We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could Not Have Been Better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. de los Cocoteros, Lote Hotelero G | Nuevo Vallarta - Nayarit, 63732, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 86 Hotels in Riviera Nayarit
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Could Not Have Been Better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed at the Riu Palace Pacifico in December, 2012. Greeted with a welcome drink at check-in which was very fast. The rooms are exceptionally clean and well appointed. The staff works hard to meet all your vacation needs. The food is excellent in the la Penisula, buffet. Lots of variety and seemed to be different every evening. The food and service at the steakhouse restaurant, Tuscano, was fabulous. The bar service was outstanding at all the locations, especially the beach service. The overall cleanliness of the resort is immaculate, staff are always dusting, mopping and sweeping. This Riu had the most friendly and accommodating staff I have ever encountered. There was never any problem to get a beach chair or pool chair anytime during my stay. The beach area is beautiful and you can walk for miles. It is fun and safe to take the local bus into Bucerias or the Malecon in PV. This was a wonderful 2 week stay and wiil definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,115
    541
    173
    59
    54
See reviews for
492
1,064
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (568)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this resort from Jan. 04th to 11th. As many other folks here already said, the resort is great and service is above great. Everyone is nice, helpful and extremely customer’s service oriented. The hotel, rooms and the common areas are super-clean, and is being cleaned all the time. The beach is good and there are no rocks like in some other places in the same area. However, if you are into swimming, you may be out of luck, since the water is not clear at all, and your swimming skills have to be pretty good because of the strong underwater current and waves. But don't be discouraged - grab a bogey board (free to use) and enjoy mini-surfing.

If you like long walks, the property of the resort is very small, and other than what you see on the picture (pool area and front gardens) there is no really place to walk after dinner. So, most of the people hang out at the bar :) As far as the restaurants are concerned, the food is typical resort food. If you enjoy fine gourmet food, I would recommend you to pre-book the ala-carte restaurants. Otherwise, you will be choosing from a huge variety of "just ok" type of food. To book the ala-carte restaurants you have to see customer service desk in the morning at around 8-9. Otherwise, you won't get a sit. Tip: you can book 2 nights at the same time. "Chrystal" is the best of them, followed by "Kyoto". Mexican was just fine, not bad. We didn't try "La Toscana" for the reason that we didn't like the buffet in this restaurant during the day and therefore had no trust for it as a "stake house". Attention wine connoisseurs (and I want to underline "connoisseurs"): you out of luck - the wine selection is awful, but for majority of people it's just fine. All in all, we had a good time, and all above are just comments rather than complain.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, British Coumbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We escaped rainy Vancouver, BC and took the Sunwings flight for 5 hrs.directly to Puerto Vallarta and then skipped the bus and took a cab to the hotel to avoid the check-in crowd. The hotel was impressive with a huge Xmas tree made with red and white poinsiettas in the huge lobby.There was signs of Xmas everywhere but not too much to be annoying. Nueva Vallarta has much cleaner beaches than PV and good for walking and swimming. The staff were great all around and meals were excellent (even the buffet) but specially their theme restaurants which has to be booked ahead for one of their 2 seatings. The Riu has plenty of activities including a restaurant tour as one wonders what happens to all the wasted buffet food. I made the choice of eating only fruit for breakfast, salad for lunch and usually fish for dinner. Figured the Pina Coladas served around the pool all day were giving me enough calories.Didn't gain a pound!!
***beware the lock on the door!. You close it and think it's locked but it isn't. You have to pull it twice. A lady on our floor had her purse,ID and jewellery stolen. There is a safe in the room.
Also the hotel has a bar in the room but they would not put your favourite in it but again, it is free in the bars downstairs.Bottled water was always replaced. Except for tips, everything is included and we thought for $4800, for two for 2 weeks, it was a very good deal. Avoid PV and visit Bucerias which is like what PV was 30 yrs ago and much closer. Learn to say "Nada" and don't buy the silver!

Room Tip: We stayed in rm 7067 which was perfect as it had a great partial view of the beach and was away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St-Hyacinthe
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We were there dec 29 thru jan 6 with our two kids (20 & 16) and we really enjoyed this hotel. It is very clean, the food is good and everybody is very helpful. We had two junior suites that were not facing the beach because we didn't want to pay the extra charge; and frankly we're glad we did so because our rooms were on the right side of the hotel with balconies from wich the view was beautiful. We could see the ocean, the bay and the mountains, and it was sunny all day.

