We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Security standing near Samadhi spoil our worship....!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Shri Saibaba Sansthan Temple

Shri Saibaba Sansthan Temple
Pimpalwadi Road, Shirdi Rahata Road, Shirdi, India
+91-2423-258500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 19 Attractions in Shirdi
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Security standing near Samadhi spoil our worship....!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Samadhi area should be quite and peaceful. But the security standing near Samadhi handles the crowd very harshly. Man security touches woman devotee and pushes her on to another devotee, sometimes they push man's on other woman or kids...... Why the management is blind ? Can't they see in CCTV camera, how they behave. Security spoils the worship mood and the devotee gets anger in his mind instead of peace.

Management should improve the security, they should be trained to handle the crowd in some better way.

I have decided, not to visit temple until and unless the system is changed... better to pray from outside of temple instead of getting pushed or hurt.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    70
    21
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“In search of the blessings of Sai Baba”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

People are always in search of some temple,baba,guru,God or Goddess for seeking their blessings,protection and wish fulfilment.Some have genuine spiritual inclinations.
Sai baba gave me darshan long back and made his presence felt.
We visited the Samadhi Mandir of Sai baba long back in the early 90's.
It was a simple place then.The temple was simple.The Sai baba was not having any adornments of gold.The surroundings were plain and simple.There was only one AC hotel.
I visited again alone in 2010.
Was able to stand for quite some time very close to the idol of Sai baba.

The place has changed and grown commercially over the years.

I visited again with family recently.

Now I felt that more commercialisation has crept in along with the "vyavastha and security".
For VIP pass one has to go and stand in the queue during fixed times during the day.The VIP has to show his/her identity card.

On some days they charge 100 rupees per person.
A photo is taken on the spot of the VIP and then a computerised receipt is given.
This has to be shown at the entrance gate inside the premises.
Normally the entry for the VIP pass holders is from the Shani gate.
Inside the picture of the person taken at the time of issuing of the VIP pass is checked on the computer with the person and then only persons are allowed inside.
Bags,cameras,mobiles are not allowed.
The VIP pass holders have to be Class I /Group A gazetted officers,but it appears VIP passes are also being issued to other government officers.
The pass reduces the time taken to enter inside.
But it does not ensure anything else.
The darshan queue does not allow one to have time to stand near the Samadhi and statue of Sai baba.
One feels cheated here as one has to elieve that just by passing by his samadhi and statue one has got his blessings.
The security guards are quick to make people run and one feels bad.
and one wonders where is Sai baba as one only feels presence of the Vyavastha.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
280 helpful votes 280 helpful votes
“One of those busy temples that still retain the pious essence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

You will always get this sense of satisfaction and a nice feeling when you visit here. It does not give you a commercial look the way Tirupati temple is managed (Money for everything you do). The temple complex still retains that old charm though the crowd has swelled in multiples.
Try going for the aarti. Preferably Kakad aarti or Shej aarti. You get to stand there for more than 30 minutes and listen to Kirtans of the lord with music. What an environment it creates!!! All singing aloud and in tune. Weekends and Thursdays are busy and hence travel on other days.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
“Shraddha and Saburi!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is one place, from where I do not feel like coming back to my home! You just have to have Shraddha(Faith) and Saburi(Patience), and the amount of peace Sai Baba bestows upon his devotees is ineffable. On the banks of the blessed river Godavari, Shirdi is situated where millions and millions of people throng to cast their burden on Sainath!The closest city is Ahmednagar, and Shirdi is well connected by flight, train and bus.
Shirdi temple has been built over Baba's Samadhi Mandir. Sai Baba believed in uniformity of religion and this brought more and more devotees to him. He performed many a miracle to alleviate the human sufferings.
There is a Lord Ganesha Temple, a shiva lingam and a Shani bhagwan mandir. There is also a Dakshinamukhi Hanuman Mandir. The Chavadi is the famous place where Baba used to sleep, and now it is divided into two divisions for the ladies and men. On every Thursday, he used to go in a palanquin from Dwaraka mai to Chavadi and even today it is performed on every thursday. Dwarakamai is the place where he spent most of his time, and it is believed that Dwarakamai has the most power and all our prayers will be rewarded there.
There is a place for Mukh Darshan also, where we can just catch a glimpse of Baba's countenance and be blessed!
Under the Peepal tree, there is Nanda Deep, a lamp burning day and night and it is supposed to have been lit up by Baba.
Nowadays, booking a darshan or aarti is quite easily done online. For the Kakad Aarti they charge Rs. 500/- and for the other aartis, it is Rs. 300/-.
It is such a wonderful Pilgrimage centre. From Shirdi, one can also go and visit Thrayambakeshwar at Nasik, Shani Shignapur Shani Bhagwan and Bheema shankar Jyotir lingam.
Accommodation to suit everyone's pocket is available and all kinds of restaurants are in abundance.
We stayed in Sai Miracle Inn and had all our meals in Sai Palace, the Udupi style restaurant.
They do not allow camera, mobile phones etc inside the Sansthan, or if we do not leave them behind in our hotel room, then we may have to keep them there in the locker.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Spiritual experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

A visit to Shirdi is a very spiritual experience and it evokes a feeling of being overwhelmed and humbled at the same time. The temple is very well organised but can be very busy given millions of devotees coming from all over the world. Roses are presented as offerings . Part of the journey is made bare footed while there are laces to store your footwear safely run by volunteers. It can be hot during Summers. The temple has a very calming effect .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shri Saibaba Sansthan Temple also viewed

 
Shirdi, Maharashtra
 

Been to Shri Saibaba Sansthan Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shri Saibaba Sansthan Temple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.