We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Business Hotel - free internet did not work” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NOVINA Hotel Herzogenaurach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added NOVINA Hotel Herzogenaurach to your Saves list
NOVINA Hotel Herzogenaurach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Olympiaring 90, 91074 Herzogenaurach, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Herzogenaurach
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Business Hotel - free internet did not work”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Rooms are nice and large, staff nice and breakfast good.
Disadvantage: internet connection did not work for my laptop and tried a few times with the hotel staff to get connected. Gave up after all and decided for the t mobile Wifi connection, which you have to pay for.
The ramada should really think about a free wifi solution for its guests which is international standard in hotels.
Thanks

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    30
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
5
8
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

I have recently stayed in this hotel and in my opinion it is excellent. The Hotel looks great, the rooms are spacious and very clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful and all of them speak English very well. The food is really good and you have a wide range to choose from. The hotel also provides you high speed internet free of charge.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

As with many of the reviews that you will read on this hotel, location may be a big factor for you. If you have a car, fine. Although there are plenty of buses and tax service is excellent, if you want to travel to Nuremberg frequently, then a rental car may be a better option. A taxi to Erlangen, the nearest town with a train station, costs Euro 20; driving to Nuremberg will set you back about Euro 40.

Overall summary of this hotel: All the basics are here, and then some, with pleasant and professional service. I recommend this hotel (which is good because you don't have much choice!)

Room:
Size: spacious for Europe. Mine included a nice work area with two chairs.
Bed: comfortable with duvet and two VERY soft down pillows.
Minibar: sparse; only four non-alcohol drinks
TV: excellent source to learn German, English channels limited to the usual intl news
Internet: free (no wifi)
Bath: Good with a deep and long tub, howerer narrow. Hot water plentiful
Heating/Air con: I didn't need either as the weather was perfect for sleeping. I turned the air con on to test it. It was quiet but not silent.
No hot pot but they will bring you hot water upon request

Restaurant:
Breakfast: nice selection of breads and meats. I am fussy about my eggs and the scrambled eggs failed the test. Waffles are added once a week for variety. There are over 20 different tea selections, six jam selections and the coffee is excellent. Six kinds of granola but no hot cereal. I did not order anything from a menu. Indeed, I never saw any guests order from a menu so there may be no choice but the buffet.

Lunch: I did not eat lunch here.

Dinner: The menu is pretty thin, but there is adequate variety once you request the bar menu. The food is prepared well, the salad crunchy and tasty. I recommend the local Franconian wines by the carafe.

Fitness Room:
Stair Master, XC ski, treadmill, stationary bike, free weights and universal gym.
Sauna, lockers and shower all clean and well maintained
No attendant, at least when I was there

Service:
I found all the employees at this hotel friendly and professional who are willing to accomodate your requests.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

I stayed 2 nights in this hotel mid-July. On the whole, service, room (with free internet), breakfast, restaurant are very good.

The only problem I would like to highlight is the quality of the towels in the bathroom: they look like "cheap Chinese standard" and this is a pity for such a nice hotel.

Otherwise, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

The hotel is in the middle of no where.

My husband had a conference and I was excited to explore the area while he was busy. The only options I had was a few factory outlets and a few cafes for a meal. Did all that like in like 3 hours and I had 3 more days to kill.

Fortunately I had a friend pick me up and we explored other areas with her car. You need to drive and be mobile to stay there.

They had a "Wellness Place/Spa" in the hotel but I did not use it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

Arrived in the evening, tired and hungry, only to find that even though I thought I had booked a non-smoking room they did not have any left and gave me a smoking room. Checking my reservation confirmation revealed that I had indeed requested non-smoking.

Settled into my (smelling of cigarettes) room I then discovered the room was very hot. It was like Mexico in the summer in the room and the aircon either did not work properly or was not very efficient. Even set to 5 degrees it only became marginally cooler.

Still being hungry I went down to the restaurant. In the summer you can sit outside on a nice terrace, try and get a table which faces the meadows rather than the parking lot. The menu is exciting and really has some nice flavour combinations. My starter of asparges and berries, odd as the combination sounds, was actually very nice and just what you need on a hot summer day. The mains of bison steak was good but did not come with anything. Not a potato, no vegetables. So as my steak was getting cold I asked for some potatoes at least. Ordering boiled potatoes somehow means you will be served fried potatoes at this restaurant. I guess I should have ordered fried and would have gotten boiled. So, be careful when ordering and although it should not be necessary to even ask what comes with the mains do so or you may end up with just two small pieces of meat on your plate.

Breakfast looks promising but their smoked salmon had an odd aftertaste. Even worse, their scrambled eggs seemed to consist of someone mixing eggs in a huge bowl, pouring it into a steam bath and then leaving it there for a few hours. The result is not scrambled eggs but a hard eggy substance that was barely edible.

Following a night of terrible sleep because it was so hot I return to reception the next day to check out. The sympathetic woman ensures my non-smoking request is now in their computer system, and reduces my room rate by a whopping 13 euros. Enough said.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

This place has pretty much perfected the hotel experience. Sure it's not very well located unless you are doing work for/with Puma or Adidas, or just fancy a visit to the factory outlet up the road, but if that's your ticket, then this is the place to stay.

The Ramada is a very new hotel. The rooms are spotlessly clean, well appointed and very spacious. The beds are comfortable and even the pillows someone has taken the time to arrange beautifully. The staff speak perfect english, are attentive, and eager to help with any requests you have (eg: taxis). The air conditioning works a treat and is silent. The Internet connectivity works fine and the furnishings are all brand new and quality.

I stayed here for 3 nights whilst doing some work at Puma and I couldn't be more impressed. I'm quite fussy and picky when it comes to hotels as I travel a lot, but the Ramada ticked all the boxes. I couldn't fault the experience in any way.

The restaurant honestly deserves a Michelin Star. The food is as good as what you'd get in any top class restaurant around the world, and it's served by a team who have mastered their art.

The hotel provides taxi services to where ever you need to go. You can have a 7 series BMW for around the same price as a regular taxi. Just ask at the front desk and they will arrange it for you.

One of the best places, if not the best, i've ever stayed at. Well done Ramada, you've won me big time with this place.

  • Liked — The hotel is simply flawless.
  • Disliked — The location isn't one for tourists or people looking for a local social scene.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NOVINA Hotel Herzogenaurach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NOVINA Hotel Herzogenaurach

Address: Olympiaring 90, 91074 Herzogenaurach, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Herzogenaurach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Herzogenaurach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — NOVINA Hotel Herzogenaurach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NOVINA Hotel Herzogenaurach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Herzogenaurach
Herzogenaurach Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NOVINA Hotel Herzogenaurach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.