We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Beach and Relaxing smaller Vacation Spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Playa Esterillos Este | Near Manuel Antonio, Esterillos Este 10-6300, Costa Rica (Formerly Xandari by the Pacific)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Esterillos Este
Hillsborough, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice Beach and Relaxing smaller Vacation Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This was a very nice spot on the beach with very spacious home or condo like units. We traveled with an 8 and 11 year old and the unit was spacious, artistic, well designed and very relaxing. We also had a jacuzzi pool outside our large glass doors overlooking the ocean so this was very sweet. They also have a great spa and facility considering they only have a limited number of units and the overall facility is on the smaller side. Great wifi and computer and phone coverage so that is a big plus if you need that. There are swimming pools, hammocks and a very good restaurant also. We did find the restaurant to have a great menu and very nice but it could be a tad bit slow...maybe it was because we had small children we noticed the delay more. The was also one of the more expensive locations that we stayed but I guess you are paying more to have the smaller more exclusive atmosphere. The only other drawback was I found this as kind of an oasis in the middle of more run down homes and locations. I was surprised by some of the surrounding cities and how Manuel Antonio was more dense and not very luxury resort like. Alma del Pacifico was definitely the high end exception in this area. I would recommend but is expensive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    43
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
53
127
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

From the moment we checked in to Alma del Pacifico, I was truly amazed by the beauty of the facility, the amazing landscape, the best level of service and now I can say I had the greatest time of my life. Our Vila was tremendous, tastefully decorated and right on the beach yet having seclusion that allowed the shower to remain open to the view of the lush landscape of our yard. The 2 pools look like something out of house and garden and the restaurant was open to the view of the ocean. The staff in the restaurant became like family and when it was time to bring out the birthday cake for my woman, they dressed me in a chefs hat, taught me to sing in Spanish. This is the ultimate beach vacation.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is a beautifully designed and presented place in a super beachfront spot with lovely rooms decked out in stylish bold Costa Rican colours. There is interesting artwork everywhere. There are 2 very pleasant pools, a jacuzzi and a Spa. The hotel is right on the beach and there are plenty of sunloungers and hammocks. Staff are friendly if a little inexperienced. The food is good, especially Dinner, but we were a little disappointed that Breakfast is all a bit prepackaged - the yoghurt in little pots, jams and butter in individual cartons, not what you might expect from a hotel which is obviously keen to compete with the best. That said, it's a great spot for a couple of days of R&R before heading back home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryStrud, Owner at Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thanks for the kind words! Next time come and stay with us for the entire trip! Alma is one of the few actual "beachfront" hotels on the Central Pacific coast.. We recommend that you rent a car and then visiting the Manuel Antonio National park can be done on a day trip (about a 30 minute drive). We also have surfing, zip lines, horseback riding and a number of other activities within a 15 - 30 minute drive. With the new toll road between Esterillos Este the international airport in San Jose, more people are staying with us their last night and driving to the airport in the morning to catch an early afternoon flight.

Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Wonderful place to stay, we've been here 3 times, and always love it. One of a kind design, by artist and architect.Bedrooms very comfortable, and bathrooms a delight. Grounds are beautiful, and if you get a room overlooking the beach, keep it, and watch the birds, sunsets and nature. Spa facilities available, though rather expensive, and the swimming pools are surrounded by lush vegetation. Scarlet Macaws stop by in the morning, and the bird life is fascinating to watch. Swimming in the ocean only at full tide. very good service by staff, though the food this time wasn't as good as last. We shall return.

Room Tip: Try for an Ocean view room, so you can walk out from your patio to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The Good:
What a great location right on a private -beautiful- beach! With our villa opening up on the beach, I have not yet experienced another place in CR where you could enjoy the beach so well. The place is also very well maintained and operated by friendly staff.

The Bad:
There could be a few more people in the staff - specifically to pro-actively reach out to guests at beach, bar and restaurant. A little more diversity in the included breakfast would be welcomed. I also doubt the seriousness of the "eco-efforts" when they abundantly water the grass of the premises...

The Bottom line:
We would go back, the time spent at the beach and pool was second to none.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Spent 4 nights at this property and was blown away. I was upgraded to an oceanfront villa that was spectacular. It's a quiet property with a near private beach. I'd walk in the morning and maybe see one or two other people. The food was quite good. Prior reviews speak of slow service. While I wouldn't call it speedy, I would say it was consistent with the pace of the resort - relaxed. Certainly nothing that caused my any angst or anything I'd complain about. The spa services were excellent -- Vladamir's massage was incredible as was the scrub and mud wrap I received from another spa tech. All in all, an incredibly relaxing, visually stunning resort. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We visit Costa Rica yearly. This past visit we decided to rent and car and drive to Dominical. We stayed at a lovely report there but decided we needed a better beach so it was recommended we try Esterillos Este. Once in the area we decided to check this resort out due to reviews we had seen. We wanted to take a look at the hotel before booking. So we drove there and asked to see a room. The room was absolutely gorgeous and very clean. We decided to stay even though it was much pricier than many accommodations in Costa Rica. The staff were not overly friendly and the resort was almost empty. We usually visit in September which is the beginning of the rainy season but it was still slower than expected. I hope that this is the reason that service was so poor. The staff and service at the restaurant was below par as well. The food selection was limited. We would have liked to have had better bar service and bar type food during the day while at the beach. The food they did serve was not that great and overpriced. Fortunately we had Los Almendros down the road (although the staff did not even know where it was). We also were told by some other businesses to try the hotel next door (Monterry Del Mar). The food their was much better and also a great price. Their staff were also very friendly.

The hotel was also close enough to drive in Jaco for shopping and lunch. The beach was beautiful which is really what we were looking for while on vacation. However, the staff were very unfriendly and it was definitely not worth the money we paid. If we find ourselves back in this area we will give Monterrey del Mar a try.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: Playa Esterillos Este | Near Manuel Antonio, Esterillos Este 10-6300, Costa Rica (Formerly Xandari by the Pacific)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Esterillos Este
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Esterillos Este
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated on Costa Rica's Pacific Coast along Playa Esterillos Este, between Jaco Beach and Manuel Antonio, Alma del Pacifico is a luxury Costa Rica hotel featuring beachfront Caribbean hotel rooms and suites, a three-meal restaurant, full-service spa and a variety of exciting vacation activities. With distinct architecture and art, an extensive array of amenities and superb personal service, Alma del Pacifico Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Costa Rica. A great alternative for luxury travelers wanting to visit Manuel Antonio while being on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xandari By The Pacific Hotel
Xandari By The Pacific Resort
Alma Del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Esterillos Este

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.