We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Del Mar Hotel

Save Saved
You added Monterey Del Mar Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Monterey Del Mar Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West End of Air Strip | Canton Parrita, Provincia Puntarenas, Esterillos Este 6300, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Esterillos Este
Cape Coral, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I believe Monterey Del Mar is the essence of Costa Rica. The stunning views of the ocean from your room and the wonderful restaurant is what you come to Costa Rica for. I will return over and over for the peace and quiet along with the "family feel" of Monterey Del Mar. The staff is superb and every thing you ask for they will do there best to accomodate. Jonathan, the hotel manager is extremely professional and courtous as well as his assistent Warren. Great hotel for the price and location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    37
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
18
41
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Rica
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel and location is a perfect getaway for us, a couple who owns another hotel in Costa Rica. We've been going to Monterey del Mar for several years now and find the Peace and Tranquility we need to recharge in our busy lives. The rooms are spacious, very clean and showers have great water pressure. The staff is friendly, even gives us tips on gardening as their grounds are gorgeous. The hotel is under new ownership and already improving on what has been a good place for years! You will enjoy this hotel if you're looking for a beautiful beach, peace of mind, a comfortable room and good service all around.

Room Tip: All are very nice; oceanfront of course is even better, but you hear the surf from all rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

During June 2013 we stayed at Monterey Del Mar Hotel (3 nights) for the second time. Our first visit, in July 2010 was a great experience that produced many wonderful memories. This year was not nearly as satisfying.

First, I need to say that this hotel is right on a beautiful beach that is practically empty, even on weekends. My wife and I took wonderful walks on this beach. She saw and got good close up photos of Scarlet Macaws just a little ways down the beach. Rooms that have doors facing the beach have amazing views. The grounds are beautifully maintained and well cared for. Wonderful, satisfying breakfasts are provided in the restaurant.

We reserved a Junior Suite with air-conditioning because we had spent the previous 4 days in more rustic lodges. The Junior Suite is actually the size of two normal rooms, but there is a single A/C unit to cool the larger room - same as those in the smaller rooms, and it was not strong enough to keep the room cool. It took over 4 hours after we arrived for the room to be comfortable, and we had to leave it running all day and all night, or have to wait for a long time to have it cool again. There was another A/C unit in the room, but it was not operational and reception told us it was not going to be.

Because we came during the "Green Season", there were periods with lots of rain, which we expected. During these heavy cloudbursts, water came in from the corner of the room and covered a large area of the tile floor.

There is a porch outside of the sliding glass door that faces the beach and ocean. Very nice and we enjoyed sitting there watch the waves and birds. But the sliding glass door could not be locked from the outside, so we could not leave from this door to go to the beach. We had to leave via the main room door, and walk all the way to the far end of the building, then all the way back around the outside to get to the beach.

Lights in the main hallway in the building where our room was located were activated by a motion sensor. I applaud them for using this environmentally-sensitive approach. However, the motion sensors were at an opening near the parking lot at the opposite end of the hall from our room, where there were no lights even to be activated. When we'd leave our room day or night, the hallway would stay dark until we were ready to leave the building where the motion sensors were positioned after which the hallway lights would come on. During night time, even when the lights were activated, it was still too dark at our door to put the key in the door lock without a flashlight. I have a neurological handicap that causes balance issues and have to walk with a cane. The dark hallways felt very dangerous to me.

The sliding glass door could not be opened when we first arrived in our room, but a service/repairman came and oiled the door, then showed us how we needed to use 2 hands to pull the doors together, and a third hand to move the switch that locked or unlocked this door. The third hand was needed because the switch was very stiff and took a lot of strength to move. Glad there were two of us sharing the room.

None of the room safes are operational because, according to reception, too many students played around with them while staying and broke them. They have a safe at reception, but this made it inconvenient to leave our passports and money, requiring a stop a reception every time we arrived at or departed from the hotel. There we many times when no one was at reception.

For the only meal other than breakfast that we ate at the hotel restaurant, dinner on the night we arrived, nearly half of the menu items were not available. We were able to find food on the menu we could eat, but not our first or second choices.

Wifi is advertised as being in some rooms, but it was not available in our suite. The radio signal that broadcasts the name of the network was not strong enough to reach our room, so even though we could see networks, we could not see the network name and consequently were unable to connect. There were 3 public wifi networks that I could connect to at different times in different locations on the property on different days. But no consistent wifi connection was available. Just had to move around the grounds to determine where it was working at that time on that day.

When we came in 2010 we had a few problems, but the staff was very quick and responsive in dealing with them. We felt like valued guests. This time, however, there seemed to be a don't care attitude from most of the people we dealt with, but not all. Groundskeepers were very friendly, and the man who came to show us how to use the lock to the sliding glass door was friendly as well. But the general feeling was that they did not consider guests to be important. Not once from the time we checked in until the time we checked out did we hear "thank you".

