We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation... Ignore bad reviews.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. de los Cocoteros, Lote Hotelero G | Nuevo Vallarta - Nayarit, 63732, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 86 Hotels in Riviera Nayarit
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Vacation... Ignore bad reviews.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We received a complimentary upgrade to an ocean view room upon check in. That was a nice surprise.

The service is top notch. Tip the staff, it goes a very long way. They remember you.

Great Location. Great Beach. Don't expect crystal blue water... Its on the pacific side, what do you expect- it's not the Caribbean sea. A beautiful beach.

Immaculate hotel and grounds. People have commented on the restrooms being far from the pool. NOT AT ALL. It's by the pool. Go down the steps right below the buffet and next to the Spa.

Food is good. Favorite specialty restaurants: Krystal and Kyoto.

Entertainment team was wonderful... Especially the entertainment manager Pepe and Neto. So energetic and fun. Good shows every night. Really enjoyed the "crazy show".

We walked to Bucerias one morning. Its about a 40 minute walk down the beach. We didn't like it. Flea market with everyone trying to get you to buy their merchandise.

If you're looking for a relaxing vacation, with a great staff, entertainment, food and good drinks the RIU PALACE PACIFICO is highly recommended.

Room Tip: High floor. It is a bit noisy if you have a courtyard room but only until 11 PM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,117
    541
    173
    59
    54
See reviews for
492
1,066
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

My wife and I and another couple stayed here may 4 through may 11 and we found it to be amazing .my wife and I have been to mexico 6 times now so we have a feel for the all inclusive resorts and we found this hotel met all our needs and then some .the staff is so hard working and you can tell that they really try to please everyone .I emailed the hotel a week before going to request our rooms to be on the same floor as the couple that came with us and to be on 5th floor and higher and they accommodated us plus gave us a partial ocean view .food in buffet was very good with lots of variety and always had a full plate.we only did 2 ala cartes dinners steakhouse was the best with their seafood appies and I was the only one who liked the fusion restaurant in our party.
The ppol was very nice and refreshing and there seemed to be enough loungers for everyone but there is the towel game played here for the best spots .one thing that I think they are lacking in is they don't have enough umbrellas and people or workers will come and take yours when you are not looking.also there is a shortage of washrooms for the beach and pool.you have to walk to lobby or under the stairs by the buffet and the tiles are slippery when they are wet.overall though we would not hesitate to come back to this hotel definitely worth the money that you spend and they showed hockey playoffs in the spirtsbar which was fun .

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Let me begins by saying that we have stayed at a number of RIU properties and had never had a negative experience. That changed at the Palace Pacifico. We had a couple of incidents of little things, in our room, that disappeared..ie: amenities, inexpensive spices. Etc. I had decided to report these events when I discovered all of my costume jewellery had been taken out of one of the drawers. It was in a zippered cosmetic bag. Our "good things" were in the safe.

I reported the theft. I then had to track down the manager afterward to get any information. The security department determined it was one of two employees but could not accuse them of anything. The third time we went to the front desk to speak to the manager there was another theft being reported. When my husband made the observation that he could set up an office in the lobby the manager (Alexander Martin) said that was my husband's right but it was also his (Mr. Martin's) right to ask us to leave the hotel!

We were told to deal with the customer services office...in Spain. They did absolutely nothing for us. They also refuse to give me a copy of my report (for insurance purposes) they said it is their internal document.

Our group had 5 rooms of those three rooms has items stolen by staff.

I would highly recommend NOT going to this resort.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

just returned from r/p/pacifico 5/4-5/11. this was our 3rd trip to mexico and our 3rd riu palace it was the smallest but the nicest. the rooms are a little smaller but just as nice as the larger ones. the resort was very clean the staff were unbelievable doing any thing to help. the food was very good in the buffet, and the ala carte were also great. we did the Japanese, Mexican and the steak house. the pool area was again very clean plenty of chairs and towels. if we had to complain about something it would be the slow service by the pool. (big deal). when we travel we never stay at the same resort twice, however this will be the exception.

