We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Playa Bejuco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Playa Bejuco to your Saves list
Hotel Playa Bejuco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bejuco Beach, Jaco Puntarenas, Esterillos Este 143, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Esterillos Este
Dundalk, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent location and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights. It is an excellent location for going to the beach and also for an easy trip to Manuel Antonio or to Carrera National Park. The room was spacious and had air conditioning which was nice. The hotel staff were absolutely wonderful with their kindness, helpfulness, and excellent service. Breakfast is a lot of food. We had dinner in the restaurant all three nights and all of our food was outstanding. We were at the beach early and other days until sunset. Never felt unsafe but we also took very little with us. Even left the room key at the front desk of the hotel. The beach was never crowded and the water felt great. At low tide, it is quite a stretch of empty beach. Again, the staff were so nice. We would highly recommend and return.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    29
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
40
57
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heredia, Costa Rica
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel was a great choice for my family and I. The complimentary breakfasts were tasty and filling. the staff were all friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the pool. The rooms were clean and spacious. Prices were reasonable for the room. Ask for specials.

There is a semi tame squirrel on the neighboring property that likes to jump on your shoulder. Carlos, Mildred, and the rest of the staff were always around to fulfill requests.

the beach is a short 2 minute walk from the hotel, and is fairly quiet. We went during the week to avoid crowds, and we only saw 2 or 3 other families on the beach with us.

The restaurant has a good chef. I recommend the pechuga(chicken breast) in salsa Bombay(yellow curry) with banana/pineapple. It was the best curry dish I've had in CR.

All in all, it was a relaxing experience. We will be coming back again in the future.

Matt, Jessica, and Axel

Room Tip: the lower level rooms are probably cooler(temperature wise) than the upper level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were staying in the EcoVida rental houses right up the street, and ate all our meals at the hotel restaurant. In the morning, we brought fresh fruit, which the staff cut up for us and served us on a platter. We went fishing, brought the fresh mackeral filets to the chef, and they cooked it for us and stored the remainder for future meals. The food is fantastic, and you have to try the creamy sopa de mariscos (seafood chowder)! The staff was unbelievably helpful and really went out of their way for us, especially Mildred the day manager and Carlos, who arranged the fishing.
The beach was always beautiful and never crowded.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Myself and 12 other guys from my church stayed at Hotel Playa Bejuco for the fourth year in a row for 8 days. We were there for a mission trip providing a surf camp to local kids in Jaco, working with Iglesia de Radical in Jaco and using this hotel as our base of operations. The staff is tremendous. As usual Matilda, Carlos, Fraynor and Sandra provided great service. The food (breakfast) was excellent and very fresh. We had dinner there one night and it was excellent. The rooms are very spacious with good air conditioners. Housekeeping did a great job and the entire property is kept very clean and up to date.

We continue to stay at Hotel Playa Bejuco because of it's secluded nature and it's consistent accommodations and service. We love the pool, but wish the Jacuzzi was a hot tub. I look forward to returning next May for our Mission Trip for the fifth year in a row while staying at the Hotel Playa Bejuco. God Bless....

Room Tip: I have stayed in rooms 12, 15 and 20. All have upstairs lofts. These are great rooms with good worki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frainer-Ch, Director Comercial at Hotel Playa Bejuco, responded to this review, November 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your preference to Hotel Playa Bejuco, it is always a pleasure to welcome back our dear guests and have an opportunity to make every next stay even more enjoyable then the previous one.
We strive to distinguish our service by giving importance to little details and anticipation of our guests’ needs and desires and it's wonderful to know that it made your vacation a truly unique experience.

We will be looking forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home, do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance in the future.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We loved our stay! We stayed for 6 nights with our 16 and 13 year old teens. The room was nice and large, our 13 year old loved the loft bed. The AC worked great and the room was very nice clean. Breakfast was Awesome! We ate dinner a few times at the restaurant and loved all the food, especially the seafood spaghetti! The pool was wonderful after long days at the beach. The beach was the best! Lots of body surfing and miles of sand. You are very secluded, which is nice, but we are glad we rented a car and explored Manuel Antonio and Jaco too. All the staff were very friendly but Big Thank You to Mildred for all the info and help renting a car and planning outings.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Before start is good to make a point that this hotel is located in an almost virgin beach, where the tourism is not very developed. The day after we arrived we went to a market to buy a cooler for our beverages (hotel was providing the ice), small chairs and some food to take to the beach. Playa Bejuco is a great beach for surfing and it was great to laid down there, below a tree or in the sand.
With this said, I considered Playa Bejuco hotel a very decent hotel, with great staff and very nice quality service. Breakfast was very good and the hotel restaurant was good as well. The menu had lots of options and meals were tasteful.
The staff was always willing to provide the best service and even they being a simple hotel we felt little spoiled.
Our room was large with a queen bed. The bathroom wasn't very "smart". There was no curtains in the shower and after we showered the floor would be soaked with water.
One day our AC stopped working and they had to bring a person from a nearby town to fix it in the evening. Unfortunately, they didn't had any other available room to accommodate us but they handled very well by paying for our dinner and drinks. It took more than we or they were expecting to have the AC fixed and we had to wait by the pool. But they were being so kind to us that we couldn't feel any frustration about that.
By the way, the pool is great!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Dee and I wanted to thank everyone for making of special day amazing. We could not have asked for a better place to have our destination wedding on the beach. The attention to detail was spot on. All of our guest had nothing but complements for us on the whole experience. They praised the friendliness of the staff, food quality, location, and value for money. We look forward to coming back soon and you will have a special delivery in January we hope you enjoy.

Scott

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Playa Bejuco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Bejuco

Address: Bejuco Beach, Jaco Puntarenas, Esterillos Este 143, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Esterillos Este
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Esterillos Este
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playa Bejuco 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Playa Bejuco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Playa Bejuco Costa Rica/Esterillos Este

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Playa Bejuco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.