Had hoped for a better experience based on our previous stay, but even though this was the most expensive place we stayed in Costa Rica, it was far from the most comfortable and did not provide us with good memories. If we stay in the area again, we'll stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnyDizzle, Public Relations Manager at Monterey Del Mar Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
David S.,

We wish to sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced during your recent stay with us. You were a repeat guest and we most certainly appreciate your choice to come back and are disappointed to hear we did not deliver on what you came to expect from a previous visit.

Your feedback is incredibly important to us and helps us to identify issues. Based on your review we have taken a look at the functionality of items you mentioned such as the light, safe and AC. We are taking steps to correct these issues as well as to improve other aspects of the property. We hope that you give us another chance one day. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed Monterey Del Mar for only one night, but it was our first night out of a rain forest after 8 days stay, it was a pleasant surprise. Room is clean and pretty. Blacksand beach was not busy at all and absolutely beautiful.
We have to thank the hotel staff as we left behind some documents, they kept them safely away til we came back to pick it up. A big plus for honesty!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area CA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights with an OAT tour group. The grounds are beautiful (a bit more manicured and resort-like than most of the places we stayed) and the bungalow/villa was wonderful. The linens were the best we encountered and the air conditioning was a welcome amenity! (The A/C was very efficient AND quiet.)

There wasn't much wildlife here - though we saw a few geckos and quite a few birds. There was a TV in the room but I never turned it on. Wi-fi was available at the pool, bar & restaurant areas.

The bathroom was great and the shower had very good pressure and consistent temperature, which is very important to me.

The swimming pool was very nice - though it was a bit odd in how the depths were laid out - very shallow in some areas so you couldn't really swim laps. I'm guessing that was to make it safer for the families with younger children.

The bar and restaurant were very nice - open air and with an ocean view. The restaurant seemed to cater more to 'American' tourists so it was a bit more 'pedestrian' than some of the other food we experienced in Costa Rica.

The beach was right there, though it didn't appear especially safe for swimming. It was nice to hear the surf and walk along the sand. The sunsets were very beautiful both nights we were there.

The only downside I can think of was the fact that they didn't have a gift shop. It would have been nice to be able to pick up some snacks or postcards etc.

Room Tip: Some people in our group did not like the rooms with sliding glass doors. They felt uncomfortable sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We took a weekend getaway to Esterillos to run the first Esterillos Beach 10K and spent the night at the Monterey Del Mar. The accommodations were clean, comfortable and convenient. The staff was friendly and helpful and the tropical gardens were well maintained. There’s also abundant tropical wildlife on the property, including iguanas, colorful lapas (macaws) and other birds, and an occasional crab will wander in off the beach, which is just a few steps from the open-air restaurant.
We booked the standard room, which was $120 per night (low season, by the way); taxes and fees added another $15. Breakfast for two was included. The room was spacious and comfortable, with two queen beds and a nicely tiled bathroom. They say wireless internet is available, but we didn’t use it.
On the minus side, there was no outside ventilation in the bathroom; the one window is high up and for sunlight only. The TV was one of the older models with a very poorly attached cable cord which kept coming loose, causing the picture to roll and flicker. The chairs in the restaurant are well worn and not comfortable, with the foam cushions in most of them completely exhausted from years of use, and there is a large pothole as you exit the hotel that is almost impossible to avoid – all stuff that is easily and probably cheaply fixed.
Playa Esterillos is a gorgeous strip of tropical beach, and the Monterey Del Mar is a perfectly acceptable, moderated priced place to stay if you want to get away for a day or two. If you’re looking for night life, shopping or tourist attractions, you’ll have to drive 20 minutes north to Jaco or farther south to Quepos and Manuel Antonio. Also, Playa Esterillos has very strong undercurrents, and there are caution signs posted, so it isn’t a great place to bring the kids if they want some ocean play time.
All in all, for the value, we give the Monterey Del Mar 4 of 5 stars.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Monterey del Mar. The staff is very friendly and willing to help. The restaurant is very good. Reasonable prices for a wonderful weekend. It is located at the beach front.


  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monterey Del Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Del Mar Hotel

Address: West End of Air Strip | Canton Parrita, Provincia Puntarenas, Esterillos Este 6300, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Esterillos Este
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Esterillos Este
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Del Mar Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monterey del Mar Hotel, Restaurant & Spa is the gem of the Central Pacific Coast. Nestled between the popular destinations of Jaco and Manuel Antonio National Park, this boutique hotel offers a convenient location with the serenity of a secluded beach. The warm colors of the hotel and it's lush tropical gardens give way to a breathtaking, uninterrupted view of expansive Playa de Esterillos Este (Esterillos Este Beach).Enjoy swimming in our beautiful pool, a relaxed stroll on our cocoa-colored sand beach, go play in the waves, enjoy a delicious meal at our beachfront restaurant or ask our concierge to book an adventure tour for you. Amenities include: oceanfront rooms, elegant suites with private terraces, a beachfront restaurant with selections ranging from local fare to international favorites, spa services, air conditioning, hot water, free wifi in the lounge, satellite TV, room service and complimentary continental breakfast. As our welcomed guest you are our priority. We look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Monterey Del Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monterey Del Mar
Monterey Del Mar Hotel Costa Rica/Esterillos Este

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Del Mar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.