We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remote tranquil paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Playa Esterillos Este | Near Manuel Antonio, Esterillos Este 10-6300, Costa Rica (Formerly Xandari by the Pacific)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$50 Dining Credit
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Esterillos Este
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Remote tranquil paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Meant to be one of the best in Costa Rica and probably is. Each villa is totally private which is just as well since your shower looking into part of your your private garden, your bed looks over the living area and out through huge patio doors and floor to ceiling windows across a short garden to the beach. There are no blinds or curtains but there is nobody to look in, if you want privacy there are curtains on the patio which block the view to the beach, but it is wonderful to wake up to the view. The location is about 20km south of Jaco and very secluded, so you are hard pushed to see people on the beach. I was there over a weekend although slightly out of season I walked for 2 hours one morning in the direction of Jaco and only saw a hand full of locals.  That being the case there is abundant wildlife. The restaurant is excellent and the staff could not be more helpful, the froom is provided with complementary soft drinks with beer $5 and small bottle of wine $14, so it is worth stocking your fridge  from the supermarket.  The spa looked excellent though I did not try it and the two pools small but in beautiful setting.  The beach is not golden sand but is clean with an abundance of shells.  The sea is not calm, waves break and at low tide there is a strong rip.  I am a good swimmer and even at high tide you can feel the strength of the ocean, great for surfers and confident swimmers, others should paddle and use the pool.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    53
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
73
147
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southlake, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

On our first visit to Costa Rica we found a beautiful gem of a hotel at Esterillos beach. In a secluded setting on a wide, black sand beach is the Alma del Pacifico Hotel. Lush grounds and unique quarters along with a wonderful staff makes this a one of a kind experience. The food is fresh and delicious. There is great wave action for boogie boards or just body surfing. Walking the 200yard wide beach we found shells including sand dollars. There are two pools and a hot tub amongst tropical plants and flowers. We looked in on the spa but will have to come back again and next time get a massage. CMM Southlake, TX

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Our family of four stayed at this hotel for a six days and will happily return. We had two rooms and each was spacious and lovely. We had no issues with the bathroom dividers (particularly since we didn't notice them until midway through the trip) and enjoyed the open flow of our room's layout. The beach was beautiful and relaxing. The jacuzzi outside our room was perfectly maintained as were the two pools. We could sit comfortably on the chairs outside our room to watch the waves when we weren't lying on the beach. Service was great. We arrived after the restaurant had closed but dinner was waiting for us (all it took was a call when we realized how late we were going to be). The front desk staff was very helpful with directions and recommendations. The restaurant staff was excellent. The food was fine with some dishes, particularly the catch of the day Alma style, quite excellent. We rented a car for three days and found the hotel an easy drive from activities such as rainforest canopy tours, Manuel Antonio National Park, River Cruises and additional restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

I can't begin to explain what an amazing time we had at Alma del Pacifco. We truly felt like we were in paradise. The resort was phenomenal and we enjoyed lounging on the beach, by the pool and in our private villa! Also, the staff was fantastic and displayed exceptional customer service. Having worked in the hospitality industry, I always find this refreshing and I must say a few wonderful things about two employees - Freddy and Melissa! They took care of us for practically every meal and drinks and were always friendly, attentive, and kind enough to help us practice our broken Spanish. One day Freddy had served us at 7am for breakfast and was still just as pleasant and happy to see us for lunch and again that evening for dinner. You would have never known that he'd worked a 12 hour+ day. The last story I'll share was on our anniversary... Freddy and Melissa cut fresh flowers for our table and even gave us an anniversary card. And after a spectacular meal, the Chef came out and introduced himself! I thought these were amazing touches! We are eager to return to Alma del Pacifico.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

I just returned from a four-night stay, and was quite disappointed with the "resort." Our maxima villa had a very nice view of the grass and palms and dark sand beach beyond, but there are some serious problems with the small details. The few (half a dozen) beach lounge chairs are cheap white plastic and dirty (see photos). The hammocks are stained and faded. The bathrooms are separated from the bedrooms by cheap and tacky white plastic accordian doors, and there are more tacky white plastic hooks pasted onto the shower wall (again, see photos). The breakfast food is fine; the dinner food was mediocre at best. Both our chicken and fish dinners were overcooked. We gave the kitchen a second chance, and found the same thing to be true the second night. We gave up and decided to eat a late lunch of quesidillas for the other two days and wait for breakfast in the morning. (We did not have a rental car to drive to another location.) On one night we were the only guests in the 20 "villa" resort. On the other 3 nights, there was one other party, and although it is nice to have quiet, it was a bit unnerving to have no one else there. The ocean is a bit rough, and when we checked in we received a tide schedule, encouraging us not to go in at low tide, because the currents were too dangerous. The plantings are very nice at the resort, but under the lounge chairs the grass is completely worn away to dirt. On the beach directly in front of the dining room there was a rubber car tire. Couldn't someone take the time to remove it? The servers in the dining room were very friendly, but each time we ate there, we had to get up and go wait at the kitchen door to ask for our check. Otherwise we would have waited and waited and waited..... Would I go here again? NO! This is my 3rd trip to Costa Rica, and there are many better options.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Alma del Pacifico is a wonderful get a way!! It is located right on the beach. It is a high end resort hotel managed by Rock Resorts.

We were just there last month (July) for about 7 days. We had a few spa sessions, highly recommend, and a private yoga lesson. Through the main reception desk they will make any arrangements for you for any activities/tours. Just ask the very friendly staff. They all speak English pretty well. But they do love it if you try to learn their language and are more than willing to help you with it. Also, you will love the restaurant staff. Everyone is very nice there and the food is great. Try the Chicken Wings but be ware they are spicy. Here is the web site. http://almadelpacifico.com/

Happy travels!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has it's own private pool just a few feet from your veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior Springs, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Our room facing the well-maintained beach area with a dip pool in front was delightful! The flowers surrounding each unit were gorgeous, and we felt compeletly secure in every area at all times. The waiters were exceptional and well-trained in every detail. We loved the relaxing no rush atmosphere and the air-conditioning was appreciated in the room. The maid service was efficient and friendly. We felt very "special" staying in a "special" place in lovely Costa Rica!

Room Tip: Get the beach front rooms - all perfect views are the suring waves in the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esterillos Este
0.2 mi away
Encantada Ocean Cottages
Encantada Ocean Cottages
#1 of 5 in Esterillos Este
4.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Playa Bejuco
Hotel Playa Bejuco
#3 of 5 in Esterillos Este
4.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
18.0 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#5 of 43 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#4 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 1,022 reviews
21.5 mi away
Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa
Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa
#10 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
12.7 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: Playa Esterillos Este | Near Manuel Antonio, Esterillos Este 10-6300, Costa Rica (Formerly Xandari by the Pacific)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Esterillos Este
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Esterillos Este
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated on Costa Rica's Pacific Coast along Playa Esterillos Este, between Jaco Beach and Manuel Antonio, Alma del Pacifico is a luxury Costa Rica hotel featuring beachfront Caribbean hotel rooms and suites, a three-meal restaurant, full-service spa and a variety of exciting vacation activities. With distinct architecture and art, an extensive array of amenities and superb personal service, Alma del Pacifico Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Costa Rica. A great alternative for luxury travelers wanting to visit Manuel Antonio while being on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xandari By The Pacific Hotel
Xandari By The Pacific Resort
Alma Del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Esterillos Este

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.