We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs some TLC” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Del Mar Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Monterey Del Mar Hotel to your Saves list
Monterey Del Mar Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West End of Air Strip | Canton Parrita, Provincia Puntarenas, Esterillos Este 6300, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Esterillos Este
Certificate of Excellence
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“needs some TLC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed for couple of days in April..beautiful beach..could use some beach chairs! Also no glasses in the room, very thirsty, got couple plastic glasses & ice from restaurant..the staff in there was very good & food was was much better with the new management. Room could use a spruce up & I would put in a small refrigerator. We did try to get a cab from the front desk to go into Jaco for a day..they told us it would be 100.00 to go one way..wondering if front desk could have been more helpful..as we knew that was not the case. Felt for 200.00 a night we should have shopped around!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny L, Public Relations Manager at Monterey Del Mar Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us and thank you for taking the time to make some comments.

We are very pleased to here that you enjoyed the food and the surrounding beach. Now that we are under new ownership we are making upgrades and your suggestions will be taken under consideration.

As for the cab rate you were quoted, I wonder if something was misunderstood. A $100 rate can apply when there are enough passengers that a van is necessary, for other popular destinations or for rounds trips. At any rate, we apologize if you feel like you were misled and we assure you that the cabs operate and charge independent of our business. We will look into this further though.

We do hope you will come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    44
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
25
46
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed here for several days and while I recommend it, the place is definitely in need of some repair. The staff are friendly and the rooms are clean. They could use a change of furniture in some rooms. The chairs were moldy so we removed ours to rid the room of the smell. We ate several meals at the restaurant including breakfasts which were included. Food was good and service at meals was also good. The best place about this place is the location-right along a 13 km beach that is wonderfully beautiful and not over exploited by tourists and the infrastructure that caters to them. It is hot in this part of Costa Rica so the pool was a welcome relief even if the water was warmed by the sun.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarro, Cartago, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This was our first stay at Monterey Del Mar although we had eaten lunch there on a previous trip to the area. The hotel has new ownership and they are improving the physical plant and increasing the variety of the food, although I must say the food is very good now. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and the grounds are gorgeous. The beach is the best we have found going all the way from Jaco to Puerto Jimenez. The location is an easy drive to Jaco or Manuel Antonio if you want to leave the area for a day trip. I highly recommend Monterey Del Mar.

Room Tip: The hotel was almost full when we were there and the way the hotel is laid out I don't think the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny L, Public Relations Manager at Monterey Del Mar Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Jeff,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to write a review. We couldn't be happier that you enjoyed your time with us and that you took note of our positive changes.

Please come and see us again for lunch or stay!

Sincerely,
Monterey del Mar Hotel, Ownership & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Friendly helpful caring staff. Extremely helpful owner there everyday to ensure life flows smoothly at the hotel. We walked right out to the beach from our room each day we stayed. Delicious food, beautiful and luxurious surroundings. We highly recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to enjoy the best of Costa Rica!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauma Valley, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

During a recent visit to the area, we had several meals at Monterey Del Mar. The food was well presented, very good and the service was excellent. It is also the best place to watch the sunset anywhere on this beach, just perfect

Room Tip: Stayed at a private home, not the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We ate at the restaurant twice while staying at a house nearby. The atmosphere was beautiful and if you are there at the right time you can see the entire beach and sunset from your table. The food was good and the service very friendly. It's definitely one of the nicest places in the Bejuco/Esterillos area. This is minor, but I recommend adding some tiki torches for additional ambience after the sun sets.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny L, Public Relations Manager at Monterey Del Mar Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Hi Daphne,

Thank you for joining us recently for dinner.

Your kinds words about our atmosphere, food and service are greatly appreciated and we are glad you got to take in sunset while dining! Your tiki torch suggestions are noted and we thank you for taking the time to share your feedback!

Please come and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeCod
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Normally, after staying at a property like this I would tee one up and blast away. However, I am going to withhold my full displeasure of this property because new owners just purchased it in December and have big plans on the horizon.

The deficiencies are too many to describe, but I would first recommend they walk throughout the property at night and either replace or repair all of the missing, damaged and unplugged lights. This will go far to increase the atmosphere of the property in the evening.

Second, most of the staff is exceptional but there are a few bad apples that I hope being an on site manager will recongize rather quickly and flush out.

Finally, if I owned this property, I would walk 100 yards up the road and takes notes at the Alma and Encantada and try to duplicate what they are doing there. Although we stayed at the Monterey, we spent at great deal of our down time at those 2 properties as well as most of our meals.

Good luck to the new management team, you have a good base property to begin your work on!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny L, Public Relations Manager at Monterey Del Mar Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for sharing your thoughts.

You are right, we are under new ownership and have big plans on the horizon. We are taking notes of your suggestions.

Unfortunately we must do more than change a light bulb for those lights that are out. Updating wiring and improvements on other aspects of the electrical system are in the works now. We have already begun installing eco-friendly solar lights in the walkways which are working great.

Staff training is underway as well, but we will always provide ongoing training to insure the best possible service for our guests.

Through all of this we will continue to remain competitively priced for our increasingly sought after area.

We do hope you come to see us again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esterillos Este
2.5 mi away
Encantada Ocean Cottages
Encantada Ocean Cottages
#1 of 5 in Esterillos Este
4.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Playa Bejuco
Hotel Playa Bejuco
#3 of 5 in Esterillos Este
4.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
4.8 mi away
Delfin Beachfront Resort
Delfin Beachfront Resort
#1 of 2 in Playa Bejuco
4.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#5 of 43 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 898 reviews
10.1 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
14.4 mi away
Clandestino Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Del Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Del Mar Hotel

Address: West End of Air Strip | Canton Parrita, Provincia Puntarenas, Esterillos Este 6300, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Esterillos Este
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Esterillos Este
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Del Mar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monterey del Mar Hotel, Restaurant & Spa is the gem of the Central Pacific Coast. Nestled between the popular destinations of Jaco and Manuel Antonio National Park, this boutique hotel offers a convenient location with the serenity of a secluded beach. The warm colors of the hotel and it's lush tropical gardens give way to a breathtaking, uninterrupted view of expansive Playa de Esterillos Este (Esterillos Este Beach).Enjoy swimming in our beautiful pool, a relaxed stroll on our cocoa-colored sand beach, go play in the waves, enjoy a delicious meal at our beachfront restaurant or ask our concierge to book an adventure tour for you. Amenities include: oceanfront rooms, elegant suites with private terraces, a beachfront restaurant with selections ranging from local fare to international favorites, spa services, air conditioning, hot water, free wifi in the lounge, satellite TV, room service and complimentary continental breakfast. As our welcomed guest you are our priority. We look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Monterey Del Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monterey Del Mar
Monterey Del Mar Hotel Costa Rica/Esterillos Este

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Del Mar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.