We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and Beautiful, historic, adventure-filled” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Neemrana Fort-Palace

Save Saved
You added Neemrana Fort-Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Neemrana Fort-Palace
Village Neemrana, District Alwar, Rajasthan, Alwar 301705, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 hotels in Alwar
USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Old and Beautiful, historic, adventure-filled”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We came to Neemrana for a wedding on 30th Dec. Its a good 2hr drive from Delhi and once we got there we had to walk up a short hill because we had come by bus and the last stretch was not accessible by large vehicles. If you come in a saloon car, you should be fine though. The rooms take you back into time, but have all the modern day amenities (hot water, wifi, etc). We stayed in The room Kesar Mahal which as really nice; it had 2 rooms with two full beds even though we only needed one - so this is good if you are coming with a small family. The views are breathtaking and you can indulge in some ziplining over the fort while you are here. They also have some great pools that look over the city at the bottom of the hill. The food was also superior. As a wedding destination it was magnificent.

Only issue was guest treatment - when it came time for checkout, the man who came to clean the room opened the door and walked a good way into the room - my husband was showering and luckily i had just finished dressing up. It was scary especially since there has been a huge rape case in Delhi that has caught worldwide Attention. at mealtimes, the buffet staff would serve the people behind me before they served me - which I found disconcerting especially since those guests asian and caucasian to my african. Not saying that they are racist, but it makes you wonder..... At checkout they also gave me the wrong change and acted like I was the one who was causing a problem because I had no small denominations. Not all the staff were like this - the manager and his partner were really nice and helpful.

So generally I would say amazing location and place - great for lovers and for adventures with a family, but the non-managerial staff (cashiers, waiters, room cleaners) are arrogant, rude and can spoil your experience.

Im sorry i didn't take any pictures of the room.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana Fort-Palace, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about the Neemrana Fort-Palace heritage hotel in Rajasthan.

We are pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in the Kesar Mahal room.

Your generous compliments about the food have been conveyed to the Chef and his team.

As you may be aware, Neemrana tries to employ as many local people who are often not educated. We put them through a training program and try to empower them to run our local heritage with pride. This prevents them from migrating to urban slums. Please be assured that your feedback has been taken very seriously and the necessary training and instructions have been given to the staff. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    233
    267
    107
    45
    49
See reviews for
183
269
19
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is a very nicely-laid out hotel. The food was excellent. The service was good, and the kids enjoyed the music concert. We unfortunately had a very loud wedding in the village, which left us a bit sleepless. It is also a bit of a drive outside of Delhi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana Fort-Palace, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to receive your kind words about the Neemrana Fort-Palace heritage hotel near Delhi.

It is rewarding to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your weekend getaway from Delhi.

Your generous compliments about the food have been conveyed to the Chef and his team.

Unfortunately the events in the village are beyond our control. Nevertheless we duly apologise for the same and hope that you will not hold the same against us.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
French Alps
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Went to spent a week-end in Neemrana with friends during high season (just before Diwali) and can happily say that, for the size of the hotel, the setting is surprisingly private and you don't run into other people constantly. Amazing setting of the palace carved in the mountain, probably best seen from the Flying Fox high above. The rooms are somewhat antique and the mod cons are not the best (basic shower facilities for example) but really spacious and all of them unique - unlike the chain hotels we stayed in. Spend the evening roaming around in the property which is like a labyrinth and discover the different levels, pools and stone staircases. Dinner/Lunch are not spectacular: A simple buffet style with purely indian food and I've had better than that.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana Fort-Palace, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about the Neemrana Fort-Palace.

It is heartening to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed the ambience of this monument-hotel.

We are disappointed to read your feedback about the food. Please note that the lunch and dinner buffet includes approximately 15 dishes with a mixture of Indian, Chinese, and Continental cuisine including vegetarian and non-vegetarian soups, salads, starters, main courses, and various Indian and Continental breads and desserts. Do give our Chefs an opportunity and they will try and please you whenever you choose to visit next.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

neemrana fort is surely an amazing place, esp for fort lovers like me. though i read a lot about
it before going there ,but to be personally exploring all nooks and corner of the fort was all the
new experience. It is a beautiful fort with perfect surroundings and very nice ambience. Staff was
very helpful in every possible way and hospitality was extremely gud.All those reviews which i
read before about the non compliance of staff were not at all true. They surely did their best
to make us comfortable.we stayed for 2 nts there. one nt we stayed at aman vilas and the other
night at sheela mahal. Both were different but both were equally gud.Being on the top, both the rooms had gud views from their private balconies.In sheela mahal there was one bathroom and a jacuzzi bath tub which was awesome. aman vilas has two bathrooms and is a duplex room
the only thing which is a flaw in this property is their average food. They surely should do something about it. It is inappropriately expensive and upto the taste.otherwise the palace is gud. must visit.

