We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“service as perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel RIU Jalisco

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 7 more sites!
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av.de los Cocoteros, sn-Lote K, 63732, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Turn Spring Around!
Ranked #48 of 82 hotels in Riviera Nayarit
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“service as perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This was a life time trip but too short. Service was great. employees were all customer service
oriented.only thing i did not liked there was water in rooms ie. no hot water for bath.overall. we
enjoyed our trip with their great hospitality.

Room Tip: Take room away from stage show place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,904 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    821
    1,048
    486
    333
    216
See reviews for
755
780
22
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed in the hotel Nov. 4-11. We had excellent time at RIU Jalisco this year again, this is our second stay at this hotel. I want to mention that my request for the room on upper floor, in quiet area was kindly granted. The check in went fast and smoothly. The room looked very good, clean and pillows were soft this time. The food was good, fresh, and there was never lack of food in spite of large crowd on the weekend. All the staff is extremely friendly, trying to please guests. However, I want to say that one bartender at Botana bar did not want to make good drinks. His name is Everardo. I asked him for a pinacolada, and he put some alcohol in the glass, then added some juice without mixing it and handed to me. When I asked him to make a real drink, he did with a reluctant look on his face. Since the bar is on the beach, the next day we went for a drink again and he did the same, just dropped the liquids in the glass. So, we decided not to go to Botana bar because of this guy. We went to the pool bar where all the bartenders were excellent. In spite of this little event, I would rate this hotel as a 5 star.
Yes, hotel gets crowded on the weekends and it is a bit overwhelming but the locals were friendly and hotel handles all people well.
We will go back and we would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I love RIU All-Inclusive Resorts. They feel a little more luxurious than others- except for this one. The resort looked old and outdated. There were bugs or fleas in my sisters' room in the sink area. There were fleas or bugs on all the lounge chairs around the pool and beach and the open theatre. We all got bit like crazy. This one felt like a regular resort.

But I do have to say that their service was great. All personnel was excellent and took care of all our needs. The food was excellent. Entertainment was excellent.

There was13 of us on this family vacation. All in all, we still had a great time and it was a good value for what we paid.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We booked a last minute trip to this resort. After reading the reviews we were a bit hesitant to book. They were either really good or really bad. As for the amount of locals...if you don't want to see Mexicans...don't go to Mexico! I agree that on the weekend it got quite crowded which in turn would make the resort less clean. However, during the week there was a good amount of guests. The shows did focus more on the locals and were not in English all the time but again...you're in Mexico so I'm not sure why you would expect any different.

My husband and I brought our 2 month old son. We found all the staff very accomodating and helpful. For the most part (besides the weekend) the resort was very clean and well kept.

As for the food...we did not enjoy the snack buffet on the beach as there were a lot of birds flying in the restaurant and near the food. However, at night when it turned into the steak house it was very nice. The rest of the restaurants and buffets were very good. We really enjoyed the food. The Brazilian restaurant was very good. The sports bar was nice and always empty. It was a great place to get a coffee and baileys in the morning and some snacks in the afternoon. It would be a great place to spend a rainy day if you get one while on vacation.

The rooms were clean and a good size. The liquor dispenser in the room was a nice change. The fridge was filled up sporadically but when needed we just called and it was filled. The pillows are not very comfortable but certainly not something that would ruin your trip.

The beach was nice and you were always able to get a beach chair. The weekends were a bit more challenging with all the people but you would always manage. My husband and I both saw sting rays in the water on seperate occasions which made me a bit nervous. The numerous amount of beautiful palm trees made the views just that much better. We watched the sunset almost everyday!

All in all it was a great holiday. We would return to this resort, we would just make sure to miss the weekend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

First trip to a Riu in Mexico and I was very happy with the service, the grounds and the beach. The room was very comfortable and spacious. Food was especially tasty. Great cooks. You can eat something different every day, especially the Brazillian a la carte. Waiters, waitresses and housekeeping staff just awesome. Thanks to the entertainment staff also. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I did read up on this hotel and the beauty of it won me over . Big mistake . The locals will ruin your trip . I had never been to mexico and will never go back. The hotel and staff were great and the food was good. Not great but better than Cuba. We go to Jamaica and Cuba every year and this trip to what was a high star resort was a big mistake. We got there on a friday night and the place was 80 per cent locals until Monday. Tues. through Thursday 50 per cent locals . Not nice sweet locals like other places nasty gross locals . Kids cleaned there drink cups in the pool , so many gross things going on in the pools and no rules. There was signs but they don`t even read them. Tons of screaming kids and 60 per swim in there street clothes. Even the Adults swim in shorts and tops and a few in pants. They eat almost in the pool even when it says no food in pool area. Fries were floating in the water .They butt in at the buffet and are just rude. Kids are left unattended and grap food with there hands and put things back. Too many things to list but you saw this every single day. How to ruin a good looking resort.

Room Tip: Upgrade from a reg. room in less you like being nude in front of whoever you share a room with. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful all inclusive resort, handles crowds very well. We visited at the end of October for 9 days.
•A superb check in, gave our name and were given a package with all needed material in it and a welcome ice cold drink.
• A sticker with our room number was placed on our luggage and brought up by the bellboy.
•rooms nice, very clean, great air condoning.
•beds and pillows are a little too firm, but slept well regardless.
•balcony off each bedroom with chairs and a table
•because of the open design of the hotel the noise echoes badly from hallways into rooms. TAKE earplugs!!!
•staff did not expected tips at all, but when we did tip it was appreciated.
•best meals we've ever experienced on a holiday.
•every Friday to Monday the hotel becomes extremely busy with local people. Hotel handles all the people well but we were taken aback by the rudeness of the locals shown to us and to staff members. This is the only reason we will not go back to this resort WAY too overwhelming.
•beach was great, always enough chairs, yes you have to pay for an umbrella but there is enough shade under the massive palm trees on the beach if you that is what you desire.
•I would recommend this hotel to you if crowds do not bother you, you are deaf or you travel with ear plugs!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ClubHotel RIU Jalisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel RIU Jalisco

Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Jalisco Hotel
Clubhotel Riu Jalisco Riviera Nayarit
Address: Av.de los Cocoteros, sn-Lote K, 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Riviera Nayarit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel RIU Jalisco 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* In Riviera Nayarit, overlooking the Pacific Ocean * Located on Playa de Flamingos beach, 2 km / 1.5 miles from Nuevo Vallarta * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 5-story building * 2 km / 1.25 miles from various shops * 13 km / 8 miles from the airport * 300 m / 990 ft. from Flamingos Golf Club * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your ClubHotel RIU Jalisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel RIU Jalisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added ClubHotel RIU Jalisco to your Saves list