We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT....getaway & luxury in the wilderness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samode Safari Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Samode Safari Lodge to your Saves list
Samode Safari Lodge
Samode Safari Lodge Bandhavgarh, Bandhavgarh National Park 484661, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Kolhapur, India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“PERFECT....getaway & luxury in the wilderness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

i'll keep the whole review simple n clean.....

samode safari lodge is a perfect getaway from the chaotic n maddening crowd of the city n for those who want to go on a professional safari experience in India. the nearest airport being at jabalpur, from which the lodge is just 3 hours away, with good road conditions. the entrance to the lodge is surprisingly through the jungle, which gives u a feeling of you directly going on a safari before checking in. the lodge lies in the buffer area, n is very safe. the best part of the lodge is its location, completely in isolation, with no other lodges in its surrounding. gives a real peaceful relaxed feeling.
on arrival you are greeted by gauri the lodge manager, who briefs you completely on the lodge n everything you should know about the place. of course you are welcomed with a beverage of your choice n with a fresh cold/hot towel. you are also asked for any of your dietary or meal preferences if you have, so that arrangements are made as the place is far away from the nearest town. with a short tour of the whole property, you soon arrive at your villa or cottage as you may call it.
n here the whole excitement doubles. the whole place is just superb, the interiors, the space, comfort, luxury is just jaw dropping. for a moment you would just be speechless. to believe it you have to b there! everything inside has been perfectly planned by the owner, who has himself travelled around the world. there is a living room, with a bedroom, which has a huge king size comfy bed, which just soaks you in. there is also a good amount of space outside the bedroom, a balcony sort of, which opens out into the wild n the grassland. the bathroom is just as big n huge as the room, with nearly 4 bathing option, indoor n outdoor. the bathtub n open to sky shower is just wow. there is also a built in wardrobe. toiletries provided are of real good quality. mosquito repellents are provided, so you dont have to worry about it, though during our stay we hardly even come across any of them. the air condition also work as a heater, which is great during winters as it really gets very cold. so plz make sure u do carry something warm during the stay n during the safaris. they do provide ponchos. there is also a satellite television set and a few dvds on demand. the whole place is clean n smells fresh. it gives u a real feeling of staying in the wild.
the food, again one of the best part of the whole stay. the executive chef is the most amazing person, he just prepares everything so perfectly, that your taste buds are for sure to get pampered. all meals are served hot n fresh, deliciously prepared. the choices are plenty, you just need the appetite, to take it all in. the breakfast spread is very energising after the game drives. dinners are special, and arranged at different locations, very well set up, just to give you a special feel. the tiger documentary shown is just great. all sorts of cuisines are prepared by the chef. the desserts are just to die for.
the game drives......you have 2 game drives daily. back to back game drives does make you feel tired, but i guess the excitement of seeing the tiger keeps you on toes. the vehicle used for the drive is very comfortable. you have a naturalist and a forest guide accompanying you on the drives. do ask for anshuman, he has so much knowledge about wildlife, a wonderful person to be with. well we weren't that fortunate enough to spot a single tiger on all our game drives. i guess winter isn't the correct time, though anshuman did his best to locate one. but of course different species of birds n other animals were spotted. after all safari isn't about just tigers, its the overall experience of being in the jungle n the hospitality that u get in such isolated places. the morning drives is for 4 hrs n evening for 3 hrs. juices, muffins n sandwiches are carried duirng the drives, just incase you feel hungry. though after the drives a huge breakfast spread in the morning n snacks in the evening are served.
the staff.....the most wonderful people you would come across. they are friendly, always smiling n ready to help. they do so much to make your stay comfortable. we did take some time out to talk to them n spend a little time with them, n share wonderful moments with all of them.
yess all of this does come at a steep price, but everything is worth every penny you spend here. i would rate it as the no.1 lodge in bandhavgarh n even in india. so goodluck samode n plz do keep up the good work. we definitly look forward to come back again.....
cheers...!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
40
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McMinnville, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Samode Safari Lodge is exceptional in every way. Rooms are huge;the size of a decent apartment well appointed, huge bedroom with excellent linens, sitting patio with comfy loungers, sitting room, couches, and giant bathroom and dressing room with indoor and outdoor showers. Lodge is classic and classy with wonderful artwork and antiques. Food is first class; every night is different setting first night buffet out under the banyan trees hung with 50 lanterns, another night under the stars on the terrace with hundreds of tea lights at the beautiful swimming pool. Samode Safari program is best in Bandavgarh. Naturalists are incredibly knowledgeable and great for finding tigers as well as hundreds of birds. Their head guide is probably best in all of Bandhavgarh! Viewing vehicles are top notch. Samode is a great value given the quality and wonderful staff. This is the place to go if you care about quality and a great experience! Other Samode Jaipur hotels are exceptional as well!

