We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Miss This One!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 3 Bears Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elora
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
3 Bears Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added 3 Bears Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
568 South River Road, Elora, Ontario N0B 1S0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Elora B&B and Inns
North Tonawanda, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This One!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We were looking for a first class bed & breakfast to enjoy a few days of relaxing. I came across the 3 Bears Bed & Breakfast website and was quite impressed with the way it was all presented. We easily booked on-line for several days in July, 2014 and hoped that the web photos would show a true picture of the B&B. They certainly did! We were very impressed with the greeting from Garrett and Melanie who offered us a glass of champagne after we settled in. It all started as a business relationship but by the time we left I can truly say it was now a friendship.

We booked the Baby Bear room which was exceptionally clean and the room was well appointed. We enjoyed a nice view from our windows to the rear yard. The private bath, just across the hall from our room, was spotless and featured a rain shower head in the glass enclosed shower. Soft bath robes were available in the bath closet.

The common area (the Chart Room) featured a billiard table, flat screen TV with DVD player, dart board, piano and the most interesting family photos on the walls. This room opens to a large covered deck featuring wrought iron table and chairs. Seat cushions are stored in a weatherproof box on the deck. The rear yard featured beautiful gardens, a fire pit with Adirondack chairs and just feet away from a swift moving, brown trout laden creek.

Breakfast was not your usual continental style servings of muffins, bagels or juice but an absolutely gourmet experience we haven’t enjoyed in a long time. During our stay Garrett prepared fresh, sliced fruit, muffins and homemade jams, blends of fruit juices and featured Eggs Florentine and Eggs Benedict among other entrées. It was a pleasurable gastronomic experience! Very impressive!

Do you get the idea? Best B&B we have ever stayed at. Book early!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
17
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pickering, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

So happy to have discovered Garrett and Melanie at the 3 Bears. Incomparable hospitality, meals and comfort.
We'll be back! Next time we will stay for two nights - one was too short a time. We were 6 women having a reunion so we took up all three rooms - each one was perfect.
Virginia

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My wife surprised me by whisking me away from the big city for a night in the countryside. This property is fabulous...a full acre away from the main road and backing on to the river. The host and hostess are most gracious, the breakfast excellent and proximity to the beautiful town of Elora and the Gorge is perfect. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: We stayed in the poppa bear room...nice and quiet due to the fact it's at the far end of the hal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

As a birthday gift I purchased a day on the river Fly fishing for my husband and booked into the 3 Bears B&B for the weekend. Needless to say I wanted it to be perfect, and it was. Garret and Melanie were the perfect hosts providing everthing that we needed, a beautiful room, amazing breakfast and a spectacular view of the river. We will definately return and will be recomending it to anyone interested in staying in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Had a great stay at 3 Bears, our first, and will be returning. A warm welcome, a glass of champagne, a beautiful home with many unique touches, and a nice room with comfy beds. The grounds are beautiful, right on the river, and we could have relaxed on the deck for the whole day! Breakfast was a treat - every morsel was delicious. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Papa Bear room was very comfortable and has direct access to outside as well as private bathroom wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the 3 Bears for her 30th birthday. Due to a last minute cancellation we ended up being the only guests. From the get go Garrett and Melanie were warm, welcoming and attentive. We headed into Elora during the day and Melanie provided us with maps to get onto the trailway. Whilst out we'd meant to get a bottle of wine to enjoy in the evening but unfortunately missed the LCBO's closing time (take note - Elora's LCBO closes at 6pm every day). We returned after dinner and sat out on the porch with a glass of water each. Garrett, with impeccable timing, came by and offered us both some wine instead - I think he may have latent psychic powers!
Breakfast the next morning a fantastic assortment of fresh fruit, homemade jams, tarts and toast and meant we didn't have to eat until dinner that evening. After we had packed our bags we wanted to head back into Elora before our bus departed so Garrett dropped us off in town.
All in all I would would highly recommend staying at the 3 Bears - not only for its stunning location and surroundings, but more so for the care and warmth its two hosts provide. We will most certainly be back! :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stated one night at this B&B. We really enjoyed it. We had the Baby Bear room and it was perfect. The private bathroom, which is outside the room, was recently renovated. There is also a TV which is connected to Netflix. The house is nicely decorated and there is a place to relax. Outside there is a beautiful yard with view on the river.

The owners were really nice and made sure we feel comfortable. The breakfast was amazing. I definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 3 Bears Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 Bears Bed & Breakfast

Address: 568 South River Road, Elora, Ontario N0B 1S0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Elora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Elora
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On an acre of mature cedars and gardens between Elora and Fergus, 3 Bears lies directly on the banks of the Grand River, with a rare sloping walk-down to one of its most scenic and best fly fishing stretches. All guest rooms have en-suite or private bathrooms. Amenities include pool table, piano, laptop with free wireless internet, in-room TV with HD cable, fresh flowers, stemware, bathrobes and nightly turn-down. Full gourmet breakfasts included daily. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
3 Bears Bed & Breakfast Elora, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 3 Bears Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.