We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lifetime experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woodsvilla Resort Ranikhet

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ranikhet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodsvilla Resort Ranikhet
Save
You added Woodsvilla Resort Ranikhet to your Saves list
Majkhali | On main Ranikhet - Almora Road, Ranikhet 263652, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Ranikhet
Delhi
1 review
“Lifetime experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed on 16th Feb in this property , occupancy was less. Thanks to cooperative staff for an excellent and memorable stay in the hotel. Food is awesome and so the behavior of the staff in the property.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    27
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
23
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delhi, Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

A experience which is very difficult to be explained. Booked a two night stay for 14th and 15th December, 2012. Bad due to bad food on 14th Dec. 2012, our health got deteriorated. When requested to cancel our booking for 15th Night, the management bluntly denied to refund any money. No care for the wellness of guests and just money minded persons are managing this Hotels affairs.
So, all dear friends are requested to visit this place at own risk..
Have a horrible stay...
No facility regarding any transportation from Hotel to any other place.
Location is away from market.
Best suited lines:
"Go and waste your holidays".

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is a resort, tucked away in the lush green forests a little ahead of the main city. After you would have driven through the city and you are nearing the Gold Course (maintained impeccably by the Indian Defense Forces) you should start keeping an eye out for the sign board for Woods Villa. We went there last month (August) , plonk in the middle of monsoons and the place can't be more shrouded in greenery than at any other time of the year! It was stunning and we have never seen anything looking so green and gorgeous. The place was growing, sprouting and oozing everything plant-y from every nook and cranny.

And oh, about the resort. Well, parking your vehicle might be a bit of a challenge. It's down a steep slope, leafed from the main road, though not long off. We were starving when we reached there at about 4-ish, so we ordered piles of food. We had booked a plan which included Breakfast and any one meal during the day - Dinner or Lunch. The vegetarian dishes were better than the chicken. Actually it tasted fresher than non-vegetarian food, which had clearly lesser no. of takers hence had been waiting in the kitchen longer to be ordered! Then to our cottage. We were 5 people and we had booked a family cottage. With one comfortable extra bed (sofa-expandable-to-become-a-bed-at-night) we were pretty much set and happy. The cottage has a kitchenette, a small dining table, is built in a duplex style and there is a general sense of cleanliness and being looked-after. Beds and bathrooms are about as big and clean as you'd expect from a 3 star property, which is to say that they were cozy, neat and just right.

The dining area is very well located inside the resort premises. You can see some of the important, snow capped peaks with naked eyes from off the open sitting area. Breakfast was ok too. Satisfies the Indian as well as a foreign palate. They have a coupe of areas for recreation withing the resort. You could play pool, scrabble, chess, carom and table tennis indoors. There is Burma's bridge and couple more outdoorsy adventure things to do, if you are in the mood. There's a narrow dirt track that goes out from the far end of the resort area, you can take to go for a short walk. Reach the top and stand still to hear yourself breathe in the silence of the mountains.

My verdict: 4 out 5. Nice, neat, pleasant place to spend 2-3 days amidst mother nature. Far from city chaos and yet, close enough to other places of interest around the city.

Room Tip: Ask for the cottage if you are a family or a group of 4 or 5. It has the best view and a small priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed in woodsvilla resort for 3 days. Rooms are well kept, and clean.
Rooms are very spacious. If we talk about food, a lot of variety was
offered. The quality of food was awesome. The service was also great. And
woodsvilla made our trip successful. It was like home away from home.
We really liked the services of Woodsvilla

Room Tip: Every room has Himalayan View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Great location, excellent views, but alas, very poor upkeep. On top of that, they care two hoots for the environment and have littered the area with garbage. To top that garbage is burnt at location, including plastics, which fouls up the atmosphere. They have sort of ruined an excellent place.

Room Tip: All rooms have excellent views. Some are well maintained, some not so well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

View from the hotel is good but it is tooooo far from Ranikhet. The general upkeep is very poor. Inconvenient to move around. Overall recommendation - look for better option. The pictures shown are misleading. Too many levels of stairs making the place difficult. The staff's attitude and the senior members attitude is extremely lack lustre towards guests issues.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

.I have been to all the possible Hill stations in the nearby Delhi & i feel ranikhet is the best of all. Major attraction of this place is the view from ranikhet of the Himalayas. We chose the woodsvilla resort because it is the only property we found where all rooms face the Himalayas. it is totally different as compared to mussorrie, shimla, manali etc. Also the service of the hotel here is big & most importantly... The place is quite and not commercialized.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodsvilla Resort Ranikhet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodsvilla Resort Ranikhet

Address: Majkhali | On main Ranikhet - Almora Road, Ranikhet 263652, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Ranikhet
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Ranikhet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodsvilla (in Queen's land Ranikhet) symbolises success of the promoters dream. Their heart and soul lies in this Villa. It is a pleasure to watch colour change in the sky from golden yellow to sunset orange to deep purple and let Himalayas quietly embrace the moonlit night. Witness the most romantic union between the Himalayas and the moon. Ranikhet is pure heaven 6000 ft above the sea level. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodsvilla Resort Ranikhet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.