We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definately recommended for all bush & wildlife lovers.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Masorini Bush Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Masorini Bush Lodge to your Saves list
Masorini Bush Lodge
22 Silonque Farm, Phalaborwa 1390, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Definately recommended for all bush & wildlife lovers.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

This is a lovely little bushveld hideaway just a few kilometers from the middle of Phalaborwa and Kruger Park Gate. We stayed in unit No.1, a thatched A Frame chalet which was secluded, spacious, comfortable, clean and well equipped for self-catering if required - everything we could want. We are in the hospitality business so when we have a break we like someone else to do the cooking and we enjoyed two lovely two-course dinners and a good breakfast in the central thatched Lapa, personally cooked and served by Margaret while Sean served drinks and kept us entertained. Not that you need to be entertained at the Lapa as the procession of animals, especially my favourites the porcupines, kept us enraptured all evening. We will definately stay here again and recommend it to all bush & wildlife lovers. The access road is quite potholed but we had no problem in a low slung BMW - just take it slowly. Masorini is excellent value and a lovely experience but what makes it really special is the warmth & friendliness of Margaret & Sean - truly five star hosts!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London W6
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We had a lovely 3 night stay whilst exploring the Kruger Park, Margaret and Sean were lovely, preparing a great breakfast and hosting evening drinks as the bush babies, a porcupine couple and water buck male and a warthog and her babies joined us. Rooms were spacious and comfortable.
Only negatives we found were the masorini website advertises charcoal & firelighters supplied but were informed on arrival that hasn't been the case for years, Sean did provide but believe the website needs updating if this is the case, also out of the owners control is the road to the lodge was full of potholes and a car would surley struggle,
Thank you for a lovely stay in your bush lodge.....

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

I stayed there twice within a short period of time. Both times we were really happy with the service the rooms and the entire experience. The people who run this property are lovely and seem to put all their hart in it. The bush is their live and so you can see wild life all over the place. The rooms are clean with a great interior. The hut we had (3,4) also had a kitchen so we did cook one time ourselves. Next time i plan Kruger i will book with them again !

Room Tip: There are only an view huts which have all the same great quality or spot ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Pierre, Reunion Island
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

- Our host, Margaret, who was great with our daughter and made us feel at home
- The variety of wildlife (waterbuck, warthog, bush babies, porcupines) which frequented the bar area throughout the evening
- The spacious rooms/chalets
- The beautiful bush setting
- Choice of drinks at the bar

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Masorini Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masorini Bush Lodge

Address: 22 Silonque Farm, Phalaborwa 1390, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Phalaborwa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Phalaborwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Masorini Bush Lodge is a tranquil hideaway on the outskirts of Phalaborwa. Nestled in the African Bush the lodge offers a relaxing and upmarket stay for the weary traveller. The spacious en-suite rooms offer private patios and self catering facilities. Situated 8km's from Phalaborwa and the Kruger National Park gate, the lodge is also ideally located as a base for a host of activities including game drives, river cruises, golf and many more... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Masorini Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masorini Bush Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.