We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful jungle experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Junia Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bukit Lawang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Junia Guest House
Bukit Lawang, Bukit Lawang 20774, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Bonn, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“a wonderful jungle experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Me and my friend spent three wonderful nights at Junia's Guesthouse. The staff there is so so friendly and always happy to help with all your needs.
The bungalow style rooms are in good condition, have mosquito nets and were kept very clean.
I loved the atmosphere at this place, we spent the last night listening to staff and locals singing and playing guitar and it was just perfect :-)
Thanks for the great experience, I would highly recommend you guys!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
6
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halle (Saale), Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We are a family with two teenaged girls and we stood in the Junia Guest House only for three nights but it was time enough to fall in love with this amazing place! The bungalows are in an absolutly good condition and have everything needed to feel comfortable. Because of the location at the end of the village and directly at the river there are no sounds of motorbikes or anything- just the nature. The Junia Guest House team is absolutly amazing. They are super friendly and helpful. Something absolutely not to miss are the funny guitar nights where everyone gets involved to join the singing. They really make you feel home. The food is absolutely delicious too with a very good selection of different indonesian dishes. The guides from the Junia house are very experienced and making the jungle trip absolutely unforgetable. We just can highly recommend this place, especially with children and would always love to come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmond, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The accomodation at the Junia Guest House is basic but adequate. The staff went out of their way to make us feel at home. In no time at all they got to know our names! It was quite astonishing to see how they were able to prepare such nice food in a small kitchen with a limited number of staff.
The location is absolutely wonderful: we spent many hours sitting near the river. I wish we could have spent more time here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed here for 3 nights with a friend and cannot praise it enough. Dedy and the guys that work there couldn't be nicer.
Great value for money our room was 60000 a night (about £4).
The food served in the restaurant is cooked freshly when ordered an if you're interested they may even teach you how to make things; i got shown banana fritters. The tacos (more like calzones) were my personal favourite! It is also very cheap!
They will happily tell you about the activities available in the area and who to go to/where to go for the best deal and the atmosphere at the guest house is great. Expect guitar playing all evening and lazy days watching people tubing by the river.
Getting around is easy as the guesthouse is well located and Dedy also helped to book a tourist bus for our next location.
Just be friendly and expect that friendliness returned twofold!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in junia for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed my time there, the guys were awesome and often played music and sang songs in the evening, the food was good and rooms very spacious and affordable. (i payed 90k/night). Would definately recommend to friends visiting bukit lawang

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Toba Sumatra
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I really enjoyed staying at Junia. It is good value (the 60.000 room is nice and clean) The guy that worked there (I don't kno how to spell his name Daddikul?) was really nice. The owner wasn't there but he did great on his own!
The food is delicious.

Room Tip: try the vegetable Sanur with rice. Great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This small guesthouse (only a few rooms) is a perfect place to stay in Bukit Lawang. And great value for money!
They offer two types of rooms, a more or less basic room for 60,000 Rupiah and a bigger one for 90,000 Rupiah. We stayed in both and the basic room is fine, it's small but okay. The bigger one has more space in the room itself and the bathroom as well. The rooms are clean and have a porch in front with of course a hammock. Very relaxed.
The restaurant serves good food and is a really nice place to hang around and drink a Bintang.
The staff is friendly and funny, with a lot of energy.
Apparently Junia is marked as favorite in a German travel guide, so expect a lot of Germans there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Junia Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Junia Guest House

Address: Bukit Lawang, Bukit Lawang 20774, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Bukit Lawang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty lodging in Bukit Lawang
Also Known As:
Junia Guest House Bukit Lawang, Sumatra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Junia Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Junia Guest House to your Saves list