We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Playa Bejuco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Playa Bejuco to your Saves list
Hotel Playa Bejuco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bejuco Beach, Jaco Puntarenas, Esterillos Este 143, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Esterillos Este
Dartmouth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Friendly people, clean, nice swimming pool, close to the beach. Breakfest was ok. The restaurant a little bit expensive, I would recomend the hotel. The beach is good for sufers - the waves are too big for swimming.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    28
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
39
52
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San José, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Excellent service with friendly people, really near to the beach.
The food is great (a little bit expensive, but excellent!)
Would be great some palms/umbrellas in the pool!
Bathroom is comfortable but kind of small

I would definitely go again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

The ocean is a block away and IT IS AWESOME!!!!! Quiet, huge, and lovely. Our stay here though very unusual showed the true quality of the owner and staff of this establishment. On the second day of our 2 day stay the power went out at the hotel. The staff was very forthcoming about the status of the fix though it was NOT coming back on. The owner called and had his manager take her cell phone to the guests that were by the pool so that he could personally talk with each guest and give his apologies and assure us everything in his power was being done to fix this problem. The power came back on and the dinner was on the hotel! Speaking of dinner the restaurant here was one of the best I have been to in all of Costa Rica. The chef is special and it is worth a trip here even if you do not stay here.

Room Tip: rooms on the first floor are great did not see the second floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Clean, quiet, very nice swimming pool, very good restaurant, and most helpful staff. Came in very stressed out, tired, and a bit grouchy. They were so nice and helpful. There was a problem with one of the bedside lamps in the room and even though we arrived after 7:00 p.m. they had it fixed in less than an hour. The staff: Mildred, Carlo, Vanessa, and Sandra were great. They normally do not change money and they arranged to do so as we were taking the ferry to the Nicoya Peninsula on Sunday. The beach is lovely and it is only a short drive about 20K up to Jaco to shop and go out to lunch. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights around Christmas. Great location. The restaurant is very good. Helpful staff. The room was a good size for a 4 pers family. Car is necessary to see more than just the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights. It is an excellent location for going to the beach and also for an easy trip to Manuel Antonio or to Carrera National Park. The room was spacious and had air conditioning which was nice. The hotel staff were absolutely wonderful with their kindness, helpfulness, and excellent service. Breakfast is a lot of food. We had dinner in the restaurant all three nights and all of our food was outstanding. We were at the beach early and other days until sunset. Never felt unsafe but we also took very little with us. Even left the room key at the front desk of the hotel. The beach was never crowded and the water felt great. At low tide, it is quite a stretch of empty beach. Again, the staff were so nice. We would highly recommend and return.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel was a great choice for my family and I. The complimentary breakfasts were tasty and filling. the staff were all friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the pool. The rooms were clean and spacious. Prices were reasonable for the room. Ask for specials.

There is a semi tame squirrel on the neighboring property that likes to jump on your shoulder. Carlos, Mildred, and the rest of the staff were always around to fulfill requests.

the beach is a short 2 minute walk from the hotel, and is fairly quiet. We went during the week to avoid crowds, and we only saw 2 or 3 other families on the beach with us.

The restaurant has a good chef. I recommend the pechuga(chicken breast) in salsa Bombay(yellow curry) with banana/pineapple. It was the best curry dish I've had in CR.

All in all, it was a relaxing experience. We will be coming back again in the future.

Matt, Jessica, and Axel

Room Tip: the lower level rooms are probably cooler(temperature wise) than the upper level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Playa Bejuco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Bejuco

Address: Bejuco Beach, Jaco Puntarenas, Esterillos Este 143, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Esterillos Este
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Esterillos Este
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playa Bejuco 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Playa Bejuco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Playa Bejuco Costa Rica/Esterillos Este

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Playa Bejuco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.