We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect spot away but near” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Del Mar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Monterey Del Mar Hotel to your Saves list
Monterey Del Mar Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West End of Air Strip | Canton Parrita, Provincia Puntarenas, Esterillos Este 6300, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Esterillos Este
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The perfect spot away but near”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Just a 20 min drive from Jaco. We loved the pool and how close the hotel is from the beach. Breakfast was not special but ok. The room was just what we needed. Ac, tv, clean bathroom and confy beds.

Next time I would like to stay in a room closer to the beach so We'll be back

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    39
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
18
44
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacó, Puntarenas, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a wonderful sunset dinner at the Monterey Del Mar Hotel restaurant tonight. The food was delicious and fresh and the service was friendly and impeccable. I would highly recommend the restaurant and as a local will definitely return again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

You arrive at this friendly oasis by passing through a watermelon farm on a dirt road. The grounds are beautiful with perfectly groomed gardens and iguanas roaming around. Friendly staff, inviting pool, small restaurant. Rooms clean but a little worn. Hot water intermittent, but the weather was hot and steamy anyhow. Amazing sunsets! Yes, hardly any chairs, but also hardly any people.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Santa Rosa de Poás,
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

From check-in to check out, our experience was superb. Reception and Restaurant/Bar staff all spoke excellent English (but welcomed our attempts at Spanish). Service was prompt, accurate, seamless.

Rooms: The 5 of us stayed in 3 adjacent one bedroom casitas. They were clean and appeared freshly painted. Nothing at all run down about them.

Air-conditioning - excellent - all the cold air we could want.

Bed - King-size. Mattress - excellent - firm without being too hard. Pillows - We all wanted to take them home with us - seriously. These were the the best pillows any of us had ever experienced. The only thing missing was a bar refrigerator. You'll need a cooler if you want your own refreshments. Shower - the water was hot, hot, hot! and the shower spray was strong.
Towels were OK, but not outstanding. But the pool towels were thick, soft and luxurious!

Pool - large, beautiful, sparkling clean and not over-chlorinated.

Grounds - Lushly tropical and groomed every morning- walks swept, lawn raked. Iguanas were abundant!

Restaurant - Both food and service were above average. Hamburguesa Monterey - a bacon cheeseburger - was outstanding, even at the $11 price. Menu items ranged from about $5 to $25. Tico breakfast or continental breakfast is included in the room rate. Beer is expensive - $3.50 for standard Costa Rican beers, but cocktails were reasonably priced.

Beach - The hotel is right on a beautiful, uncrowded beach that extends at least a mile in each direction. The hotel puts out umbrellas and beach lounges every morning. The water posted as having dangerous riptides, so swimming is probably not a good idea.

I'm certain I've forgotten to mention something, but for us, there was not a single item other than mentioned above that did not exceed our expectations. As residents of Costa Rica, we will be frequent visitors to the Monterey del Mar and has many shells and sand dollars to find. It is uncrowded.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

This is a jewel, nice, clean, sandy beach, meticulous maintained grounds and clean, comfortable rooms.
The food is good, not spectacular but well prepared and served and reasonably priced. The staff is friendly and attentive. Needs more pool and beach furniture.
We will go back.

Room Tip: Go for the bungalow with beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

The rooms were immaculate and modern with 2 queen beds, bright white duvets, a/c and wifi. Shampoo, conditioner, body wash dispenser in shower. Handsoap and lotion dispenser near bathroom sink. Beach views with great pool. Beach is dangerous and unswimmable. Lots of shells to be found.
Drinks at bar overpriced. Location is isolated. Staff great. Grounds beautiful with fountains, flowers, etc. It was a pleasure to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We were staying at the nearby Alma del Pacifico and decided to have dinner at this hotel one evening. The restaurant's ambiance was casual and although there were several diners it was not noisy. The wait staff was pleasant, courteous and efficient. The food was simple but well prepared and tasty. Prices were reasonable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monterey Del Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Del Mar Hotel

Address: West End of Air Strip | Canton Parrita, Provincia Puntarenas, Esterillos Este 6300, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Esterillos Este
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Esterillos Este
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Del Mar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monterey del Mar Hotel, Restaurant & Spa is the gem of the Central Pacific Coast. Nestled between the popular destinations of Jaco and Manuel Antonio National Park, this boutique hotel offers a convenient location with the serenity of a secluded beach. The warm colors of the hotel and it's lush tropical gardens give way to a breathtaking, uninterrupted view of expansive Playa de Esterillos Este (Esterillos Este Beach).Enjoy swimming in our beautiful pool, a relaxed stroll on our cocoa-colored sand beach, go play in the waves, enjoy a delicious meal at our beachfront restaurant or ask our concierge to book an adventure tour for you. Amenities include: oceanfront rooms, elegant suites with private terraces, a beachfront restaurant with selections ranging from local fare to international favorites, spa services, air conditioning, hot water, free wifi in the lounge, satellite TV, room service and complimentary continental breakfast. As our welcomed guest you are our priority. We look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Monterey Del Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monterey Del Mar
Monterey Del Mar Hotel Costa Rica/Esterillos Este

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Del Mar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.