We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in the Central Pacific, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Playa Esterillos Este, Esterillos Este 10-6300, Costa Rica (Formerly Xandari by the Pacific)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Esterillos Este
San Francisco, Heredia, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in the Central Pacific, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We loved it here, it was so nice, great beach, clean rooms, good food, the people that work the are so wonderfull, we will be going back soon... 2 minute walk from the ocean. In between Jaco and Manuel Antonio.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    40
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
51
122
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphi, PA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Ditto on all the great reviews. We stayed at our friends home close by and snuck into Alma for a few days of beach and pampering. An ocean front villa is lovely and more than worth the extra cost. Staff is friendly and accommodating. Food is very good - lots of organic and grain fed options. The spa is small but adequate and we splurged for massages on the beach. Beds are doubles, not queens and the mattresses are hard (box springs and pillow tops are unknown here).

Room Tip: Go for ocean front and lower numbers are closer to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazú, San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Perfect for a quick getaway from San Jose, the hotel is nicely set and clean, the beach is right there and beautiful, service is great and prices are good. The place is quiet and the room was big enough for the 5 of us (2 adults, 2 children and 1 baby)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupecoy Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Alma Del Pacifico is nothing short of gorgeous. The rooms are bright, colorful and clean, the indoor and outdoor showers are rainwater style and refreshing. The two pools are both super clean and fun to both swim and lounge by with plenty of seating.The free wi-fi that also worked on our patio area was an added bonus. There is tons of well maintained flora and fauna on the grounds and the beach is just a few steps away. Did I mention it was one of the most gorgeous beaches I've ever been to? Everyone on the staff was so nice and accommodating during our trip however I do have a few gripes. 1) Nearly impossible to find if you're coming from the direction of Jaco, a little easier from the Manuel Antonio side. Pay very careful attention to where you are going if you have rented a car because there is no signage to speak of in Esterillo Este. Context clues and great map skills come in to play here. 2) The restaurant. We did Valentine's Dinner here which was pleasant with live music and a pre fixe menu however dinner took all of 3 hours from start to end. We passed it off as a fluke since it was a "holiday" for gringos however breakfast the next morning took almost as long and all we had was the complimentary "continental" (which, by the way, don't waste your time with and order some actual food.. it's just a small yogurt cup and a piece of fruit, definitely not the continental I have been accustomed to elsewhere). Other than those two minor issues I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our stay at Alma del Pacifico and would gladly return. Highly recommended for a romantic trip or honeymoon stay for couples.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Great location on the beach and wonderful private villas. At some points during our stay we were the only ones on the beach. Felt like we had the place all to ourselves. Food was OK but there were some good restaurants nearby. Good place to stay...

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms aren't very private. Resort view is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The Alma is certainly an extraordinary place. It's brightly painted colors, contrasting with wonderful tropical plantings, show a lot of design thought was put into the place by the original builder/owners. It gives guests a truly unique feeling. Every guest villa has a private courtyard and outdoor shower. The hotel is located on a very long stretch of beach, and while the pools are very pleasant, the surf often does not look inviting. There are cross currents directly in front of the hotel, and guests are advised to go into the surf only on incoming tides. I am a good swimmer, but did not go into the surf very far, as I did not see others in the waves. Walking along the dark grey sand is very pleasant. The restaurant is very good, and service is unusually swift.

Room Tip: There is no need to pay extra for beach front, as you see nothing at night, and all villas have a pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a fantastic experience at Alma del Pacifico. Delicious food at the restaurant, we never left to go elsewhere! Super relaxing with the hammocks along the beach, secluded pool, and private rooms. We saw huge lizards on the property, as well as a flock of macaws! Perfect place to get away from the hustle and bustle of tourist towns.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: Playa Esterillos Este, Esterillos Este 10-6300, Costa Rica (Formerly Xandari by the Pacific)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Esterillos Este
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Esterillos Este
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated on Costa Rica’s Pacific Coast along Playa Esterillos Este, between Jaco Beach and Quepos, Alma del Pacifico is a luxury Costa Rica hotel featuring beachfront Caribbean hotel rooms and suites, a three-meal restaurant, full-service spa and a variety of exciting vacation activities. With distinct architecture and art, an extensive array of amenities and superb personal service, Alma del Pacifico Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xandari By The Pacific Hotel
Xandari By The Pacific Resort
Alma Del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Esterillos Este

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.