We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Playa Esterillos Este | Near Manuel Antonio, Esterillos Este 10-6300, Costa Rica (Formerly Xandari by the Pacific)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Esterillos Este
Santa Clarita, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Private beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This is a really nice Hotel by the beach a little far from the airport . We stayed there the first week of December and I thought it was great. It's a very peaceful place and we loved having the jacuzzi outside our room. Amazing view from our room. The open air restaurant overlooks the beach , the Peruvian Chef was very nice and made me a Peruvian dish "Lomo Saltado" it was excellent.
We had Jonathan driving us around , he is a taxi driver at the Hotel. Ask for him and he will take you around to see Jaco, Manuel Antonio and if you want to go to dinner outside the Hotel, he knows a very good restaurant on the beach.
We had an amazing time . Thanks Ana and staff

Room Tip: Our room was the corner one with jacuzzi very nice and big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    41
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
53
124
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here in mid November and I can't say enough good things about this hotel and the staff. The hotel itself is stunning, it is distinctly Mediterranean, the atmosphere is very calming and peaceful. There is an open air restaurant that overlooks the grounds and beach, two crystal clear swimming pools with fountains, and beautiful, colourful gardens. We were warmly welcomed by Aldo the hotel manager and he gave us a tour of the place and we ended up staying in Villa 3 which overlooks the stunning beach.

Our room was more the size of an apartment with floor to ceiling windows, and a shower that opens up into your own private garden. The room was immaculately clean, airy, bright and beautifully decorated. As a very special touch they put in our room two huge bouquets of exotic flowers fresh from their garden. The bed was very comfortable and we had a private patio with lounging chairs.

Our meals were top notch, fresh ingredients and delicious, and the service was excellent. All the staff were very friendly and accommodating. The beach is endless with powdery dark sand and very clean. They also gave us a tide schedule so that we knew when it was safe to swim and the water was a very pleasant temperature for swimming.

Our only regret was that we could only stay one day, we so wanted to stay longer. I highly recommend you treating yourself to this hotel.

Room Tip: Villa 3 was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We loved the beach so much we didn't do much sightseeing. We had this amazing colorful resort to ourselves as they were gearing up for the busy season. We loved that the location of Alma being so close to to Joco and Manuel Antonio and Quepos, which we did get out to visit. A big thank you to Aldo and the other staff that went out of there way to answer my endless questions and getting all our needs met. My husband and son took their first surf lesson provided by the resort and our now hooked on surfing. We love Costa Rica and plan on returning again and again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at the Alma del Pacifico in early November 2012. We had a little trouble finding it, since it isn't signed from the east, but once we found it, we were enchanted! We stayed in #14, which is a garden bungalow and very private. The architecture is very colourful and modern with beautiful, interesting artwork on the walls! We especially liked the round wall of the indoor/outdoor shower! The grounds are lush and gorgeous with two pools and a hot tub. We really enjoyed the lounges and hammocks that were right on the beach which goes for miles and miles. Since we were there at the end of off-season, it was not very busy and we had the place to ourselves much of the time!
The breakfasts are served in the dining room and were very delicious, especially the banana rum pancakes! We enjoyed one dinner there and it was delicious as well.
While we were there, we visited Jaco which is about 30 minutes away. We went up to the Rainforest Adventure and took the zipline tour, which was amazing! The tram goes from 1000' up to 3000', and then a series of 10 ziplines bring you back to the bottom. What an incredible view!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at the Alma del Pacifico for our wedding this past Spring. I cannot say enough good things about the Alma!! The staff is amazing, the rooms are a relaxing blend of tropical paradise and vacationing comfort, and the beach is beyond spectacular. This was truly the wedding of a lifetime and a perfect private paradise.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Beatiful spot, amazing helpful staff, beautiful seafront villas with stunning design, great food, gorgeous beach, tranquil and away from everything... treat yourself!

The staff went out their way to help us - particularly when we had an issue getting back to the airport due to a car crash closing the main road.

I couldn't recommend more

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We went in Aug 2012 and since it was low season, we had an extra peaceful vacation- until a large family reunion showed up on our 2nd last day but it wasn't too bad. Having the shoreline just steps from your patio door was absoutely heaven! Staff was helpful, friendly especially the hotel restaurant. Food was fresh, organic, professionally presented... right up our alley! Even the pool was non chlorinated. Spa was ok. The therapist spoke no English so accomodating my shoulder problem was tricky. We would definitely return for a short stay if we are in that area.

Room Tip: get a beachfront room- it's worth hearing the waves 24/7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: Playa Esterillos Este | Near Manuel Antonio, Esterillos Este 10-6300, Costa Rica (Formerly Xandari by the Pacific)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Esterillos Este
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Esterillos Este
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated on Costa Rica's Pacific Coast along Playa Esterillos Este, between Jaco Beach and Manuel Antonio, Alma del Pacifico is a luxury Costa Rica hotel featuring beachfront Caribbean hotel rooms and suites, a three-meal restaurant, full-service spa and a variety of exciting vacation activities. With distinct architecture and art, an extensive array of amenities and superb personal service, Alma del Pacifico Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Costa Rica. A great alternative for luxury travelers wanting to visit Manuel Antonio while being on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xandari By The Pacific Hotel
Xandari By The Pacific Resort
Alma Del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Esterillos Este

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.