We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Del Mar Hotel

Save Saved
You added Monterey Del Mar Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Monterey Del Mar Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West End of Air Strip | Canton Parrita, Provincia Puntarenas, Esterillos Este 6300, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Esterillos Este
Hermiston, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This quiet resort offers the traveler the opportunity to unwind in a beautiful environment. The rooms arecomfortable. The grounds are emaculate. The ocean is calm and beautiful. Beaware the water can be dangerous due to a undertow. The beach is great for walking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    37
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
18
41
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rzeszow, Poland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

most wonderful grounds right on the edge of Esterillos Beach, an endless expanse of rolling waves (not recommended to swim unfortunately - but the pool is nice) the rooms are nice enough most with private patios and the dining is al fresco. we were however told not to go wandering on the beach at night by ourselves...and there was a night watchman keeping guard. a lovely place, just need to get to the other beaches from there such as at Manuel Antonio. or do the outrigger canoe at Jacos Kayakking at Agujas Beach - wonderful!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardnerville, Nevada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. Great beach with lots of sand dollars and other shells. Quiet spot with lovely pool and setting. Had an ocean facing room with great view. Food good but day waiters not so great. Bartender and waitress at night excellent. Mostly Tico guests which was nice. Would go back but a little pricey for the room.

Room Tip: Do go for the beach front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for two nights, but would have liked more time there. The grounds are beautiful, plus they have a lovely pool and being right on the beach was a plus. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. I was a little leery when I saw a review which said the place was showing signs of age. However, they must have renovated it as everything we saw was impeccable and the bathrooms were fine. Probably the only negative is that they do have a problem with their hot water as it can be slightly warm one time and cold another. However, we did not worry about it since it was hot while we were there so we did not really need hot water. It was delightful sitting in the bar looking at the beach and seeing the beautiful sunsets. The restaurant and bar service is good and the food was delicious. The prices were also very reasonable. We found the staff to be very friendly, and it is, definitely, in my mind, a place to return to.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This hotel is definitely showing signs of age, but its location on one of the most beautiful beach areas on the west coast of Costa Rica makes that seem insignificant. The older cabins are fairly clean, but the hot water was rather unpredictable and the bathrooms were scruffy. The air conditioning was a blessing at night. The grounds and gardens and pool area are lovely, and the open air dining room has a world class view of the ocean and some stunning sunsets. The food was pretty good. If you plan to spend all your waking hours outdoors on the amazing beach--swimming, surfing, boogie-boarding, shelling, strolling--then this is a great spot.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Just a 20 min drive from Jaco. We loved the pool and how close the hotel is from the beach. Breakfast was not special but ok. The room was just what we needed. Ac, tv, clean bathroom and confy beds.

Next time I would like to stay in a room closer to the beach so We'll be back

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacó, Puntarenas, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a wonderful sunset dinner at the Monterey Del Mar Hotel restaurant tonight. The food was delicious and fresh and the service was friendly and impeccable. I would highly recommend the restaurant and as a local will definitely return again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monterey Del Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Del Mar Hotel

Address: West End of Air Strip | Canton Parrita, Provincia Puntarenas, Esterillos Este 6300, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Esterillos Este
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Esterillos Este
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Del Mar Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monterey del Mar Hotel, Restaurant & Spa is the gem of the Central Pacific Coast. Nestled between the popular destinations of Jaco and Manuel Antonio National Park, this boutique hotel offers a convenient location with the serenity of a secluded beach. The warm colors of the hotel and it's lush tropical gardens give way to a breathtaking, uninterrupted view of expansive Playa de Esterillos Este (Esterillos Este Beach).Enjoy swimming in our beautiful pool, a relaxed stroll on our cocoa-colored sand beach, go play in the waves, enjoy a delicious meal at our beachfront restaurant or ask our concierge to book an adventure tour for you. Amenities include: oceanfront rooms, elegant suites with private terraces, a beachfront restaurant with selections ranging from local fare to international favorites, spa services, air conditioning, hot water, free wifi in the lounge, satellite TV, room service and complimentary continental breakfast. As our welcomed guest you are our priority. We look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Monterey Del Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monterey Del Mar
Monterey Del Mar Hotel Costa Rica/Esterillos Este

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Del Mar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.