We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Del Mar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Monterey Del Mar Hotel to your Saves list
Monterey Del Mar Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West End of Air Strip | Canton Parrita, Provincia Puntarenas, Esterillos Este 6300, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Esterillos Este
Sarchi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disapointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

I'm a CR resident and have stayed at other, simpler places in Esterillos but friends visiting wanted something more upscale, and the website looked gorgeous. Expensive, but they offered 33% discount if you stayed 3 nights. We took the "presidential" suite, which would better be called the "Family" suite, as there really wasn't much "Presidential" about it. It didn't have a coffee maker, the curtain rod broke when I tried to close the sheers, the AC units were noisy. However, the beds and linens were excellent quality.
I like this stretch of beach because it is long, flat and you can walk forever. And hardly any people, even on weekends. As other reviewers have also said, strong rip currents so not a swimming beach.
It wasn't awful, by any means, just very ho-hum and not the value for money I'd expected. BUT when when we checked out the guy at the desk - who said he was the manager -wasn't going to honor the discount, as he said that only applied if you made your reservation a month in advance! We had him pull up the website, showed him the offer, and pointed out there was no mention of that. I told him we were prepared to wash dishes! He eventually caved, but it was one last annoying thing that further spoiled the visit.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    38
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
18
43
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McAllen, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

We spent a week there and used the rental car daily to drive to our tourist sites and also just plain drive around the countryside. It was spectacular. I was sad to see any poor reviews here because the pool was quite properly clean the whole time, even after one day when a storm came through. The gardens were so well taken care of I tipped the gardener a month's pay for the joy... (thought he was gonna hug me or faint). The Tican breakfast is perfect to start a day with some of the most wonderful coffee I ever tasted (we have this sent to us every 3 months now so we get Costa Rican coffee daily here in US). With the exception of one person at the desk, everyone was super helpful. Once we got to know the fellow, he really warmed up and helped us a lot. Great swimming, just do the shuffle so the stringrays get out of your way.

Room Tip: go during summer when there are fewer people
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quepos, Costa Rica
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for one night. In general, our first impression was of a typical 'canned' resort type experience. Dinner in the restaurant was good. Breakfast was standard fare. The gardens are extensive and well maintained. The staff seemed impersonal and somewhat jaded. All in all a typical mix of good and bad.

But two things happened that really killed the experience for us:

The first was finding lipstick on a coffee cup at breakfast, and, going back to the buffet, not being able to find one that was really clean.

The other was far worse. In the swimming pool after breakfast, I found semen floating in the water. Yes, left overs from some nighttime hanky-panky. I jumped out of the pool and we checked out. I was disgusted.


BTW, one other thing that my wife noticed - the property is only separated from the beach by a low wall with open access to the rooms. Anyone can get on the grounds. The rooms, (which are nice), only have single locks without deadbolts. There was a lot of evidence of people having tried to jimmy the latch to our room in the past.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Some friends and I stayed at the Monterey del Mar Hotel in Esterillos Este, Costa Rica, for three days in March 2011. This is one sweet beach hotel! The rooms are clean, spacious, and well appointed. The beds are very comfortable. The landscaping is absolutely beautiful. The pool is great and the beach is really awesome and uncrowded.
The restaurant is good and reasonably priced, and the people are very friendly and helpful. I really can't think of anything negative to say here. You can't, in my opinion, go wrongif you choose to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

You get what you pay for here - this is a very, very simple place... sort of like the beach on which it is located - think Naples, FL without the condos and with lots of debris - a long stretch of grayish sand and strong surf (no swimming). The grounds are clean and well maintained, but the amenities are rather limited - just a couple of simple plastic lounges on the beach and around the pool. The beachfront restaurant is nice; good breakfast, especially the fruit plate. The rooms are simple but comfortable (great AC!). We drove to Arenas del Mar (in Manuel Antonio) for lunch - OMG! Staying at Arenas would have cost ~2X more, but the place is ~100X better! Xandari, next door to Monterey, is a much more upscale resort, but the setting is the same (general area, the beach, etc.), which to me is a show-stopper - go to Manuel Antonio!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

Lovely hotel on a beautiful beach -- perfect for sitting and watching the waves roll in (it was too rough for swimming when we were there, although the water was neither too cold nor too warm). Also wonderful for long, lovely beach walks. A fairly private paradise. with lovely grounds, great hammocks!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

We spent three nights at this hotel. It is away from the hustle n' bustle of CR's Pacific Coast, but no comforts are lacking here. The service is great, the food reasonably priced and tasty, the grounds are beautiful, everything is clean and comfortable. The beach is really the main attraction - fine dark sand and pounding surf. Good for shelling with kids however the surf is too rough to swim safely beyong knee-level. This beach is meant for long walks!!! Pablo (front desk) went above and beyond to help book our excursions, and the dining staff is really friendly too. The pool is really nice and warm; was quiet so we had it to ourselves.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monterey Del Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Del Mar Hotel

Address: West End of Air Strip | Canton Parrita, Provincia Puntarenas, Esterillos Este 6300, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Esterillos Este
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Esterillos Este
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Del Mar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monterey del Mar Hotel, Restaurant & Spa is the gem of the Central Pacific Coast. Nestled between the popular destinations of Jaco and Manuel Antonio National Park, this boutique hotel offers a convenient location with the serenity of a secluded beach. The warm colors of the hotel and it's lush tropical gardens give way to a breathtaking, uninterrupted view of expansive Playa de Esterillos Este (Esterillos Este Beach).Enjoy swimming in our beautiful pool, a relaxed stroll on our cocoa-colored sand beach, go play in the waves, enjoy a delicious meal at our beachfront restaurant or ask our concierge to book an adventure tour for you. Amenities include: oceanfront rooms, elegant suites with private terraces, a beachfront restaurant with selections ranging from local fare to international favorites, spa services, air conditioning, hot water, free wifi in the lounge, satellite TV, room service and complimentary continental breakfast. As our welcomed guest you are our priority. We look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Monterey Del Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monterey Del Mar
Monterey Del Mar Hotel Costa Rica/Esterillos Este

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Del Mar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.