We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A B- rating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Neemrana Fort-Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Neemrana Fort-Palace to your Saves list
Neemrana Fort-Palace
Village Neemrana, District Alwar, Rajasthan, Alwar 301705, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Alwar
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“A B- rating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2006

The above 4 star ranking is given only for the place - there is so much potential but it is so under utilised.

The Neemrana is a majestic location in Rajasthan with history reeking from every corner ,,,and thats all there is to it. A great location alone does not a hotel make. How many things require to be looked at -

- the staff is woefully undertrained - world class hotels have completely well trained staff - the rustic location cannot be the justificatiion for untrained staff.

- all the guests had problems with the tonnage of AC in their rooms (without being fussy a 40 degree + temperature does demand the hotel be more sensitive in this area)

Otherwise good food, a great swimming pool and some time spent with the kings of ancient times.

I hope the hotel looks at making this place one of India;s most wanted historical destinations to travel to.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    311
    127
    51
    55
See reviews for
221
307
23
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2006

Friends had booked the entire place for two nights for their wedding so it was extra special. The setting is magical, but, to be honest, there's nothing to do after the first day! We were part of a 200 people party so it was fantastic. Go in a group.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2006

We stayed here for a night to break the journey from Jaipur to Delhi. It is a breathtaking place to stay . We had a 2 roomed suite with 2 bathrooms and a large terrace. The beds are a bit hard, but the charm of the place makes up for that!

Our kids loved it, but small children would have to be watched as there are a lot of places they could fall off. The gardens were beautiful.

I would agree that the initial welcome wasnt as friendly as the other hotels we stayed in, and check in took forever- but despite that- it really was fantastic.

We were all a little delicate of stomach by the time we got here, so we didnt eat in the restaurant-we had drinks and snacks only- but they were very good.

We will definitely go back on our next trip to India.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2006

This place is really, really cool. We never left the fort, but had such a great time relaxing, dining outside and exploring the building.

I'm assuming the high ratings are related a bit to the price. Neemrana is less than half the price of an Oberoi or Taj and many times more charming.

Not sure if I'd bring a child since there are all sorts of spots where it would seem possible to fall off the side.

The restaurant downstairs is very kitchy and cool - highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2006

It's a real thrill to arrive at the fort at night. It's lit up in the most beautiful way. Neemrana Fort Palace must be one of the most romantic places in the world.

You'll climb many stone steps to reach reception and climb more steps to get to your room. I think that children would love this place. It's exciting to see what's around the corner.

You'll want to book in advance and request a room with a roof top terrace (very reasonably priced). We spent most of our time on the terrace. If you wake up very early in the morning, and look down from your terrace, you'll see monkeys in the trees. Very beautiful.

The food is excellent. The staff members are extremely helpful.
There are no phones and no televisions in the room. Very relaxing.

The room had so many windows with marvelous views of the fort. (We were in the room called "Hari Villas")

We hired a car in Delhi (arranged through our Delhi hotel) and the trip was approximately 2.5 hours. The highways seemed to be fine at night.

If you are going to be there in January, bring warm clothes because it's very cool at night. We were given the best hot water bottles, just before going to bed.


I think that a two or three night stay would be just right. Definitely worth the trip if you are in Delhi. You can spend your days just roaming around the fort.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2006

We had read all the wonderful reviews of Neemrana Fort and were looking forward to a rest there after a hectic 5 days of travel. I agree with all of the other reviews that have already been posted, it is a truly amazing experience to stay in a Fort. It was wonderful to explore all the nooks and crannys that form this amazingly restored fort. The afternoon tea that is provided free of charge is a nice touch, we sat on the top of the fortress drinking tea enjoying cakes and biscuites whilst watching the sun set with Parrots flying around us and Eagles soaring above, a wonderful memory!

My partner and I cannot recommend the massages in the spa highly enough.

A few minor points that did surprise us, but by no means spoiled our time there were:

The check in is very chaotic, we are independent travellers and I think that they are more geared up for tour company travellers. The reception looks a bit disorganised and they had a bit of trouble finding us and were not particularly friendly. (Maybe is had been a stressful day for them as they seemed friendly enough the next day!) But our first impression, after being stunned by the wonderful fort was not one of welcome or smiles!

The staff at the Fort though are wonderful, nothing is too much trouble for them. The evenining meals were wonderful and very atmospheric. We can highly recommend the Indian Sula wine. I did feel that once we had eaten and were still enjoying our wine and a chat, there was an expectation for us to leave so that it could be closed and cleared away, which was a a shame.

This is not a place for people who enjoy late nights and entertainment. There are pre dinner drinks and some local entertainment which was lovely. The lights go out on the fort, which is lit up once it gets dark, fairly early c 11 - 11.30pm. So make sure you have a good book to read and perhaps a few drinks to enjoy and relax on your balcony or in one of the many seating areas.


Secondly, again a minor point, the rooms are basic but the views by far outweigh that, especially if you are lucky enough, as we were, to have a balcony to sit out on in the evening. However when it came to sleeping, the beds are rock hard. I don't mean that they are firm, I do mean rock hard. The mattress is very thin and it is on a wooden base. I woke up several times with a dead arm or a sore back. But a minor thing to put up with for a few days, surprising though considering all the attention to detail that has gone into this fort.

Make sure you check out the shop in the Fort. We made a few purchases there and didn't realise what good value they were until we travelled on to jaipur, Jodhpur etc. There is lso a shop worth looking at just as you leave the fort, again excellent value.

As I said though, for a couple of days of escapism and relaxation this is definitely a must as a rest before our onwards travel and a truly memorable experience.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2006

Some friends were married here, and all the guests stayed at least one night. This place is really lovely, if somewhat isolated. Beautiful property, stellar service, and delicious food. The shampoo/conditioner/shower gel/lotion smell WONDERFUL. I wish they would sell their exclusive scent in the shop. This is a wonderful, romantic getaway. I only wish I could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Neemrana Fort-Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neemrana Fort-Palace

Address: Village Neemrana, District Alwar, Rajasthan, Alwar 301705, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Alwar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Alwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In February two-thousand and twelve, Neemrana Fort-Palace received the National Tourism Award from the President of India for the Best Heritage Hotel, instituted by the Ministry of Tourism. What was once a grand ruin, now stands resplendent.Neemrana not only strive to revive and restore the heritage structure but it also generate jobs and economic reforms for locals by hiring local people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Neemrana Fort-Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neemrana Fort-Palace Hotel Alwar
Neemrana Fort Palace Rajasthan
Neemrana Fort-Palace Alwar, India - Rajasthan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neemrana Fort-Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.