We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ayush Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Almora
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ayush Guest House
Save
You added Ayush Guest House to your Saves list
Papersali-Bari, Almora 263601, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 32 Almora B&B and Inns
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

All the cottages in Ayush Guest House are comfortable and tastefully decorated, and as others have said, the location is wonderful: peaceful and quiet with breathtaking views of the himalayan mountains and lovely paths to take walks in nature. And Raju (the owner) is very considerate of your private space but also caring and helpful. I'm sure you will experience the peaceful relief from the hustle and bustle of city-life when you arrive too...

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
8
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Ayush Guest House - What to say and where to begin?! Well, let me start by saying that I chose this homestay over any others based upon previous tripadvisor reviews and subsequently my initial phone conversation with the owner Raju. As high as my expectations may have been, they have been far exceeded already since my first week of residing with Raju and his wonderfully down to earth and accommodating family. From the moment we arrived, we were welcomed with warm smiles, beautiful scenery and cottage and offers of assistance in anything and everything we might require to make our stay as enjoyable as possibly could be.

We are currently staying in the Lark cottage in the second week of our 4 week reservation but as we find the setting, accommodation, hosts and all round ambiance so pleasing, we are already considering extending our stay by at least another month. Whilst the cottage may be considered simple, it is aesthetically sound and far from what one might consider basic. It has a very spacious living area with fireplace and functional kitchen and western bathroom with hot and cold water. Our main pleasure is our attached large covered porch where we while away many a pleasurable and peaceful hour. Nice extras include mod-cons such as tv and wifi which we have occasionally made use of if and when we have felt the need to keep up with the outside world.

Perched near the top of a steep slope, the vistas from our porch across the ridges disappearing into the distance and those into the valley below are quite beyond any others that have not cost me a hard days slog up some mountain or other. Talking of mountains, the mighty and majestic Himalayas spread themselves before you in all their unrivaled glorious beauty all the way from Pakistan through India and China to Nepal. This alone can be worth the trip to the Ayush Guest House, Almora.

Raju and his family are keenly dedicated to making the living environment as eco-friendly as possible. Rainwater is collected and used to service the cottages as well as all the organic fruit and veg that they grow. There is also a natural spring providing wonderfully crisp, clear and fresh drinking water which we have been enjoying daily. As well as the abundance of organic flora, the birds, butterflies and even the families 2 pet dogs Jimmy and Tom, make for hours of visual pleasure. Raju and his family take great pride in nurturing their natural and beautiful environment in which they are blessed with.

Whilst we have mostly catered for ourselves, we have already eaten with the family a couple of times and look forward to doing so again. We have been on a few short walks to the local general shop and also to Almora's main bazaar but what we are really looking forward to is taking to the many local trails through the forests and valleys.

We highly recommend Ayush Guest House for those who are seeking a home from home experience set amongst beautiful surroundings, wonderful people in a peaceful and tranquil Himalayan haven. All that's left to say is, leave your worries behind and look forward to enjoying your own little slic of heaven for a while.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

There are many things I love about Ayush Guest House in Papparseli, Almora. One, the location is perfect; it is set in a small village on the downhill slope of a hill, only a few kilometers from Almora, and is overlooked by the inimitable snow-clad Himalayan peaks that can be seen in all their splendor on a clear, sunny day. The setting is scenic, quiet, and peaceful, with the occasional sound coming in from the swishing trees. Two, the property has been developed and managed with great care and enterprise by Rajendra Bisht (Raju). Now, I really can't think of a better person to look after your needs in a place such as this: Raju has an eye for detail, is attentive to the requirements of his hosts, and carries integrity in all his dealings, so that you not only trust him to take care of you, but end up building a quiet yet solid friendship with him. Three, Raju's family is an excellent support to him, and good company to have, especially his two tiny kids, each of whom is a delight to spend time with in the evenings. Four, and most importantly, this place lets you be yourself, and that is probably the main reason for your turning up here. Your space and privacy are respected, the deal is more than fair, the accommodation more than comfortable, and the overall feel just about perfect, to let you be in touch with yourself, find yourself.
All credit to Raju for doing all of this so well, so soon, pretty much all by himself. Here's hoping that he keeps it up, and Ayush Guest House grows sensibly in the future, getting more discerning customers but never losing its soul, the reason why it is my chosen retreat when it comes to the mountains.