Room Tip: #6 was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

After a 4 1/2 hour drive we arrived at the lodge to a warm welcome from Gauri. First impressions were good and we listened intently to what was in store for us along with establishing any specific dietary needs. The lodge was beautifully done in a manner in keeping with the environment but with all the important creature comforts to make us feel at home from home (and some)!
We were lead to our room which was beautifully prepared for us. The accommodation comprised of a lounge area with large TV (which we never switched on) DVD, satellite box, espresso coffee maker and kettle with mugs and biscuits.
The main bedroom area had a four poster bed and chaise lounge, writing desk and bedside cabinets. Large sliding doors led to a veranda with day beds and arm chairs which we immediately sat and saw Jackals in the grassy area beyond the boundary fence: great start to our adventure.
Back inside the bathroom area had a freestanding tub and a brilliant double shower. These were duplicated outside in a very private enclosure to enable us to benefit from bathing al fresco in the pleasant sunshine.
After a delightful lunch (3 courses expertly prepared and presented) we set off on our first drive, hoping of course to be lucky and see a Tiger. We could never have imagined the good fortune we would have: a six year old male which we observed for about 40 minutes. My holiday was complete and we hadn't been there a day!
After the drive, back to the lodge for a spot of tea and exchange of sightings with the other guests. Then after freshening up to dine, which again was superbly done and extremely good. The venue of the evening meals changed every day whereby one of the staff would collect us from our cottage and escort us to the respective location. A lovely idea which added to the wonderful experience of our stay.
Hatsy (the lodge manager and naturalist) had noted that it was my birthday the next day and arranged for a very special treat for us. A full day game drive with breakfast and lunch brought out to the reserve and thus enable us to spend time watching and listening to a vast array of wildlife in the reserve. Again we were so fortunate in that we saw a Tigress and two 8 month old cubs which we watched for well over an hour whilst they finished off the spotted deer that the mother had caught.
Throughout our stay, Hatsy, Gauri and the team made us so welcome and ensured that we had such a wonderful time: we could not have wished for anything more, everything was way in excess of our wildest dreams. The whole team were extremely knowledgeable and helped us benefit from our short stay at Samode. We were keen to see a tiger but there is of course so much else to see.
The Samode is a brilliant place to stay and we’d thoroughly recommend anyone visiting the area to put this at the top of the list.

Room Tip: All were superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

An incredible property and team, and we saw three tigers during our four safari rides.

After an overnight train ride from Agra, my wife and I were greeted at the Katni rail station by a driver from Samode. So started our drive through Madhya Pradesh, highlighted by several rides through Bandhavgarh National Park with Samode naturalists and staff. This was our first safari experience (it did seem like every other guest was a safari veteran and/or expert), and the safari routine could become a bit challenging. We were up every day at 4:30am and of course spent a lot of time driving through the park. The return to the luxurious lodge was always well worth wait, with its incredible setting with memorable service.

The property and staff were just incredible. The practice of changing the dinner setting was something we particularly enjoyed, and the menus were just incredible. We celebrated our 25th anniversary with a private dinner (with wood-burning fire on our porch) and were given several other opportunities to enjoy private time together; the staff does a fantastic job creating a setting where it’s easy to mix with other guests or just be on your own.

We were not the only guests who saw tigers, but we were (incorrectly) convinced that the morning treks represented the only opportunity. We were quite confident that our naturalist, Hatsy, was so connected with Park officials that we were able to see tigers others didn’t. In both of the cases when we saw the animal (the first viewing a female and cub, the second viewing a male), we were the first on-site. For those who don’t know safaris (like us), this is apparently a big deal. We just benefitted from it, and the entire Samode experience.

Room Tip: Book a room close to the lodge, with the lower numbers indicating close proximity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

After a 5 hour journey from Kahna we arrived over very rough dirt tracks through the jungle buffer zone to Samode Lodge. It was getting dark and we were asked when we wanted dinner and someone would pick us up at the arranged time to take us to the dinner venue which changed nightly and was a secret. That night we saw a tiger film round a camp fire over a G and T and then had dinner outside. We had a 12 hour day in the Bandhagarh game park the next day and morning drives the next two days. We saw 8 tigers in all which was a dream come true. The staff were a delight and the room perfect with hot water bottles both in our bed at night and to cuddle at 05.30 each morning when we left for the game park

Room Tip: We were in room 4 and that is where the owner stays when he visits
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

A perfectly designed and executed safari lodge, magnificently managed by a lovely couple who are great hosts and pamper each guest. Luxurious lodging, well designed and executed, with a pampering staff, superb spa facilities, excellent cuisine. Never expected anything this good so far away from civilization. Adjacent to the park, although the roads are deeply rutted and bumpy! Still, a great retreat after a day trekking for tigers!

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the main lodge to avoid a long trek back and forth!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Can't complain about this place. The accommodation is outstanding , the staff brilliant and the food really lovely. Beware due to the schedule of safari you won't get time to enjoy the benefits which is a shame as it is expensive to stay here. One other word of caution the evening dinner and pre drinks is formal so much that your day guides get togged up in jackets and jodhpurs which to be honest look daft in the jungle. Each to their own. It's a long drive to the gates each morning.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samode Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samode Safari Lodge

Address: Samode Safari Lodge Bandhavgarh, Bandhavgarh National Park 484661, India
Location: India > Madhya Pradesh > Bandhavgarh National Park
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Bandhavgarh National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Samode Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samode Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.