We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Kupong” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lavalon Hostel & Bar

Save Saved
You added Lavalon Hostel & Bar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lavalon Hostel & Bar
Sumatera No :44, Kupang 85229, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Beaumont, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Kupong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Thank you very much to Mr Edwin Lerrick, the owner of this really good place, the best in Kupong. He is full of informations and will do for you all he can to make your stay there the best as possible.The new rooms are now finished, it's really clean with bathroom, aircon and fan for a very good price compare to the hotels around. And the ambiance is really friendly, the food is really good, things not easy to find in Kupong ! He also have an excellent internet connection. We recommande this place to anyone coming here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
10
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

After several weeks of rough travelling in Sumba and on the way to Rote, we had to stay in Kupang for a night and were lucky to find this place. We were staying in the first room with a beutiful sea view, extremely comfortable bed, hot shower and option for fan or ac. Lavalon has also a good working wifi and breakfast included to the room rate. The food in the restaurant is delicious, especially the burgers! Lavalon has also nice area where to hang out in the front with sea view and Edvin (the owner) is very helpful and can organize many things for you.

Besides the friendly staff and cozy place, the location of Lavalon is good, since it is just walking distance to many restaurants, atm's, night market etc. Definitely would recommend for anyone the place, the room was one of the best we've stayed in Indonesia and the athmosphere was great. Booking at advance might be a good idea, since the place is usually full.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

After staying in Lavalon off and on for my two week trip between West Timor and Rote Island, I only have good things to say about this place.
The location is perfect- right on the water, near the night market (a must for cheap, delicious food!), and only about 15-20 minutes from the airport and ferry.
The rooms are basic, but immaculately clean and comfortable. There are options in choosing rooms (because it's such a great place, it's usually pretty booked up, so if you have a specific rom request, try to do it in advance!). I stayed in the room behind the dorm, with two double beds, AC, and shared bathroom, and have no complaints about it.
The nicest room is the one in the front, with sea views, private bathroom, and hot shower. Although Edwin (the owner) offered the room to me multiple times, I never stayed there simply because I wanted the couples who were also there to enjoy it, rather than me alone.
Again, only heard good things about it from them afterwards.
The food is awesome. I'm a vegetarian, so unfortunately I didn't try the infamous burger- but my travel buddy couldn't get enough of it. She also loved the barbecued chicken. I personally favored the nasi, mie, and omelette. They're all simply done, but not greasy, and very fresh.

If you're coming to Kupang, don't bother looking for another place to stay. Lavalon has everything you need- from standard accommodation amenities, to car rental, airport tickets, Wifi, and ferry booking. This truly was our home away from home on our trip.
Edwin is awesome- extremely generous and hard working to ensure each guest's 100% satisfaction. He will help you with any question, problem, or side trip- and he won't stop until it's figured out.
He allowed for us to leave our bigger bags at Lavalon while we went up to the mountains, and again when we went to Rote- not asking for any added fee, or making any complaints. When we got back from both trips, we were greeted warmly with a big, "Welcome home!"
And i have to say, it really did feel that way.

Room Tip: Book in advance if you have a specific room request!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

As I've mentioned in previous reviews, the are plenty of good and reasonable places to stay along this seaside strip in Kupang, Lavalon however is a cut above.
First off the rooms are new, we stayed in one of the double rooms, it had a lovely new clean feel and smell, the bathroom had a nice stone effect, the toilet was great and flushed and the shower was incredible. By far the best shower in Indonesia, I'd forgotten how refreshing and comforting a warm power shower could be it had been so long since I'd had one, Lavalon provided!
The bed was also verb comfortable and large. There is a brand new and very effective fan in the middle of the room, it wasn't too hot during our time in Kupang and as such we didn't use the air con, and the excellent owner Edwin therefore didn't charge us for air con we got a fan rate:150,000rp. The room was also relatively quiet considering its proximity to the bar and the road. Not a problem at all. There was no hassle the next day when we had to wait for an afternoon flight, Edwin let us chill in the room, ( no strict check out time) we left our bags there, spent the day lounging chatting eating the home made and delicious burgers, until the taxi Edwin and his crew had arranged picked us up to drop us off at Kupang airport.
The bar is also the happening spot, and it just makes everyone friendly. We didn't go a day without having a good conversation with other fellow travellers or expats each sharing invaluable experiences and information of the area!
If we ever come back to Kupang we will stay nowhere else. Book in advance if you can as there are only 2 private rooms.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kep, Cambodia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

...for good rest, information, food, and company. Edwin and his staff are super helpful with all your needs. I have stayed there on 4 occasions over the last 6 weeks as my transit "home base" for eastern Indonesia travel, returning for longer stays each visit. I enjoy the atmosphere, the friendly staff, great coffee, and spot on information. The few rooms are new and very clean, super comfortable beds, AC,and wi-fi. The simple commons area, overlooking the bay, has fresh sea breezes and a great view for your enjoyment while eating his infamous burger or other great food. And a new addition, his dart board, gets everyone together for some spirited games. Go to Lavalon; you will enjoy your stay. I will miss them as I have moved on, but I look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

After moving to Lavalon due to having a bad experiance at another hotel we fell in love with the place. Edwin, Emry and Jeremy are brilliant. What Edwin does not know really is not worth knowing about. We stayed for 12 days and had the best time they really know how to look after you. The food is great and they even make their own Burger buns for the home made burgers, Best in Kupang. We are coming back in 6 months and this is our first port of call.
The rooms are clean with hot water and you get a free pancake and juice for breakfast. And the wifi is the best around.
Thanks Edwin and the crew see you soon..

Room Tip: Doubles with aircon or fan - Amazing Twin room with aircon or fan- Amazing 4 Dorm bed with fan but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I was forced to stay in West Timor four days, waiting for my Timor-Leste visa. But thanks to Lavalon, it was a most pleasant stay. Lavalon Bar is THE place where backpackers meet and have fun - along with crazy retired Australians, who settled in Kupang. Edwin Lerrick, the owner, really sacrifices himself for the tourist and is working hard to make the hostel even better. Enjoy clean accomodation, cheap and tasty food and fast internet!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lavalon Hostel & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavalon Hostel & Bar

Address: Sumatera No :44, Kupang 85229, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > West Timor > Kupang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty lodging in Kupang
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Lavalon Hostel & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lavalon Hostel & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.