We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Step Back in Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Valley View Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ranikhet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Valley View Villa
Save
You added Valley View Villa to your Saves list
Almora, Ranikhet, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Step Back in Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

They don't make charming and quaint places like these any more...'The Cafe', which is a part of Valley View Homestay, is so reminiscent of cottages and shops with an old-world charm as opposed to the thoroughly modern coffee shops these days.
Located bang on the main road somewhere between the Army Golf Course and Majkhali, it catches your attention because of its quaintness. And when you enter the place you feel as if you've stepped back in time when hill stations had similar places with a strong British flavour. The place is done up beautifully with red and white curtains and tablecloths and interesting decorative pieces placed in nooks and corners--the rooster motif is rather strong! There's seating arrangement in the long balcony too, where one can enjoy the view of the Himalayas and clouds playing about in the valley below. Aah, bliss--for a weary traveller!
The menu on offer is different from what one expects to find in those parts. The open sandwiches and cold coffee were really good. There's a small gift shop "Fine Things' next to it and another outlet selling locally-made products (especially shawls, stoles, etc.)
We'd stopped for some snacks this time, but I'd definitely want to go back there another time to experience the homestay as well.
Travellers have left their comments on paper napkins and tissues which are pinned to a board near the entrance. Oh yes, they also sell homemade cakes and tarts and so on!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
delhi
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

A great home stay , Mrs singh's great desserts and simple recipe dishes, baking make you feel very comfortable and at home. I will recommend to visit the cafe for food , but i think its best to tell them in advance of what one would like to have and then come , one may get more options. I took a walnut and date cake which all demolished on the table the same day.
critics may have a lot to complain about and some city people may miss the intercom and tv in room, but i think it's a good idea, the view from room is amazing , though some may find the sit out a little cramped but one can walk down hill or sit in verandah.
decor or cafe and flowers are absolutely amazing.. lot of effort went to maintain it i could see.
missed meeting brigadier singh.. hope to meet him too sometime soon.

Room Tip: best to talk to owner frankly , she will be the best guide
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Stopped off for an absolutely amazing and nourishing Ayurvedic lunch prepared from local tasty vegetarian delicacies, while taking-in the breathtaking Himalayan views, fresh air and sunshine ... surrounded by a well-tended charming cottage garden. The hospitality offered was superb. The cafe also has a wonderful souvenir shoppe. While I didn't stay in the accommodation (I was part of a yoga retreat that was based elsewhere) I was kindly offered a tour of the rooms. They are extremely well appointed, spotlessly clean and spacious - just gorgeous - with lovely bathrooms and sweet balconies. I would definitely recommend an extended stay - such a serene and energising space. PS The resident doggies are so very handsome, friendly and polite! A perfect ending to my wonderful visit to Ranikhet.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is a review I'm writing after staying in the property many a times. This property is run by a family who stay in the same house. We developed connect with Sabrina as we're a frequent visitor to Ranikhet and surrounding places. We keep trying new hotels and restaurants, but in Ranikhet, we didn't feel like exploring any other place. This property is around 9-10 km outside Ranikhet, towards Almora, near a village called Majkhali.

Location is fantastic, overlooking valley and Himalayan range. In a clear day, one can have a great view of the Himalayas. Property is extremely well maintained, lovely gardens, nicely decorated rooms, some rooms are with courtyard. One can enjoy basking sun while having tea, doing nothing but glancing over the valley and mountains.

There are wide choices of food, both Indians and continental. We keep eating both. Service is great and extremely helpful people with smiling faces. One can get good bakery products like cakes and muffins, which are home made. If you don't get, you can fairly assume that landlady is travelling!

Recently, a souvenir shop has been opened, where one can get good stuff, like woollens, table covers, bed sheets and covers and also mementos.

In short, it's always a very pleasant home stay experience with warmth.

Room Tip: Rooms facing valley in the same floor where dining room is situated is our favourite, Two adjacent r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights in Mar 2013. We were told that we had been given the two newly built rooms (annexe) which were not part of the main cottage. Rooms were small though bathrooms were quite comfortable and well done. But the rooms were neat and clean with good decor, no complaints about musty smell or stained and uncomfortable beds. Lots of seating arrangement out in the open allowing guests to enjoy the fresh air. Had dinner two times and the lady of the house was good enough to cook the meals for us. The food was good...not greasy and hotel like. Standard B'fast and enjoyed it while sitting out in the sun. The view from Valley View is very nice and we were lucky to get a clear day and so had a good view of the snow capped mountains.

Room Tip: The Annexe rooms are nice with a good view although they are a little small...dont know how good the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I have now been to Ranikhet 4 times and each trip has been equally memorable. While staying at a homestay in the Nainital region, we decided to visit Ranikhet as it was only 40 kms away and we had nothing better to do than aimlessly wander over to Ranikhet and revisit places I have already been to several times.

Once in Ranikhet, I took my friends to one of my favourite places promising to show them a good time. My review below was written based on our previous trip in January and I used to really like Valley View Villa. Mountains are my favourite kind of holidays and I appreciate the difficulties running an establishment up in the hills can sometimes entail - for instance, raw material quality, storage and cost etc. However, even making for such allowances, food this time round was an epic letdown and I am still smarting as I write this. 'Maggi' wasnt really maggi but top ramen (the difference between the two is stark) and the veg one in fact had small insects in it which we duly returned, but not before we had unknowingly had a few spoonfuls. The chicken in the chicken platter was juicy only in a way a rock can be and even though the description on the menu said it would come with toast, the toasts were not served. There was one other item that we had ordered which I forget now, however, it was so late coming that we had to cancel it. Appreciate that one sub par experience doesnt make a place bad as the occasional slip up can happen, however, so many things went wrong with our order that day that I believe standards really have slipped.

In all, a disappointing performance from a place I had grown to like and will dissuade me from returning. However, do check out Umang next door, which is a store that sells ethnic stuff made by women from neighbouring villages such as knits, jams, honey etc. The same things would retail in big city malls for more than double the price that you would get there - you would be buying good quality material and helping the villagers at the same time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Valley view villa is a charming property which seems to have been built with great affection by its owners. I have been there on two different occasions now - the first time, we chanced upon it while on our way to Majkhali village and liked what we saw enough to specifically look for it the second time we were in Ranikhet. The villa is essentially built as a homestay, with a few well crafted rooms overlooking a wonderous valley, topped with a cafe serving lovely food and hot beverages for the weary traveller. We didnt stay at the villa on either of the occasions that we were in Ranikhet as we had alternative arrangements, but checked out the rooms which looked inviting enough. Food at the cafe tastes quite fresh, so the service can be a tad slow, but the freshness makes up for the tardiness while the view whets your appetite.

If you are afraid of dogs, especially the big ones, be just a bit careful for the cafe has some mean looking ones. However, its not as if they roam around free so there isnt anything to be really afraid of, just that the presence of some not so gentle and cuddly canines can be a little unnerving for those not used to being near dogs all the time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Valley View Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley View Villa

Address: Almora, Ranikhet, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Ranikhet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Ranikhet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valley View Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.