Room Tip: There are several cottages in the property. You can either choose them beforehand, with help on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almora
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I've been staying at Ayush Guest House for the past few years and it is my home in India.

The cottages are spread out along the hillside, with wonderful views of the Himalayas and the surrounding valley. There's a fresh water spring for extremely pure drinking water just a few minutes walk below the property, and even a small river below that. All cottages have hot water in the bathrooms, kitchens, beautiful rooms with either stone, wood, carpeted, or tiled flooring, and comfortable porches with pleasant views.

All the cottages are spread out throughout approx 6 hectares, so you feel you have privacy.

Raju (the owner) and his family are so incredible. There is lots of light and love you feel from them and throughout the property. It's a very happy place.

As bonuses, Raju makes delicious food for affordable prices, and that includes pizza and cakes! Also there is internet for almost every room and laundry service upon request. Pretty amazing!

-Alex

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I always feel so relieved when I get here and return every year. Raju takes good care of me each time and I always feel like my cottage is perfect. Beautiful views of course, best in Papparseli. The price is very fair in comparison to other places on the mountain and nearby Kasar Devi. The family will prepare all meals it you ask for it and they do a wonderful job :) also, there is local, organic curd and eggs available through the house. I believe he is considering a new bakery for the next addition.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This area is beautiful with magnificent views of the Himalayas from most of the accommodations. It is energising to get away from a hectic lifestyle, without becoming reclusive - Wifi is available. It is a very peaceful valley with an interesting gradual climb of 5 - 10 minutes to the main road. This place encourages Health, Relaxation and Creativity in which ever form one wishes to take.

Raju is a very genuine kind of guy. He cannot do enough to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. His Family are lovely and also very hospitable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Ayush Guest House in October 2012 for 2 weeks.We were so impressed that we returned in late November and changed our travel plans and stayed 3 more months.
I have travelled all over India for the past 20 years and this is easily the best place I have stayed.
We stayed in Snowfinch Cottage on the first visit which was fantastic. This had fabulous views and the cottage itself was
as special as it looks on the website.
We then stayed at Krishna Cottage for a few
nights while waiting for the larger Lark Cottage.Krishna Cottage was also a wonderful little cottage particularly for one person.Lark Cottage was a lovely and extremely comfortable.We had a fantastic open fire for the cooler winter evenings which was very welcome. We had a tv, wifi, hot water and cooking facilities.
Raju ( the owner) and his family could not have been more hospitable.They all made us feel very welcome for the whole stay.Some evenings we cooked but most of the time Raju and his wife supplied the dinner. Each evening we would leave the kitchen very satisfied with the different meals they had cooked us.
Raju would collect any supplies we required from town and was always happy to do so.
Any assistance we needed was enthusiastically given by all members of the family.
We will return here again in the future and wouldn't hesitate to highly recommend the place to anyone.
It really is difficult to write a good enough review for this place.It is such a great area, made all the more special by the wonderful Raju and his family.
I suspected from the website -(ayushguesthouse.com) that this place would be special but in the end it surpassed all expectations.

Fantastic

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ayush Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayush Guest House

Address: Papersali-Bari, Almora 263601, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Almora
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Almora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have eight self catering cottages and four rooms with tea and coffee making facilities, situated in the tranquil valley of Balta Badi, Paparsali, just a few kilometers from Almora. A new restaurant with landscaped gardens makes for an idyllic dining experience. There is also a small shop and a well stocked library for guest use. Free wiFi is available. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayush Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.