We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful relaxing place-thank you!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Playa Bejuco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Playa Bejuco to your Saves list
Hotel Playa Bejuco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bejuco Beach, Esterillos | Next to Ucr, Esterillos Este 143, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Esterillos Este
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing place-thank you!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015 via mobile

I'm amazed at the quality of service, good, location. Incredible value for the money. I could stay here my entire Cista Rican vacation. My family and I were on a deserted stretch of a beautiful beach and we were alone. Thank you !

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    33
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
46
61
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

We liked that this hotel really focused on being family friendly. This was our first trip to Costa Rica and we had our 8 year old with us. We stayed here for one night on our way from Matapalo to Monteverde. We did not want to stay in Jaco because of its party reputation. We found out about Bejuco Hotel on the Sam's travel page and got a good deal. We weren't sure what to expect, but were very happy with our stay. The rooms were extremely clean and very large. There were two beds on the first level and 2 more beds up in the loft area, which we did not know about. The pool and restaurant were very nice. We took advantage of the proximity to the beach, only about a 2 minute walk from the hotel.

We saw Scarlet Macaws while we were eating our breakfast!

Room Tip: If you have a lot of kids with you ask for a room with loft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

Hotel Playa Bejuco - it all depends on what you are looking for.
Pros - Peaceful and quiet except for the maintenance work that was going on during our stay. Hotel is not on the beach, but is a short walk from the beach and there is really nothing else to walk to. Family oriented. Restaurant upstairs for dinner - good food at reasonable prices. Refrigerator in rooms.

Cons - very uncomfortable furniture, couldn't get outside to enjoy the back terrace/patio - door wouldn't open which was probably fine because it appeared to need a cleaning and there was nothing out there - no chair, table, etc. Extremely poor dim lighting in rooms and bathrooms - nearly impossible to read. Wifi is spotty in rooms.Minimal amenities - no coffee/tea maker, no conditioner, lotion, just soap and shampoo. Pack accordingly because If you find you need anything you will have to drive to a store. Water in shower is consistently lukewarm, not hot. Drinks at poolside bar are overpriced and expensive.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, New Jersey
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

I stayed here with a large group traveling by bus around CR. I was very impressed with this hotel. The rooms are very large and comfortable with air conditioning and large showers. The common spaces are great, the pool and hot tub area are great for hanging around with comfortable lounges to sit in. The staff was very friendly and responsive to any needs. I very much enjoyed walking out to the soft, black sand beaches that are a few hundred feet away. The staff of the hotel warned me several times though not to carry my valuables, including my phone, wallet or jewels, out to the beach for fear of mugging? I never felt unsafe on the beach but I still heeded their suggestion.
The food from the restaurant is quite good and I really enjoyed drinking a few beverages at the outdoor bar. I would recommend the Playa Bejuco Hotel to anyone looking to stay in this area. It is in a very quiet area but provides everything that you need. I hope my opinion helps you.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2014

The hotel was great is very close to the beach. The service and staff attention is awesome. Definitely I'll return.

The hotel restaurant is a bit pricey at the hotel restaurant, however the quality/price is fair.

You must consider that this area only have this hotel Restaurant and another one. Maybe you'll want to bring your food and be sure your room have one of those small refrigerators (ours had one).

Room Tip: I'm not sure if all rooms have refrigerator but to be consistent with my recommendation of bring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
295 helpful votes 295 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

we had a real treat visiting this hotel, it was absolutely fabulous! Victor built this hotel himself 6 years ago & it has the most amazing decor, the man has real taste. Although we didn't stay, we did have a good look at the different rooms & they were gorgeous, huge beds too & such luxury. It is said that we all have one good book inside of us so I recommend that if you want to write yours then this is the place to do it, such peace & tranquility. The food & drink was real good with much variety on the menu & was a reasonable price, although Victor kindly invited us as his guests. The staff were marvellous & showed us the sloth that lived in a tree on the grounds of the hotel. We hope to return to Costa Rica some day & this is where we shall stay. Thanks for your hospitality Victor, the pleasure was all mine!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

We didn't stay at the hotel, we live close to the hotel. My wife and I go there for date night. The service is great and the food is good. I had the whole red snapper (pargo entero), very nice. I would reccommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Playa Bejuco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Bejuco

Address: Bejuco Beach, Esterillos | Next to Ucr, Esterillos Este 143, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Esterillos Este
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Esterillos Este
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playa Bejuco 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Playa Bejuco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Playa Bejuco Costa Rica/Esterillos Este

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Playa Bejuco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.