We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to Stay in Costa Rica!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Del Mar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Monterey Del Mar Hotel to your Saves list
Monterey Del Mar Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West End of Air Strip | Canton Parrita, Provincia Puntarenas, Esterillos Este 6300, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Esterillos Este
Esterillos Este, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Place to Stay in Costa Rica!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My husband and I sold everything we owned and took the plunge to move to Costa Rica without ever coming here. Upon our arrival, the first place we rented in Jaco just didn't work out for us. After an unexpected meeting with two realtors the next morning (Jeff and Margo Ackerman), they suggested we stay at the Monterey Del Mar in Esterillos Este and se are so glad we did. That decision led us to Dave La Barre and Nancy who are the owners of this beautiful place to stay right on the beach in their lovely rooms and their amazing staff. I have never stayed anywhere in my life where the owners treated us so special giving us their undivided attention. Dave even drove us around the area to help us get grounded in our first week in Costa Rica. He even went to the bank and phone store with us ensuring we got our phones set up with international numbers, sims card, etc. He introduced us to another realtor who ultimately connected us up with our current long term rental in Esterillos Centro. So, in our first week here, we have ~a dozen contacts all due to our connection with Monterey Del Mar. My husband Dave and I are now living the life and plan to tell all our friends and family about Monterey Del Mar and the amazing owners Dave and Nancy. We enjoyed our week, the people, the food and the service was amazing! Make sure to have the Monterey burger and the fish tacos :). Dave and Sue Swick from Phoenix, Arizona - Pura Vida!

Room Tip: We stayed in the bungalow but I heard all good things about the other rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny L, Public Relations Manager at Monterey Del Mar Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
HI Sue & Dave,

Thank you so much for your kind words and for joining us recently at Monterey del Mar!

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience and look forward to welcoming you to the area.

Please come by to see us again soon!

Kind regards,

Monterey del Mar Owners & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    38
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
18
43
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
estarillos oeste
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Went to the hotel for breakfast and so enjoyed ourselves we keep going back. My mother is 90 and has traveled all over the world she says this is her favourite place.. The new owners are working on making it even better. There rooms are clean and very comfortable. my friends stay there all the time. keep up the good work.
thanks sue

Room Tip: facing the beach what a way to wake up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny L, Public Relations Manager at Monterey Del Mar Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Hi Sue,

Thank you so much for your kind words patronage and taking the time to share your comments here.

Our cherished guests are the reason we do what we do. It means so much to hear from you that you and your well-traveled mom enjoy the service and accommodations.

Please come and see us again soon and if you can say "hi". We love to hear from our valued guests!

Sincerely,

Monterey del Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed here recently for a short vacation and we had a fantastic time! The grounds and pool are beautiful, and the room was clean and comfortable (the bed was even more comfortable than our bed at home!). My favorite part of our time here was waking up in the morning, walking right out to the beach and taking a dip in the warm ocean water. We would follow that up with breakfast in the restaurant. Breakfast is included in the price of the room. I always had the 'Tico' breakfast, it was a large, delicious assortment of foods and came with some of the best coffee I have ever had. We ate in the restaurant for lunch and dinner a few times too, and the food and service were always excellent. I would highly recommend the Monterey Burger.
This place is incredibly serene and relaxing. Mostly, the only noises you hear are waves crashing and tropical birds chirping. You can walk for miles up and down the black sand beaches and hardly see anyone else. But, the town of Jaco, where there's lots of night life, is only a 10-15 minute drive away. Plus, the hotel is only 1.5 hours from San Jose so getting in and out from the airport was super easy.
I would agree with the other reviewers who said the place needed some TLC, but I'm still giving it an excellent rating because the hotel is under new ownership and it was clear that the necessary improvements are being made, plus, the place is absolutely gorgeous as it is, the staff was friendly, and all in all this was the perfect place to relax, unwind, and rejuvenate for a few days.