One little tip: although they say that you are not allowed to reserve chairs by the pool and on the beach, everybody does so. So if you want chairs when the hotel is full, you better go between 8 or 9 to get towels and but them on the chairs you want.

One little downside: the activities at nights are not very elaborate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at the Riu Palace Pacifico from Dec 31-Jan 7. Although the weather was rainy for about a day and half, the remainder of the week was beautiful and sunny.

We travelled with Sunquest/Signature Vacations from Toronto. The flight down was uneventful. Once we arrived in Mexico, the customs was extremely slow--there was only one person working but I am guessing this had something to do with New Years Eve.

The check-in was amazing--so smooth and no problems. We didn't ask nor pay for an upgrade room and the room was fine--looking out more to the mountains but we could see the ocean. The room itself was nice. We called a couple of times to the front desk for things and they arrived so fast, we couldn't believe it. They were extremely efficient.

The buffet was OK--resort buffet. There was a big NYE buffet and each night they had something different. The service was great. We had dinner at the Mexican restaurant one night and it was great. The service overall was amazing. People really should remember to tip when they are travelling--just the same as if you would tip when you go to restaurants etc here.

The one problem is the amount of seat-saving that happens. If you don't rush to get a chair in the morning---you will not get one. It was pretty busy over New Years so you had to wake up early to get seats. The pool was a little disgusting only because of the people in the pool--tipping drinks etc. Always the same with swim up bars. We spent the entire time at the beach.

Entertainment was pretty weak. The resort was very quiet at night.

For the money, it was a nice place--nice beach--great waves--OK food. Service great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband and i stayed at the resort dec 9- 16. We have stayed at resorts in the riviera maya and Nuevo Vallarta, I don't understand the issue with the washrooms, we stayed at paradise village 3 times for 2 wks each and the gran Bahia principe akumal. We don't understand the problem with the washrooms at all, as our past experiences I don't recall there being a washroom on the beach, they were all equally assasable. We had experienced the non-inclusive experience with paradise village, liked the other resort, but fell in live with the RIU palace. We ate fresh fish and seafood at every meal. The after hours buffet as just as good, if not better, than the regular one. Be prepared to enjoy the experience as if you are away from home, we like that the food is a bit different, the language and the surroundings. The resort was beautiful and the staff were amazing!!!!! We found it easy to make reservations. We also took advantage of the professional photographer in site and had pictures taken on the beach at sunset, amazing!!! I think the problems other people of had are that they are not picking out the resort they are looking for. If you want to party and stay up all night I'd go to cancan. If you want a nice, relaxing all-inclusive resort that has great service I'd stay here. It is close to the airport but always in from puerto Vallarta. If you want a night life stay in puerto Vallarta or go to cancan. We even kept our patio doors open all night!!! We will be returning to RIU Pacifica for sure?!! Can't wait!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manaitoba, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Pro's - gorgeous property, beautiful rooms, comfortable beds, amazingly clean, abundant friendly service, good food and great location!

Con's - watered down or cheap liquor in brand name bottles - hint: when a new bottle is opened you can always hear it crack. No bathrooms close to beach. Gift shop carries almost nothing - clothing mostly - I have never been in a resort giftshop that didn't have a few personal effect items that a traveller may have forgotten - toothpaste, deodorant, antacids, pain killers, feminine hygiene products, anything...

Would definitely book a Riu Palace again!

Room Tip: We were in rooms 7023 and 7024 - Junior Suite partial ocean view - amazing location - quiet (almost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico

Address: Av. de los Cocoteros, Lote Hotelero G | Nuevo Vallarta - Nayarit, 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Riviera Nayarit
#11 Luxury Hotel in Riviera Nayarit
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Riviera Nayarit
#14 Spa Hotel in Riviera Nayarit
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Riviera Nayarit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico 4*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* In Riviera Nayarit, overlooking the Pacific Ocean * Located on Playa de Flamingos beach, 2 km / 1.5 miles from Nuevo Vallarta * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 9-storey building * 5 km / 3.1 miles from various shops * 13 km / 8 miles from the airport * 1 km / 0.6 miles from Flamingos Golf Club * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Pacifico Hotel Riviera Nayarit
Riu Palace Pacifico Nuevo Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.