We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EcoTravel Bukit Lawang a Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of EcoTravel Bukit Lawang

EcoTravel Bukit Lawang
Jl. Besar Orangutan | 20774 Bukit Lawang/Bohorok, Bukit Lawang 20774, Indonesia
+62 81370 895186
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 22 activities in Bukit Lawang
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Adventure is the base of our activities, but fairness is the heart of our vision! We are specialists for an ecological and responsible way of travelling, individual jungle trekking, outdoor adventures and cultural trips in North Sumatra. Pack your backpack and visit Bukit Lawang, Tangkahan, Berastagi, Lake Toba or Pulau Weh!
Warrnambool, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“EcoTravel Bukit Lawang a Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My partner and I just returned from Sumatra. We booked through EcoTravel and they were excellent. We loved it so much we will be returning again next year. The Jungle Inn in Bukit Lawang is amazing which is where we chose to stay. Upon arrival we were met by Kembar the manager of EcpTravel and he attended to our every need. We trekked through the jungle staying over night and our guides Bobbie and Antonia were amazing. Upon return we rafted back with Bobbie and Herman our skipper/camp guide. We also travelled to Tangkahan and stayed at the Mega Inn where we rode elephants through the jungle. Everything was wonderfully arranged and I highly recommend EcoTravel.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohain, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Jungle Trek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had an amazing 10 days in Sumatra with Sumatra Eco travel in July. Its been so hectic since we returned we have only now got time to give feed back.
Christina was amazing responding immediately to my many emails and organising a tailor made trip for our family including volcanoes, jungle and elephants.
Amazing to see so much wildlife in such a beautiful unspoilt place, Thomas leaf monkeys outside our room in the lodge as well as orang-utans, gibbons, long tailed macaques and monitor lizards and much more in the jungle. The overnight camping trip was amazing and the highlight of our two teenaged children's trip. No hidden costs and experienced guides all organised by the lovely Kembar.
Thomas Leaf Monkey Room at Ecolodge in Bukit Lawang was lovely, clean with friendly staff .But the food was disappointing and a let down, overpriced and lacking in flavour, we chose to eat out in the village. I would recommend anyone to book with these people.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best experience of our holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

EcoTravel is the best organized team there - we spent 3 days at Bukit Lawang incl. a jungle trip with overnight stay in the jungle. Everything necessary is provided by EcoTravel, no hidden costs, skilled and experienced guides, very small groups, always taking care - absolutely reliable. Also possible to book tours - we booked transfer to Lake Toba with stopover at the old Kings Palace, Waterfall and Batak Village - great. Accomodation at Lake Toba so cosy and relaxing. EcoTravel has very good partners and offers a variety of tours one can make and they are the only ones at Bukit Lawang who are really involved in ecological projects. We will definitely come back there for more!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijswijk, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Top jungle treck”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

In the back of our room, there it was the jungle. So much to see and experience. Amazing experience to treck to this wilde jungle, full of different monkeys and get in touch with the ourang outan. The bats cave is also quite an experience, especially if climb very deep inside. Concerning the lodge, the room, very simple, very cold shower. But you forget it due its environment. Not a lot of sleep at night due the gibbons singing all night on the tree behind our room, but you are in the jungle so what do you want? Great experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Johor, Malaysia
1 review
“Jungle Trek, Jungle Trek, in Bukit Lawang. See the monkeys, see the birds, see ORANG UTANG!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Absolutely amazing time, great food and fun, and a lovely town to go around after the trek for relaxing over a few beers. Thanks very much to everyone at EcoTravel, we really enjoyed the trip and will be back again with more friends.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed EcoTravel Bukit Lawang also viewed

Bukit Lawang, North Sumatra
Bukit Lawang, North Sumatra
 

Been to EcoTravel Bukit Lawang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EcoTravel Bukit Lawang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added EcoTravel Bukit Lawang to your Saves list