We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Playa Esterillos Este | Near Manuel Antonio, Esterillos Este 10-6300, Costa Rica (Formerly Xandari by the Pacific)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Esterillos Este
Certificate of Excellence
Cupertino, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

Stayed at Xandari for 5 nights and have nothing but amazing things to say.

Pros:
1.) We stayed at the Villa Maxima and it was fabulous inside
2.) The beach is very secluded, but stunning
3.) The restaurant and spa were top class
4.) The staff (everyone from the reception to the waiters) were extremely friendly and took care of pretty much everything we needed.

Cons:
1.) Kinda in the middle of nowhere. Everything is a cab ride away. We did go to various locations and the hotel staff was amazingly helpful in arranging our trips.
2.) No internet/ TV in the room. You have to go to the restaurant to get phone and wireless internet connection.

Overall, 5 stars for the trip. The cons I mentioned was something I was aware off before I went. This was a really fantastic vacation.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    49
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
68
136
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Level Contributor
105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

We stayed 5 nights which was too long given the isolation and lack of other nearby restaurants. The rooms are well designed but lacking a bit of maintenance and comfort. Our ultra villa had a bed like a wooden slab with a very cheap mattress. The food was good, the staff are sweet but I would not stay here again. It is not nearly as good as the original Xandari in Alajuela. Price is too high for what is offered. When it rains there really is little to do and it rained a lot during our stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas Tx
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

We spent 5 nights at the Xandari by the Pacific. The beauty of the property is breathtaking. Staff is very friendly and after a few trips to the dining room they knew where you preferred to sit as well as other "likes". This is the place to relax in the "green" season. Food was good and service was great. Massages at the Spa were very professional and enjoyable. We have traveled in Costa Rica many times and this is a very nice property. I am a type A. This place seems to intentionally make you relax. There is no cell service in your room, no wi-fi (except in a small location near the bar), no TV and surprisingly no clocks. While under roof, the showers are facing a garden behind a glass wall. The wall facing the ocean is made of glass as well (outside drapes were pulled at night). There are two pools and a jacuzzi. Miles and miles of beach. No towns to walk to and we were told cabs are expensive. The new toll road cuts off at least an hour to the Pacific from San Jose. While this is the younger sibling to the Xanadri Resort & Spa near San Jose [highly ranked by Conde Nast] ( we stayed there the last night) - we prefer this property- with one glaring exception. Xandari offers only Pepsi in the minibar and main bar but no Cokes. I was surprised to discover that in this day of many different accommodation choices - they would take the Starwood/Westin/Sheraton approach and deny their clients their personal soft drink preferences. It's a little thing but still pisses me off. The hotel managers/owners are in the fulfilling wishes business - if they took some cash from the Pepsi guys for an "exclusive" to step on my wishes shame on them and I'll look elsewhere in the future. That is one of the reasons I refuse to stay at a Starwood property if given a choice. We finally asked a waiter to bring some Cokes back for us - he did on the 3rd day for a tidy personal profit. We had a great relaxing time. It rained a part of almost every day - but we also walked for miles on the beach everyday. There weren't many guests at the property but the hotel and service were excellent. After 5 lunches and dinners - you have pretty much gone through the menu - I wish we had gone into town to explore the local dining scene - but not worth the hassle of renting a car or expense of a taxi.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

Xandari by the Pacific is a fantastic boutique hotel that is perfectly situated to take advantage of all there is to do in the Jaco/Manuel Antonio area. The hotel is located on a massive, open beach that stretches for miles in each direction. If you are looking for a private, secluded beach, this is it. We rarely saw more than 5-10 people on the beach at one time, which is perfect for us but may not be for everyone. The food at the resort is very good and Jaco is 20 minutes away with an abundance of restaurants and bars to choose from. Kitchenettes in the rooms also let you eat small meals and snacks in your room.

We stayed at Xandari for our 10th anniversary and it was all we hoped it would be. We've made 8-9 trips to Costa Rica and this is one of our favorite spots.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

