We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous rooms and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Del Mar Hotel

Save Saved
You added Monterey Del Mar Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Hotels.com
and 7 more sites!
Monterey Del Mar Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West End of Air Strip | Canton Parrita, Provincia Puntarenas, Esterillos Este 6300, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Indiana
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Gorgeous rooms and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

The rooms were immaculate and modern with 2 queen beds, bright white duvets, a/c and wifi. Shampoo, conditioner, body wash dispenser in shower. Handsoap and lotion dispenser near bathroom sink. Beach views with great pool. Beach is dangerous and unswimmable. Lots of shells to be found.
Drinks at bar overpriced. Location is isolated. Staff great. Grounds beautiful with fountains, flowers, etc. It was a pleasure to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    33
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
37
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We were staying at the nearby Alma del Pacifico and decided to have dinner at this hotel one evening. The restaurant's ambiance was casual and although there were several diners it was not noisy. The wait staff was pleasant, courteous and efficient. The food was simple but well prepared and tasty. Prices were reasonable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Although somewhat removed from the main attractions of Manuel Antonio Park, this quiet hotel is a hidden gem. (But if you don't want the hastle of transportation to and from Manuel Antonio, this place may not be for you. However for us, it was a great place to return to and de-stress after a day in the bustling local towns, or hiking through the Park.) The beautifully- maintained grounds are filled with flowers and lush foliage, and the rooms are large and well appointed. Most units have their own terraces. The beachfront outdoor dining terrace offered an excellent and varied menu. There was always well-prepared freshly-caught fish when we were there. The restaurant staff were pleasant and attentive, especially Carla at the bar. Note: the beach, although lovely to look at and walk on, is not a swimming beach due to dangerous riptides, however the beautiful pool more than makes up for this. Monterey del Mar is a great place to relax and appreciate the natural beauty and bird life of Costa Rica's Pacific coast.

Room Tip: The few beachfront suites look gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

If you choose a beach front hotel because you like to sit by the pool where you can neither see nor hear the ocean, this is the place for you. I chose this hotel because I love the ocean and I wanted to sit on the beach. There are two broken down chaises by the beach and they were always taken. So I went to ask if one of the many chaises around the pool could be moved to the beach. After waiting for quite a while, the person at the desk said the manager was not there and I could email him for an answer. I gave up and went to visit my friends at another hotel on the beach that cost half as much and had plenty of chaises, some hammocks on the beach, and a much friendlier attitude toward its guests.

WiFi is not available in your room, only in the dining room, a room by the kitchen that smells awful and has no fresh air, and the front reception area.

The place is very clean and well kept, I only had breakfasts and one meal there.

Next time I will go to the hotel down the beach

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have ocean views; if you like the ocean ask for one
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrison, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

We stayed for three days at the beginning of February. Most of the rooms are free standing cottages and most have views of the water. The location south of Jaco by 30 minutes is quiet and peaceful. The beach stretches north and south for a long distance and was deserted. There are plenty of chaises around the pool. The staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed here for a week and found the grounds and room to far exceed expectations for the price we paid. A gentleman working there named Warren was particularly kind and looked out for us a number of times. He actually helped us attend a local festival in Parrita(which we never would have heard of otherwise) and was a real pleasure to talk to in general. Warren actually played a huge role in our trip and he gave us many great memories. Another man working the desk Pablo, helped us organize day trips and find good prices for the things we wanted to do. Make the effort to talk to the staff as they have so much great insight. The location is great because it is close enough to Jaco (the tourist city) that you can take a quick drive over (less than 15 min) and enjoy the events there, but also far enough away that the beach in front of the hotel is practically deserted (we went in February so this probably had something to do with it as well). If there is something that could be improved, it would be the breakfast portions (found them to be a little small). Either way would definitely recommend staying here because of its great price, location, and friendly staff. I am looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

I stayed at the Monterey Del Mar Hotel with my family in mid-October 2011. It was a great place to get away from all the busyness from work and life in the US and enjoy the simple life in Costa Rica. The staff is very friendly, the food and drinks were amazing and the room was clean and relaxing.

After we arrived in San Jose we had a really enjoyable drive to the resort on the Pacific coast. We saw a lot amazing wildlife like alligators, lizards, and even leaf cutter ants marching down the road!

I'm looking forward to staying at the Monterey Del Mar Hotel again during my next trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monterey Del Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Del Mar Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel Monterey Del Mar
Monterey Del Mar Hotel Costa Rica/Esterillos Este
Address: West End of Air Strip | Canton Parrita, Provincia Puntarenas, Esterillos Este 6300, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Esterillos Este
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Esterillos Este
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Del Mar Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monterey del Mar Hotel, Restaurant & Spa is the gem of the Central Pacific Coast. Nestled between the popular destinations of Jaco and Manuel Antonio National Park, this boutique hotel offers a convenient location with the serenity of a secluded beach. The warm colors of the hotel and it's lush tropical gardens give way to a breathtaking, uninterrupted view of expansive Playa de Esterillos Este (Esterillos Este Beach).Enjoy swimming in our beautiful pool, a relaxed stroll on our cocoa-colored sand beach, go play in the waves, enjoy a delicious meal at our beachfront restaurant or ask our concierge to book an adventure tour for you. Amenities include: oceanfront rooms, elegant suites with private terraces, a beachfront restaurant with selections ranging from local fare to international favorites, spa services, air conditioning, hot water, free wifi in the lounge, satellite TV, room service and complimentary continental breakfast. As our welcomed guest you are our priority. We look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, Venere and TripOnline SA so you can book your Monterey Del Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Del Mar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.