We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel on Esterillos Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Del Mar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Monterey Del Mar Hotel to your Saves list
Monterey Del Mar Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West End of Air Strip | Canton Parrita, Provincia Puntarenas, Esterillos Este 6300, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Esterillos Este
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel on Esterillos Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a very nice hotel on a beautiful beach! The beach is so wide here and a wonderful place to walk .... we were warned not to swim in the ocean, so we traveled to the Manuel Antonio National Park to swim in a beautiful little bay. Our room here was spacious and clean and we had reliable hot water for the first time in Costa Rica! They have a nice pool and a lovely outdoor restaurant. The food was very good with lots of fresh fruit. I would highly recommend staying here .... a great place to get away from it all with an amazing beach view.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    44
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
24
46
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The setting was amazing. It's right on the ocean, with beautiful sunsets. You can't swim in the ocean hear, but walking the beach is okay. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The grounds are full of flowers, birds and trees. You don't really want to spend much time in the room. The restaurant was open with a view of the water. The food was above average, with breakfast served buffet style (at least for our tour group). This is close to Manuel Antonio National Park, a must see for a trip to Costa Rica. They have a wonderful beach there that CAN be used to swim.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have patios looking toward the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderful oasis to get away from it all. Beautiful black sand beaches. The grounds are attractively designed and maintained. I found the rooms comfortable especially with the air conditioning and the bathroom clean. The beds are very comfy as well. I like the fact that the duvet cover is changed after each guest so you are not wondering what is on the bedspread. My laundry was done in a timely manner. The open bar and restaurant really make you feel like you are part of nature and the environment. The one appetizer we had in the restaurant was very tasty.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermiston, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This quiet resort offers the traveler the opportunity to unwind in a beautiful environment. The rooms arecomfortable. The grounds are emaculate. The ocean is calm and beautiful. Beaware the water can be dangerous due to a undertow. The beach is great for walking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rzeszow, Poland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

most wonderful grounds right on the edge of Esterillos Beach, an endless expanse of rolling waves (not recommended to swim unfortunately - but the pool is nice) the rooms are nice enough most with private patios and the dining is al fresco. we were however told not to go wandering on the beach at night by ourselves...and there was a night watchman keeping guard. a lovely place, just need to get to the other beaches from there such as at Manuel Antonio. or do the outrigger canoe at Jacos Kayakking at Agujas Beach - wonderful!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardnerville, Nevada
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. Great beach with lots of sand dollars and other shells. Quiet spot with lovely pool and setting. Had an ocean facing room with great view. Food good but day waiters not so great. Bartender and waitress at night excellent. Mostly Tico guests which was nice. Would go back but a little pricey for the room.

Room Tip: Do go for the beach front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for two nights, but would have liked more time there. The grounds are beautiful, plus they have a lovely pool and being right on the beach was a plus. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. I was a little leery when I saw a review which said the place was showing signs of age. However, they must have renovated it as everything we saw was impeccable and the bathrooms were fine. Probably the only negative is that they do have a problem with their hot water as it can be slightly warm one time and cold another. However, we did not worry about it since it was hot while we were there so we did not really need hot water. It was delightful sitting in the bar looking at the beach and seeing the beautiful sunsets. The restaurant and bar service is good and the food was delicious. The prices were also very reasonable. We found the staff to be very friendly, and it is, definitely, in my mind, a place to return to.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Monterey Del Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Del Mar Hotel

Address: West End of Air Strip | Canton Parrita, Provincia Puntarenas, Esterillos Este 6300, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Esterillos Este
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Esterillos Este
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Del Mar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monterey del Mar Hotel, Restaurant & Spa is the gem of the Central Pacific Coast. Nestled between the popular destinations of Jaco and Manuel Antonio National Park, this boutique hotel offers a convenient location with the serenity of a secluded beach. The warm colors of the hotel and it's lush tropical gardens give way to a breathtaking, uninterrupted view of expansive Playa de Esterillos Este (Esterillos Este Beach).Enjoy swimming in our beautiful pool, a relaxed stroll on our cocoa-colored sand beach, go play in the waves, enjoy a delicious meal at our beachfront restaurant or ask our concierge to book an adventure tour for you. Amenities include: oceanfront rooms, elegant suites with private terraces, a beachfront restaurant with selections ranging from local fare to international favorites, spa services, air conditioning, hot water, free wifi in the lounge, satellite TV, room service and complimentary continental breakfast. As our welcomed guest you are our priority. We look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Monterey Del Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monterey Del Mar
Monterey Del Mar Hotel Costa Rica/Esterillos Este

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Del Mar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.