This resort was part of a sister-resort deal and the third and final stop on our honeymoon this June. Our fantastic travel agency/ honeymoon registry, found this for us and we couldn't have planned our trip better to see so much of Costa Rica! (www.memorablecostarica.com). The location for this hideaway is a bit remote, so having private transfers from another resort or airport is highly recommended, but the drive is so interesting, lots to see. The beach had hardly any people on it in the 4 days we stayed there, and despite it being the rainy season, the sun was out most of the time. The water is bathtub-warm, if a bit rough. This resort is one of two made by an architect and his artist wife (all the artwork, mosaics, and sculpture around both properties is done by her--and it's extensive). The staff is very welcoming and accomodating--we made friends with our servers by the end! No request is denied and every effort is made to make you comfortable. Several pools and relaxing hammocks dot the property. The open-air restaurant is right on the beach and plays host to tiny geckos, crabs and frogs at night--but only a few--just enough to be charming and not gross. At low tide, you can walk out for almost a half mile into the surf, and be sure to check out all the sea creatures coming with you--'mouthless' crabs, starfish, sand dollars, conch and even wild horses! Picturesque beach and spa--definitely recommend the 'lomi lomi' couples massage--fantastic! Excursions are many and the staff for those are very professional too. We did a day-long catamaran/ lunch/ snorkeling tour near the Miguel Antonio park--beautiful and worth it! We truly felt we found a gem here at Xandari and can't wait to go back. Not a place for heavy nightlife, but if relaxing's your thing, come here!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailey, Idaho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

A very nice small resort on a quiet beach with beautiful cabins, pools, gardens, and a very warm and helpful staff. We took our kids, 6 and 1.5 years old, and had a blast. I cannot say enough good things about the staff, the food and the lay-out -- all very good for a small, non-branded hotel in the developing world. Just a friendly warning: it gets very hot in the afternoons (so hot that you cannot walk on the sand in bare feet), so retiring to you beautiful, air conditioned cabin, and/or hitting one of the swimming pools or the bar for a iced lemonade is critical and part of the routine. No nightlife at this quiet gem, so forget it if you want to party. But, there is good surfing right out the front door, stunning birds and lizards everywhere, and Manuel Antonio National Park is only 45 minutes away...we thought the whole thing was great.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, MA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

This hotel has it all. Excellent service, phenomenal rooms and a great location. The drive from San Jose takes about 2 hours, and you will pass by some beautiful farmland and impoverished homes. Once you arrive at the resort however, all of your wishes will come true. The rooms are elegantly appointed (no TV's), with beautiful views either on to gardens or the Esterillos Este beach. The restaurant is great, and they have a surprisingly expansive menu, with phenomenal fish of the day specials every evening. Ask for Freddy if you can, but you can't miss him, he has a booming voice. Toads are all over, as well as macaws, and no you are not seeing things, there is a three legged dog nicknamed Tripod who roams the property.

Word of advice: try to brush up on some of your spanish before coming here, as most of the staff is not completely fluent in English. You will need a phrasebook, and they will try to teach you, but do your best.

The pools are great, very relaxing, and a word about the tours. The hotel will know how to properly set you up to go to places like Manuel Antonio, Rainmaker, canopy tours, mangrove, etc... Ask for the other Freddy from Freddy Tours, who does an excellent tour of Manuel Antonio, complete with scope and complimentary pineapple. You are sure to see some monkeys and sloths.

A word about Costa Rica in general: try not to drink the tap water and you might get some diarrhea. It is still a developing country, and try not to eat at seedy, roadside cafes unless you have had some shots. Also, on shots, you don't need them. Regular updates are fine, but all the talk about typhoid and malaria is unnecessary. They don't have malaria in Puntarenas, and every so often dengue fever breaks out, but it is uncommon. Just enjoy your stay, use plenty of bug spray and have fun, this place has it all!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esterillos Este
0.2 mi away
Encantada Ocean Cottages
Encantada Ocean Cottages
#1 of 5 in Esterillos Este
4.5 of 5 stars 162 reviews
18.0 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#4 of 43 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 869 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Playa Bejuco
Hotel Playa Bejuco
#3 of 5 in Esterillos Este
4.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Monterey Del Mar Hotel
Monterey Del Mar Hotel
#4 of 5 in Esterillos Este
4.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
21.3 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#4 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 1,001 reviews
21.5 mi away
Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa
Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa
#10 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: Playa Esterillos Este | Near Manuel Antonio, Esterillos Este 10-6300, Costa Rica (Formerly Xandari by the Pacific)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Esterillos Este
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Esterillos Este
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated on Costa Rica's Pacific Coast along Playa Esterillos Este, between Jaco Beach and Manuel Antonio, Alma del Pacifico is a luxury Costa Rica hotel featuring beachfront Caribbean hotel rooms and suites, a three-meal restaurant, full-service spa and a variety of exciting vacation activities. With distinct architecture and art, an extensive array of amenities and superb personal service, Alma del Pacifico Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Costa Rica. A great alternative for luxury travelers wanting to visit Manuel Antonio while being on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xandari By The Pacific Hotel
Xandari By The Pacific Resort
Alma Del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Esterillos Este

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.