Room Tip: We stayed in a beachfront bungalow which had a nice little porch outside with a view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed for couple of days in April..beautiful beach..could use some beach chairs! Also no glasses in the room, very thirsty, got couple plastic glasses & ice from restaurant..the staff in there was very good & food was was much better with the new management. Room could use a spruce up & I would put in a small refrigerator. We did try to get a cab from the front desk to go into Jaco for a day..they told us it would be 100.00 to go one way..wondering if front desk could have been more helpful..as we knew that was not the case. Felt for 200.00 a night we should have shopped around!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny L, Public Relations Manager at Monterey Del Mar Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us and thank you for taking the time to make some comments.

We are very pleased to here that you enjoyed the food and the surrounding beach. Now that we are under new ownership we are making upgrades and your suggestions will be taken under consideration.

As for the cab rate you were quoted, I wonder if something was misunderstood. A $100 rate can apply when there are enough passengers that a van is necessary, for other popular destinations or for rounds trips. At any rate, we apologize if you feel like you were misled and we assure you that the cabs operate and charge independent of our business. We will look into this further though.

We do hope you will come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed here for several days and while I recommend it, the place is definitely in need of some repair. The staff are friendly and the rooms are clean. They could use a change of furniture in some rooms. The chairs were moldy so we removed ours to rid the room of the smell. We ate several meals at the restaurant including breakfasts which were included. Food was good and service at meals was also good. The best place about this place is the location-right along a 13 km beach that is wonderfully beautiful and not over exploited by tourists and the infrastructure that caters to them. It is hot in this part of Costa Rica so the pool was a welcome relief even if the water was warmed by the sun.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarro, Cartago, Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This was our first stay at Monterey Del Mar although we had eaten lunch there on a previous trip to the area. The hotel has new ownership and they are improving the physical plant and increasing the variety of the food, although I must say the food is very good now. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and the grounds are gorgeous. The beach is the best we have found going all the way from Jaco to Puerto Jimenez. The location is an easy drive to Jaco or Manuel Antonio if you want to leave the area for a day trip. I highly recommend Monterey Del Mar.

Room Tip: The hotel was almost full when we were there and the way the hotel is laid out I don't think the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny L, Public Relations Manager at Monterey Del Mar Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Jeff,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to write a review. We couldn't be happier that you enjoyed your time with us and that you took note of our positive changes.

Please come and see us again for lunch or stay!

Sincerely,
Monterey del Mar Hotel, Ownership & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Friendly helpful caring staff. Extremely helpful owner there everyday to ensure life flows smoothly at the hotel. We walked right out to the beach from our room each day we stayed. Delicious food, beautiful and luxurious surroundings. We highly recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to enjoy the best of Costa Rica!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monterey Del Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Del Mar Hotel

Address: West End of Air Strip | Canton Parrita, Provincia Puntarenas, Esterillos Este 6300, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Esterillos Este
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Esterillos Este
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Del Mar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monterey del Mar Hotel, Restaurant & Spa is the gem of the Central Pacific Coast. Nestled between the popular destinations of Jaco and Manuel Antonio National Park, this boutique hotel offers a convenient location with the serenity of a secluded beach. The warm colors of the hotel and it's lush tropical gardens give way to a breathtaking, uninterrupted view of expansive Playa de Esterillos Este (Esterillos Este Beach).Enjoy swimming in our beautiful pool, a relaxed stroll on our cocoa-colored sand beach, go play in the waves, enjoy a delicious meal at our beachfront restaurant or ask our concierge to book an adventure tour for you. Amenities include: oceanfront rooms, elegant suites with private terraces, a beachfront restaurant with selections ranging from local fare to international favorites, spa services, air conditioning, hot water, free wifi in the lounge, satellite TV, room service and complimentary continental breakfast. As our welcomed guest you are our priority. We look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Monterey Del Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monterey Del Mar
Monterey Del Mar Hotel Costa Rica/Esterillos Este

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Del Mar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.