We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A happy accident!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indra Valley Inn Bukit Lawang

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bukit Lawang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Indra Valley Inn Bukit Lawang
Save
You added Indra Valley Inn Bukit Lawang to your Saves list
Jalan Orang Utan Centre | Bukit Lawang, Bukit Lawang 20774, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 11 Bukit Lawang B&B and Inns
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“A happy accident!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

At first we were trying to get a room from Green Hill, which is on the river path just before Indra Valley. They happened to be full, so we checked out the next option - and were very happy that we did. As mentioned in a previous review, Indra Valley is a bit more rustic than many of the other surrounding options, but it's also very clean and welcoming. We slept in one of the two rooms upstairs. The rooms are big, beds are comfortable, mosquito net is very good (although we hardly saw any mosquitos anyway), we had our own porch and the Indonesian staff is amazingly friendly. We mostly had dealings with Jaka, who was also our guide on our two day jungle tour - amazing fun to spend the night in the jungle after a pretty exhausting day of hiking! He was helpful, funny and very friendly, as were all the other people in the inn. Do the local people a favour and stay here, competition is tough for the locals and you won't regret it!

PS: For the more fussy types: I myself am pretty fussy for a backpacking type, so don't worry. It's seriously a clean and wonderful place. Two things that would have made the experience even better: a) a trash bin in the toilet and b) the lights could have been a little brighter, some people like a dark room but I prefer it brighter. Other than that, no complaints! Expect to pay around 100 000rp/night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    16
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
23
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We spent a short time in Bukit Lawang – stayed at the Indra Valley Inn. The location is perfect, it’s right on the river, and about 2 minutes walk to the Gunung Leuser National Park. We stayed in the top floor rooms – which were clean and comfortable. The food is lovely and the restaurant has a friendly atmosphere.
We did a full day trek – a private jungle tour with 3 guides, Obiwan, Jaka and John - which was fantastic, including spotting orangutans and plenty other animals. At the end of the trek we did the tubing back to the inn which was a great deal of fun.
We really enjoyed our stay thanks to Obiwan and his fantastic family and friends! Special thanks to Jaka who took very good care of our children  Hopefully we will have a chance to travel back in the future and will definitely stay at Indra Valley again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

We loved everything about Bukit Lawang! Including Indra Valley Inn! We booked a jungletrekking at Indra and it was the best jungle experience possible. The people are very kind. And the room was more than we expected.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Bare bones accommodations, right on the river. Much more rustic than other nearby places. No towels. No sink. No flush toilet. No toilet paper. No hot water. One small thin blanket. However, it’s right on the river, it’s a 5 minute walk to Gunung Leuser National Park, the staff is extremely friendly and the food is very good. There are electric outlets in the room for charging your electronics (when the electricity is on). If you’re in Bukit Lawang for the jungle trek (and why else would you be here?) staying at Indra is as close to camping out in the jungle as you can get without actually sleeping outside. We paid about $10/night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Indra is run by Obiwan and his friends and various family members which gives it a very laid back friendly feel. The Inn is a stones throw to the river and a 2 minute walk to the Gunung Leuser National Park where the twice daily orangutan feedings take place. We stayed in the top floor room which was clean and comfortable.

While at Indra we went on an overnight jungle trek which was lead by Dedi and his uncle both of whom are close with Obiwan (Dedi actually lives next door I believe). The trek was awesome and I have to say Dedi and his uncle know the trails like the back of their hand. While we overheard other tourists complain that they spent too much time bunched together with other groups, we barely ran into anyone and it felt much like a private jungle tour. Overall we saw 12 Orangutans and trekked for 6 hours or so after leaving the feeding plaltform. We had lunch at a waterfall and were fed very well throughout the trip. Top notch.

Room Tip: On the weekends, the locals come to Bukit Lawang to kick back. If your there on a weekend in the sum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

it was so great and nice to be with obiwan family near the river that i stayed 3weeks and sure i like to come again gisela

Room Tip: up rooms nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dordrecht
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed my stay. About 10 minutes walk from the drop off point in Bukit Lawang. The room is basic, but bed is comfortable with mosquito net and it cools down nicely in the evening so I had a very good sleep, even without a fan. You also get a balcony with bench and hammock while watching everybody tube by on the river. Very nice.

Did not book a tour with Obiwan itself since its a bit pricier then a normal price. Did hear positive stories about him though, so if you are willing to spend a bit more, I am sure it is a good tour. My cheaper tour was very nice as well though, spotted about 10 Orang-oetangs.

People here are friendly and the food is excellent and well priced, the peanut sauce reminded me of the taste in the Netherlands :) So very good :) Can recommend to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Indra Valley Inn Bukit Lawang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indra Valley Inn Bukit Lawang

Address: Jalan Orang Utan Centre | Bukit Lawang, Bukit Lawang 20774, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Bukit Lawang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Bukit Lawang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indra Valley Inn is located in Bukit Lawang on the bank of Bohorok River only a three minute walk to the entrance of Gunung Leuser National Park. It offers accommodation, restaurant, and wildlife trekking to experience the Sumatran Orungutan in their natural environment. The owner Obiwan is a very experienced 3rd generation trekking guide ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Indra Valley Inn Bukit Lawang Sumatra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indra Valley Inn Bukit Lawang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.