Room Tip: rooms with an odd number face the courtyard and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Mo.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

As travel agents my wife and I frequent the Caribbean and Mexico. We have stayed at virtually every hotel chain and we find the "Riu" hotels to be the "best bang for the buck." The cleanliness, the decor of the hotel, the food varieties, the service, and the manager/guest relations are excellent. Are there better hotels? Yes, but at twice the price. There will always be those that write negative reviews. It usually amounts to a confrontation, an unmet expectation, a trivial matter that gets blown out of proportion and results in an attitude that sees everything henceforth as derogatory and victimized. We are discerning travelers and my wife likes the "niceties" of a quality hotel. We highly recommend the hotel Riu Palace Pacifico and give it a 5 overall rating. This property is located on Flamingo beach. While the water is not as clear as Cancun because of the rivers nearby that flow into Bandares Bay, it is none the less gorgeous. This is "old Mexico" at its best. Tucked away beneath the Sierra Madre mountains, Puerto Vallarta has one of the best sunsets going. Check out San Sebastian, an old mining town 5000 feet high in the mountains if you get the opportunity.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed at the Riu Palace from April 9 - April 13, 2014. After many trips to Mexico this was our first visit to Puerto Vallarta and likely not to be the last. The resort was beautiful, the rooms were nice and the food was good. We enjoyed the pool area and pool bar area was very unique - basically a full underwater bar. The bar service around the pool could be slow at times, but hey, you are on vacation, relax and have fun! The hotel was more modern than some others you will find in Mexico, but we enjoy experiencing the different look and feel of the various resorts. It is also just a short walk down the beach to the sister resorts. We still prefer the Carribbean side, but will be back here again.

Room Tip: We had the full ocean view which was fantastic, but it looked like most of the rooms would have a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My family of 5, 3 teens and 2 adults stayed at the Riu Palace Pacifico April 19 through the 26th. We booked our trip through Apple Vacations and from the charter flight, airport transfers, check in everything was seamless and as promised. The hotel is around 20 minutes from the airport, and the beach in front of the hotel is one of the best in Nayarit and lined with Palm trees. The hotel was kept very clean with staff constantly working on mopping floors, dusting chandeliers etc. Our room was a junior suite, on the top floor , and partial ocean view. Rooms were well furnished and mini fridge was stocked with bottled water, sodas, and beer. There was also a dispenser with tequila etc. Everything was part of the all inclusive fee which also included room service. Bathrooms and furniture were up to date and we had a balcony which had 2 chairs and clothes line affixed to the wall to hang wet clothing which was great. Specialty restaurants included the steak house, Krystal, Mexican, and Japanese. You should make reservations for the specialty restaurants at the start of your trip so you are able to enjoy them all. My family preferred Krystal and the steak house. The restaurants had two seating times which were 6:30pm and 8:30 pm. My family usually chose the 8:30pm reservation because it allowed us to eat dinner and then attend the nightly show at 10pm in the hotel theatre. Since the hotel is half hour from Puerto Vallarta, we usually chose to stay at the hotel at night and watch the shows which included a Michael Jackson review, a Mexican show, and audience participation show.
The hotel provides free rentals of catamaran but you need to put your name in early to get it at the time you want to use it. It was a great way to see the Bay of Banderas because the current and wind conditions were ideal. My teens played volleyball everyday with other hotel guests, participated in activities that were organized by the hotel entertainers, and became friends with the hotel activities' entertainers and would have lunch with them. The food at the hotel had a large variety and combined with the specialty restaurants, there was plenty to choose from. Our family did two excursions one to Puerto Vallarta and the Extreme Adventure in the Sierra Madres which included zip lining, Atvs , water slide, and hiking. Old Puerto Vallarta is very pretty, lots of shops, tequila factories, and restaurants. Taxi to the city from the hotel for 5 people was $40 each way. The Extreme Adventure was great and our teens enjoyed it. Only do this excursion if you are adventurous. Riu palace in Riviera Nayarit provided our family a great vacation and the setting where it is located in the Bay of Banderas is beautiful.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the higher floors and that has at least partial ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico

Address: Av. de los Cocoteros, Lote Hotelero G | Nuevo Vallarta - Nayarit, 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Riviera Nayarit
#11 Luxury Hotel in Riviera Nayarit
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Riviera Nayarit
#14 Spa Hotel in Riviera Nayarit
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Riviera Nayarit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico 4*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* In Riviera Nayarit, overlooking the Pacific Ocean * Located on Playa de Flamingos beach, 2 km / 1.5 miles from Nuevo Vallarta * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 9-storey building * 5 km / 3.1 miles from various shops * 13 km / 8 miles from the airport * 1 km / 0.6 miles from Flamingos Golf Club * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Pacifico Hotel Riviera Nayarit
Riu Palace Pacifico Nuevo Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.