We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience! Definitely recommend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Riding Adventure

The Riding Adventure
Rancho Monterey, 25 Km South From Jaco | 38 Km North From Quepos on Hwy 34, Esterillos Este, Costa Rica
+506 8834 8687
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Welcome to ride Healthy Horses with a Bilingual Horsemen on a authentic beach riding adventure located near Manuel Antonio Beach and Jaco Beach. If your car has a GPS type coordinates: N 9.54041 W 84.45174 Or find Rancho Savegre in facebook With a lifetime of equestrian experience my brother Gustavo and I (Diego) welcome you to enjoy our FOREST AND BEACH tours complemented with our all around horsemen experience, well-trained mustangs, to take a close encounter with nature on forested trails and secluded beaches. Our commitment: every rider will be match with the best possible mount according to riding ability, size, skill and personality. Tours are customizeable, horses are happy and healthy, and we guarantee a comfortable and personal interaction for the duration of your tour. Beach ride can be customized from 1 to 2 hour riding time. From $50 0R $65 PP adding $10 when transportation needed.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience! Definitely recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was a really great experience! We were picked up right from our hotel. Diego was a great tour-guide. The horses were fantastic and well-trained and Diego did a great job making sure that we were each given a horse that is appropriate for our riding level. The beach views were gorgeous and we had a great time riding. We also enjoyed the unique and exciting experience of swimming with the horses in the ocean! Afterwards, we ate a very nice lunch and got dropped back off in Jaco. Everything was well organized and we all had a lot of fun. I definitely recommend this adventure for all people visiting Costa Rica. It was certainly a one-of-a-kind experience that you will not get anywhere else!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    15
    0
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Such a great ride!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I went on this ride with my daughter and we both thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Diego arranged for our transportation from Manuel Antonio and all went flawlessly. I grew up with horses and was happy to see that his horses were very well taken care, well trained and well loved. He is very careful not to have them go out on too many rides and you can tell by the energy they had. Cantering on the beach along the shore at sunset was an incredible experience. We loved it! There was another couple with us that did not have any riding experience and they too had a great time as Diego put them on the slower route - good news is that he let the experienced riders have their fun while he hung back with the beginners. He was so helpful and creative at taking pictures for us with our camera. Highly recommend this ride!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beach on horseback”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Great time riding through the surf north if Quepos. Very helpful and friendly staff. One if the highlights of our trip

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wembley, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Horseback Ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Diego arranged for transportation to and from our hotel in Manual Antonio, it is a short drive to the ranch where we had one of the most beautiful horseback rides of our life. Even though the weather didn't cooperate and it rained during most of the trip we wouldn't have missed it for the world. The horses were excellent, the saddles very comfortable, and the scenery amazing. We had a private tour as we were celebrating our anniversary, due to the rain our bonfire on the beach was cancelled, but Diego guided us to a wonderful restaurant (Alma Hotel) at the end of our ride where we enjoyed a beautiful dinner with incrediable views of the ocean. During our ride we had Esterillos Beach all to ourselves. What an incredible trip at a very reasonable cost. If your looking to get away from crowds of people this is the trip you must take. If you are an experienced horseman you will not be disappointedd, and if you are a novice Diego's horses are very well trained and he will take good care of you. Pura Vida!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Swimming with Horses in Manuel Antonio!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We simply had an amazing time on this tour! I have been around horses my whole life and I have never done anything like this. Its a MUST if you are in Manuel Antonio. We actually got to go into the ocean bareback and it was incredible. The water was perfect and I think the horses had a good time too :-)
Diego's horses are not only healthy and happy, but also EXTREMELY well-trained. He is a horseman who cares deeply for them and knows each and every horse very well. It was a pleasure riding with him and we'll definitely be back!!!
He can tailor this tour to any age or any ability, just let him know in advance and have a great time.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Riding Adventure also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to The Riding Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Riding Adventure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.