We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its like an indian fairytale” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Neemrana Fort-Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Neemrana Fort-Palace to your Saves list
Neemrana Fort-Palace
Village Neemrana, District Alwar, Rajasthan, Alwar 301705, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Alwar
begaluru
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“its like an indian fairytale”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

the fort palace is a great place for a short break, there is'nt much else to do around the area, an old stepwell is a short drive away.
there are no phones in the rooms, no TVs, its basically a good place to switch off and slow down, read a good book, swim, enjoy the fort itself.
there are folk performances in the evening, and the wall sconces are lit, its romantic!

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    360
    142
    53
    59
See reviews for
274
351
25
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nimes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

It's damage to see a so beautifull place so dirty. We spent two days in the hotels, where the garden is fabelous in this desert. But the room and the swimming pool are so dirty and so dust, I never so a batheroom so dirty in an hotel of this category, and this the case in the two room we've got during our trip.
The food is correct, no more.
The staff at the reception is just there to make the bill.
What a pity for a such place.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

I am on a lookout for weekend getaways around Delhi and I came across this place.
Neemrana has a Old World charm to it the views you see from here are breath taking. The rooms are comfortable and the staff is good. We came here during the summers and hence got a good discount on the room rent. Delhi summers being what they are did hamper the stay a bit as you cannot explore the fort during the day. If you come here do take the Audio tour ir is worth it without the audio tour we wouldnt have been able to explore the beautiful palace. The fort looks really nice in the evening when they turn on the Lights.
Recently i saw that this fort was in a Serial Mahi Way.

The things i liked about this place:
1. Closenes to Delhi.
2. Old world Charm.
3. Audio Tour.
4. Breath Taking Views.

The two things which need improvement :

1. (True for all neemrana places)The booking system you cannot book this place Online you have to call their call centere and then remit the money using internet banking .
2. No food drinks are available outside the Buffet Hours

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

So close to Delhi and yet so far away in terms of ambience! This was a real gem of a stay. Perfect in every way. The palace feel, dozens of nooks and crannies hidden away at every turn, huge room, 'reasonable' food

The only thing thats a big turn off in all Rajasthan Hotels is the 'cultural' programme. Someone stop the discordant music and the boys twirling...

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

Went to Neemrana with work people for a company offsite. It was a great experience. From Delhi, it is a comfortable drive with few bad patches, but they were few to stand out. The minute we entered the fort, it was a mesmerising experience - as if we had travelled centuries back. The fort has been maintained very well. Neat and clean, in excellent state. Staff is very warm and welcoming. I wanted to choose my room from the ones we had booked and the staff was happy to trek up and down stairs to show me around - with a smile. There was a slight mix up in rooms, but the same was handled very nicely, and I got to experience 2 beautiful rooms in single stay. Both the rooms had an excellent mix of modern comforts and age-old beauty. While the rooms are in a fort, you still have clean bathrooms, freshly fragrant towels, handmade soaps, 24 hr hot water, tissue paper, beauty products - all at your service. While there is no phone or TV (understandably so), the rooms are just perfect. Each have a small tea set as there is no room service for morning tea / coffee, mineral water and cute candle stand in case electricity fails (which didn't for us). Another great feature is that every room is different. Interesting decor, small balconies coming out of rooms add to the sense of adventure and you always find something new to explore. Food is also very nice - breakfast was mix of Indian and European with fresh fruits and live station. Lunch was also nice and fresh. Served in the open courtyards, the meals are a great experience. Dinner room is very spacious and the food nice. The cultural show in the evening with drinks and snacks was very nice. We explored the fort and found some nice nooks and corners. Staff is very nice and polite. Overall, the stay was mix of adventure, peace, comfort - where you need it and leaves you yearning for more of the fort. I definitely look forward to returning very soon and have recommended it to almost everyone I have met since.

  • Liked — Beautiful
  • Disliked — The fort is a bit risky for small children with low walls, etc.
  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

This was the last hotel on our golden triangle trip, halfway between Jaipur and Delhi. We saw the photos, thought it looked fabulous, read it had a good spa experience and i'd seen a tv documentary about the french co-owner who with his biz partner were takinbg over delapidated palaces, forts and colonial houses and turning them into hotels.

This i think was their first and it's looks like they need to come back to update and relook at who manages the hotel on a day to day basis. This hotel could be magnificant, but unfortunately it was dirty and falling apart. Service does not exist, staff couldn't give a damn, noisy (our room Radha Mahal ) it has engine ?/air ventilation? noise from the kitchens below and there was some sort of store room opening onto the back of our room.

The restaurant only serves a buffet which lots of local businesses come to eat at, quality is mediocre (we were ill after eating here and this after our 7 day).

This hotel (or non hotel as they describe themselves) is not at a level for European/American clientele, there were many local (Delhi) indian families there when we were there as the hotel is not very expensive. If we were to return to the region, i would follow the local tour operator advice and stay at the Samode Palace.

We did enjoy the Aryvedic spa massage although the spa building is quite plain and run down.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

Peaceful, relaxing, beautiful, unique, this is a great place to wind-down after a busy trip to India. After all the commotions associated with traveling and sightseeing in India, The Neemrana Fort Palace is a welcome oasis away from all the noise and crowds. Not much to do there and be prepared to climb stairs and hills. Rooms are not comparable to what you would find in a 5 star hotel - this is quite different. Each of the 55 rooms is different.

We stayed 2 nights. One night in a very "rustic" room that was part of the original fort (500 year old room) and the next night in the highest tour of the complex - a recently built large apartment at the very top of a tower overlooking the whole valley - wow!

The weather was cold and cloudy so the magnificent pool was not an option but my kids (11 and 6) just enjoyed the whole castle medieval feel to it.

I can only imagine what this place would be like in the spring.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Neemrana Fort-Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neemrana Fort-Palace

Address: Village Neemrana, District Alwar, Rajasthan, Alwar 301705, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Alwar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Alwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In February two-thousand and twelve, Neemrana Fort-Palace received the National Tourism Award from the President of India for the Best Heritage Hotel, instituted by the Ministry of Tourism. What was once a grand ruin, now stands resplendent.Neemrana not only strive to revive and restore the heritage structure but it also generate jobs and economic reforms for locals by hiring local people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Neemrana Fort-Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neemrana Fort-Palace Hotel Alwar
Neemrana Fort Palace Rajasthan
Neemrana Fort-Palace Alwar, India - Rajasthan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neemrana Fort-Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.