We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience of gracious living” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woodsvilla Resort Ranikhet

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ranikhet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodsvilla Resort Ranikhet
Save Saved
You added Woodsvilla Resort Ranikhet to your Saves list
Majkhali | On main Ranikhet - Almora Road, Ranikhet 263652, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Ranikhet
New Delhi, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An experience of gracious living”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

So many reviewers have described this place as ‘Awesome’. An experience of a real beauty of nature; and with so many other words of admiration that I do not have any other synonym to add. But for me and my wife with whom I visited the place recently, it simply took our breath away.
The guest rooms are large and with color themes. The beds were of solid bronze and even the electric fittings and switches were of vintage origin and in excellent condition. There was no piece of furniture that was incongruous in the setting. The library is a place where book readers would get lost in time. The titles and subjects of some vintage books held my fascination.
The staffs were polite and professional.Our sincere thanks to the manager of resort who showed us around.
And finally to our gracious and unassuming host and the Director of Woodsvilla for inviting us over for tea.
I can only say that it was like stepping back in time to a world of privileges and royalty. Well, I promised my wife another visit to Woodsvilla and this time to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    24
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
20
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Travelled in a group for a weekend break. Woods villa resort is a quaint, quietly nestled away from the main town of ranikhet. The approach to this resort is very good and the property itself is strategically located facing the vast Valley. The rooms are spacious and give a splendid view of the beautiful Valley.

Food is average, but they try their best to satisfy you. Management is Very friendly and takes care or your needs. We went during off season, and the management was nice enough to provide everything we wanted.

We recommend this resort for a nice stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

As we were looking for a peaceful place to visit, we found Ranikhet as an appropriate location for the same. We stayed there for 2 nights and enjoyed nature’s beauty. Resort is located far from crowd. We stayed in room no.211 and views from room were really exotic and tell about real beauty of nature.
Rooms were not very expensive. Rooms were very clean and spacious and uninterrupted service was provided from staff. Staff was friendly specially the manager.
In our budget it was the best place to keep our selves away from madding crowd.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I was looking for a quite place to go with my wife and I came across Woodsvilla resort. Its away from main Ranikhet about 10 km on a hill so has very natural surroundings. The rooms have a view of the Himalayas and valley. We were lucky to get the view of snow capped Himalayas as the sky was clear.
The staff was very courteous and humble in their behavior. In the restaurant they even served us food on the table in spite of the buffet. The food was reasonably good. The rooms were spacious and ideally maintained. Don't forget to take your walking shoes the resort is built on a hill terrain.
Altogether I enjoyed my stay with my family and would recommend to people who want to rejuvenate themselves from busy lifestyle.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This review is for Woodsvilla residency, which is also their property. its few minutes away from the resort. the only negative is , that its very FAR in a secluded place. its 12 km away from Ranikhet. rooms are nice and spacious, these are one bedroom apartments. Food is good, quantity is sufficient. the only drawback, is they do not have a kitchen, hence food comes from the resort and you cannot order anything after 9 PM.
Staff is very helpful and polite.
A good place to stay if you want to stay away from phone calls and what ap :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We spent 3 nights at this resort from 14th June till 17th June. This resort is best in terms of view it provides from room's balcony or restaurant. In my opinion, this seems to be best choice in Ranikhet as it provides magnificent view. We also had a look on Windsor Lodge Heritage property, there rooms are much better than Woodsvilla but doesn't provide good view, also much costlier than woodsvilla. Both resorts don't provide good landscaping gardens etc. Here are point-wise review:

1. View is amazing.
2. Staff is good, room service is fast. Infact one of staff member took us to sun-set point by tracking 200m. I think his name is Vijender or Virender, very nice person.
3. Food: Food is good, but variety is less, dinner is better than b/f. B/f can be improved by providing some more good options.
4. Himalaya Peaks: Himalaya Peaks were not visible due to Haze, travelers are recommended to visit Ranikhet from October to March.

Summary, If you are looking for luxury hotel then this hotel is not for you. There are not many options in Ranikhet, Queens Meadows looks better from luxury point of view but you will have to track 700m to reach there. Choose Windsor Lodge if you want better rooms but stay here, if you want to enjoy the beauty!!

Room Tip: All rooms are valley facing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Its an awesome place to visit since the resort is having a very fine location .The whole area was very calm and quiet.What I liked the best was the hospitality shown by the staff in the resort.Dining was Also Good.The Baywindows of the spacious rooms gave a very clear view of the Himalayas.Overall it was a memorable and “paisa vasool” experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodsvilla Resort Ranikhet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodsvilla Resort Ranikhet

Address: Majkhali | On main Ranikhet - Almora Road, Ranikhet 263652, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Ranikhet
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Ranikhet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodsvilla (in Queen's land Ranikhet) symbolises success of the promoters dream. Their heart and soul lies in this Villa. It is a pleasure to watch colour change in the sky from golden yellow to sunset orange to deep purple and let Himalayas quietly embrace the moonlit night. Witness the most romantic union between the Himalayas and the moon. Ranikhet is pure heaven 6000 ft above the sea level. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodsvilla Resort Ranikhet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.