We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An outstanding place to relax and let go” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Playa Esterillos Este | Near Manuel Antonio, Esterillos Este 10-6300, Costa Rica (Formerly Xandari by the Pacific)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Esterillos Este
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An outstanding place to relax and let go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Alma del Pacifico was an excellent hotel in all respects. From the outside it is gaily painted with each resident having a separate cabana. Ours was spacious, well-appointed and had an excellent bed and a nice bathroom with a fine shower. Each cabana is basically self-contained and ours looked out to the sea and had a front yard of beach and shaded grass. The beach itself is long and wide and the walk in is shallow, although the surf can be strong and one needs to take care with the currents.
The staff is friendly but leaves you alone and you can be at peace all day doing nothing but walking, reading and relaxing. The food was excellent, better than anything we found in local restaurants, focused on outstanding fish but also with characteristic Central American beef dishes. And the breakfasts were yummy. Smoothies were available all day
If you want activities, there are plenty around including rain forest, riding, surfing and waterfalls hiking. But you don't need to do any of these to have a wonderful, relaxing set of days away from it all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    43
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
53
127
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

If your senses are numb from the daily grind of urban life this place is CPR. The sights, sounds, and aromas of Alma del Pacifico will envelope you in an almost spiritual way. It was the perfect place for my wife and I to begin our 10th wedding anniversary. Located on an isolated strip of land, adjacent to the beach, each brilliant, private luxury villa stokes the flames of romance. Chef Fernando's food creations are delicious and fairly priced (entrees $15-$30). 1/4 mile down the road is the Pelican Inn and they have BBQ on Fridays and Saturdays. The Alma was created by husband and wife team (architect and artist) of Sherrill and Charlene Brody, each villa being unique. The landscaping, alone, is deserving of an award. I wouldn't recommend for the party crowd, but, if you must, Jaco is about 30 minutes away. Jaco is like stepping back in time to a Hippie haunt. So, do yourself a favor and lose yourself in Alma del Pacifico.
P.S. The only regret, having nothing to do with the Alma del Pacifico, is I've grown too old to surf large waves. The day we arrived 8' to 10' sets of perfect left or right waves were breaking and not a single soul to enjoy God's gift.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel recently and fell in love with the hotel. The design is beautiful and the rooms are like a dream, what we liked most was the attention of the staff ... Anna the receptionist was very helpful, she's a bit clueless but I think that's what we liked about Anna more, as this makes her a very sweet and nice, we want to go back next year, we hope to meet her again only because we want to meet Pacific Alma Ana is the best hotel I've ever known, see you soon!

Room Tip: Make sure you get valuable tips from Anna about the area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Esterillos este is a very quiet little beach area. There are 5 or 6 hotels no stores no restaurants except in hotel property the alma is beautifully landscaped and maintained. The rooms are excellent, clean, roomy, with wifi tv and free water and drinks stocked in the fridge the staff is fantastic Aldo is great. I can't imagine a better stay. The garden view is a shadier and cooler. The beachfront is bright and beautiful. Adriana Freddy Aaron and everybody at the restaraunt are so nice. They speak goo English but will help you learn Spanish Food is fine. The pelican hotel down the beach has a great restaraunt This place is fantastic. Great value

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

With most hotels, the reality of checking into your room is that the room is smaller and not as nice as the photos on its web site. With Alma del Pacifico it was just the opposite: we could not believe how large, bright, and cheerful the bungalow was. Each room is a separate building with its own unique decoration in architecture and art, in tropical colors, much of it in tile and tropical hardwoods. It is really quite amazing. We had a beach room with an amazing view of the waves. The air conditioning didn't work, but we didn't care because we wanted to leave the windows open to admit the sound of the surf. We only wish there were more openable windows. Even the shower has its own outside door and its own little private garden. There are two large swimming pools, a hot tub, and a spa where some of us got massages. These are very clean and not at all crowded.

The beach here is huge, flat, and wonderful. We also really appreciated the warm friendly greeting we received upon our arrival.

The restaurant menu was fairly short but everything was excellent and surprisingly inexpensive. Our only complaint in the restaurant was that we consistently had to ask 2 or 3 times before they would bring us beverages. This happened at breakfast and dinner 2 out of our 3 days there. Every server was very friendly, but every one was also forgetful. But we enjoyed the meals immensely and ate there all three nights since there was just no reason to go anywhere else.

We like the remote location of this resort since it means the beach is tranquil and you feel like you have the whole place to yourself. But it is quite expensive to get around: a van was $180 from San Jose and $162 to the airport at Alajuela. The round-trip taxi to Manuel Antonio National Park is $100. The drivers are nice and the vehicles new and clean. One thing we didn't appreciate, though, was that the hotel cheerfully arranged a taxi to get us to Manuel Antonio at 3:15, without telling us that the park closes at 4:00. Luckily the taxi driver told us, thus saving us $100.

We were lucky to have great weather in late May, with just a few showers overnight and in the morning. The beach at Manuel Antonio was just as great as everyone says, but the beach at Alma is just as good, and much less crowded.

Room Tip: You definitely want one of the rooms on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestview, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We chose this hotel because it was located directly on the beach. Our room, beachfront villa, looked exactly like the pictures on the web-site, very nice. The property is secluded which was perfect for us, a couple, might not be too good for those with children because other than beach and pool not a lot of activities. The room was very large, bed was very comfortable, and the shower was very cool, looking out to a private garden. Unfortunately, we went in May, beginning of rainy season and could not open the doors to the garden while showering due to mosquitoes. The restaurant - food was good, prices were about the same as other hotel restaurants, and the staff was very friendly and attentive. We used the jacuzzi twice, the first time the water was hot, the second time it never heated up, but was still nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Thank you for accepting us as walk-in's. A very nice lady received us in a very warm way. Since this hotel was a bit out of our budget, they gave us an additional discount on the already reduced green season price. We enjoyed our short stay very much and it was a great good bye from a fantastic Costa Rica! Staff took time to make us feel welcome. We loved our room, it was big, clean and cool and the shower was great with the big windows. We enjoyed the pool and the ocean and the hammock on the beach. Thank you again!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: Playa Esterillos Este | Near Manuel Antonio, Esterillos Este 10-6300, Costa Rica (Formerly Xandari by the Pacific)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Esterillos Este
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Esterillos Este
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated on Costa Rica's Pacific Coast along Playa Esterillos Este, between Jaco Beach and Manuel Antonio, Alma del Pacifico is a luxury Costa Rica hotel featuring beachfront Caribbean hotel rooms and suites, a three-meal restaurant, full-service spa and a variety of exciting vacation activities. With distinct architecture and art, an extensive array of amenities and superb personal service, Alma del Pacifico Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Costa Rica. A great alternative for luxury travelers wanting to visit Manuel Antonio while being on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xandari By The Pacific Hotel
Xandari By The Pacific Resort
Alma Del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Esterillos Este

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.