 4 year old son and I probably spent a few hours here watching the river, and relaxing. It's nice to find a restaurant where we can relax without feeling the staff are waiting for us to leave. Did I mention the food was DELICIOUS! And the beer was ICY COLD!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin T, ITManager at Jungle Hill Cafe, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thanks so much for your review, come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maarssen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Go there and enjoy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Food was wonderful! First night there was a cosy light with a couple of solarcharged campinglights due to powerproblems. Second time it was just good food, nice service and a fine view to the river

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin T, ITManager at Jungle Hill Cafe, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thanks so much for your review, come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“lovely place next to the river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

I had chicken rendang and a mango juice, both very tasty! The setting by the river is also lovely, so I highly recommend to visit this restaurant when you are in Bukit Lawang.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin T, ITManager at Jungle Hill Cafe, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thanks so much for your review, come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A lovely way to while away some time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We loved to have a juice and a light freshly cooked meal on our many visits to town. To sit and watch the tubers come down the river, listen to the Gibbons in the jungle opposite or watch my washing drying on the rocks below made this place very special

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin T, InternetManager at Jungle Hill Cafe, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thanks so much for your review, come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jungle Hill Cafe also viewed

Bukit Lawang, North Sumatra
Bukit Lawang, North Sumatra
 
Bukit Lawang, North Sumatra
Bukit Lawang, North Sumatra
 

Been to Jungle Hill Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jungle Hill Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.