We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dining out” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kaia Tani Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kaia Tani Guesthouse to your Saves list
Kaia Tani Guesthouse
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Po Box 6, Phalaborwa 1390, South Africa   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Phalaborwa B&B and Inns
Pretoria
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Dining out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Had dinner there recently because we wanted to experience typical Italian cuisine. The main course (two pasta dishes) was entirely unmemorable and expensive (R500 for 2, with tip)! You could do better at half the price at the nearest Mimmo's.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
africanoKruger, Owner at Kaia Tani Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thanks a lot for the review, it helps us to improve.
We are sorry you didn't enjoy our Italian cuisine. We just want to correct you on the price as you paid R 190 per person for a 3-course dinner. Your total bill was R 455 including your drinks.
We believe this is an exellent price for a starter served with bread-Panini, pasta main course and a dessert, all freshly prepared according to Italian recipes. Furthermore there is always olive oil extra virgin and balsamicv vinegar available on the table.
We make use of imported Italian products such as proper prosciutto parma ham and parmiggiano reggiano-cheese.
Again we are sorry you didn't enjoy the dish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    28
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
33
125
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wittenberge, Germany
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We only stayed for one night and can just confirm what others have described before. – very friendly and knowledgeable hosts, welcoming staff, perfect location close to the entrance of Kruger Park and a well maintained garden. The bed / sleep quality was fantastic and the rooms have everything you need for your stay. Our rating would have been in fact excellent if not for the half-height swing doors to the toilet and that there was no permanent flow of hot water. Just when I had shampooed my hair, someone in the adjacent rooms decided to take a shower too, and gone was my hot water, so I had to finish off in cold water. I spoke to Daniela about that and she promised to look into the problem, however, the next morning we didn’t have hot water at all.
And yes, we would stay there again any time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
africanoKruger, Owner at Kaia Tani Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Guest. Thanks a lot for your nice comment. The hot water problem was a once off problem due to the heavy winds on that day and thats why the geyser flame went off. The doors will be replaced in the next months tu fully lenghts doors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perugia, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Kaia Tani, our last South African days and everything has been perfect! The guesthouse has a lovely African atmosphere, I really loved our room!!! And Alberto, Daniela and their staff are so friendly and extremely professional at the same time! They really take care of you and your vacation, from the all-day safaris with Alberto to the yummy dinner you can enjoy as you come back in the evening. I don't know if we'll ever come back to South Africa, but it really worths to spend some time at Kaia Tani!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed just one night at this quaint guesthouse en route into Kruger. What a little gem with amazing lush & tranquil gardens. On arrival we were promptly attented to, shown to our room, then shown around the facilities and before long enjoying a welcome refreshment in the lovely bar & lounge area.

When we arrived Daniela was out on an excursion with some foreign guests so we only got to meet her in the early evening, what an engaging & interesting lady!

The rooms are super & as a previous reviewer says, each with their own character & furnished in true "African" style, comfortable and with all the necessary extras.

Our 3 course dinner was freshly prepared and very scrumptious, the service again fantastic. The breakfast early the next morning was also wonderful & more than plenty with the hot offering made to order.

Overall a fabulous little place & I could see why overseas guests are more than happy to base thenselves out of this guesthouse for longer stays whilst seeing the surrounding sights. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Stayed here two years ago as solo traveler and just had to come back this time around. First time in beautiful weather, this time in torrential downpours - but weather doesn't matter here: it's still a great little spot! Rooms are not just rooms, they have their own separate identity. Meals are not just meals, they are delicious creations of art. Owners are friendly and know the park, as they are trained guides - Alberto is usually first through the park gates every morning! And the location is great, just outside the park gates.

Don't expect a buffet breakfast if you plan on leaving at 6am - the breakfast bar is there with tea, coffee, rusks and cookies, but that's it. Just stock up the day before at the shops with fruit and other goodies and head into the park for the best morning experiences - after all, most visit to experience the fantastic Kruger NP, not to eat, right? :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We only stayed there one night but it was one of our favorite stops on our vacation in Africa. Such a cute, quaint little place and Daniela was so friendly and helpful. Great location as well as it is very close to the gates to Kruger National Park.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

There was no breakfast. The manager said she will organise for us to have breakfast at 6am but there was nothing the next day at 6am and nobody around, the reception was locked and nobody inside.
I tried to walk around the back of the building to find staff and I repeatedly shouted to see if anyone was there but there was no reply. We left at 6:30am to go to Kruger National Park. Breakfast is included in the price so I would have liked to ask for my money back but there was nobody at reception at 6:30am and I had to leave.
I think it was the cook's fault for not waking up for work.
Otherwise the manager and staff were nice when we checked in, and the accommodation was comfortable and good.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kaia Tani Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaia Tani Guesthouse

Address: Po Box 6, Phalaborwa 1390, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Phalaborwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Phalaborwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaia Tani Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Kaia Tani Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaia Tani Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.