Room Tip: sheela mahal has a jacuzzi bath tub ,so its a new concept
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana Fort-Palace, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about the Neemrana Fort-Palace heritage hotel near Delhi.

We are pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the Sheela Mahal & Aman Vilas suites.

Your compliments about the warm hospitality have been conveyed to the team at Neemrana.

Your feedback about the food has been conveyed to the Chef and his team and we do hope that you will notice an improvement whenever you visit next. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night with some friends while on our way to Jaipur. The fort is wonderful and was one of the highlights of our trip. We knew that it was going to be lovely but we did not expect it to be that great.

We had booked one of the 2 level rooms with several balconies. The room was very large and there was more than enough room for the tree of us. The view from the room was so beautiful.

We started the day in the pool and then walked around exploring the property. It is really fun to just wonder around the fort and see the views.

During the evening there was a special dance performance and dinner. The performance was amazing. We really enjoyed the show and the dinner afterwards was wonderful. The entire dining area was lit up with candle light.

The whole fort is lit up at night and any direction you look is just amazing. We tried to take some pictures but they just don't do it justice.

Lovely stay. Would highly recommend checking this place out

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana Fort-Palace, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to receive your warm and appreciative review about the Neemrana Fort-Palace heritage hotel near Delhi.

It is rewarding to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed the facilities of the property, including the two outdoor swimming pools.

Your compliments about the cultural performance and the Gala Dinner have been conveyed to the team at Neemrana.

Thank you for sharing the stunning photographs. We look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

We went there for the purpose of unwinding and getting away from the city life, and we got exactly what we hoped for!
As we know, all rooms are different. We were booked in chini mahal, but since we had a baby with us and lots of stuff, we found the room a little small. So we were promptly shown a few other options by the helpful staff and we zeroed in on kesar mahal. Lovely small suite,overlooking the kachha chowk. It was near the common areas, as we didnt want to climb too many steps with the baby. As our room was in the oldest wing, we literally soaked in the history.

Food was good, breakfast had limited options though. We took the multimedia self tour of the fort, and discovered its history.
The neemrana shop needs a little sprucing up, not up to the mark.
Overall a great experience, nice ambience, helpful staff. If you are looking for a quick getaway as well as some quiet and peace, this is your answer.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana Fort-Palace, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to learn that you were able to relax and rejuvenate at the Neemrana Fort-Palace heritage hotel near Delhi.

It is heartening to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the Kesar Mahal suite in the heritage wing.

This is exactly what we strive to achieve and it always rewarding when someone at the receiving end can sense the effort and the love.

Your feedback about the Neemrana shop has been conveyed to the personnel concerned and the requisite action shall be taken at the earliest.

We thank you for your patronage to Neemrana Fort-Palace and the 27 Neemrana non-hotel Hotels in India.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Celebrated my birthday at this hotel recently. I have been there several years ago, as well.
The place is really a fort, situated in the hillside with all rooms on different elevations. Sometimes going from one place to another was like a maze. I liked the ambience. This time of the year (December-February) is generally quite a busy season for them. This place is not for people who hate climbing narrow stairs or expect lavish lobby or rooms of the types one experiences in places like Rambaugh Palace in Jaipur. This is a more modest fort palace but oozes lots of charm for people like me who love authenticity and histrory.

Room Tip: All rooms are different so if you have a preference, you should call them and indicate what you woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana Fort-Palace, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your birthday at the Neemrana Fort-Palace.

Your compliments about the ambience have been conveyed to the Co-Chairmen and the restoration team at Neemrana.

We hope that as you discover more of real India with Neemrana, you’ll find more to tell us about. On behalf of the entire Neemrana team we thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you at our 27 properties across India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Neemrana Fort-Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neemrana Fort-Palace

Address: Village Neemrana, District Alwar, Rajasthan, Alwar 301705, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Alwar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 hotels in Alwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In February two-thousand and twelve, Neemrana Fort-Palace received the National Tourism Award from the President of India for the Best Heritage Hotel, instituted by the Ministry of Tourism. What was once a grand ruin, now stands resplendent.Neemrana not only strive to revive and restore the heritage structure but it also generate jobs and economic reforms for locals by hiring local people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Neemrana Fort-Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neemrana Fort-Palace Hotel Alwar
Neemrana Fort Palace Rajasthan
Neemrana Fort-Palace Alwar, India - Rajasthan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neemrana Fort-Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.