We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saturday night out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Dynasty

Imperial Dynasty
18-20 High Street, West Malling ME19 6QR, England
01732-840402
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 40 Restaurants in West Malling
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Saturday night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We booked a table for 7:30, but arrived slightly early. Initial welcome not very good, I got slightly worried that they did not have my booking. But after 5 minutes of worry, we were shown to our table. From then on the service was friendly and efficient.
We chose a set meal for the 4 of us. The food and the selection of dishes were very good.

When we booked, we were informed the table was ours for 2 hours, the service was not rushed and we stayed longer but at no time were we made to feel uncomfortable. We may have been lucky and the were no bookings after us.

I will definitely go here again for a meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    35
    14
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely as always”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Had a meal here to celebrate my birthday, the food was fantastic..so much so, we literally cleaned our plates. The only criticism was, we were a party of four and we were placed in the back half of the restaurant. This would not be a problem if it wasn't for the fact that I literally had the arm from someone on the next table knocking mine. They had obviously squeezed in an extra table. This made it quite uncomfortable and even the waiting staff couldn't get through to put the dishes on the table. Not great. The food however was faultless as always. Would still come back but will insist on sitting at the front half.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Malling, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Superb food and service staff always attentive and friendly. Not the cheapest chinese restaurant in the area but the best by a long way

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Chinese food - best for a fair distance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Great food, no delivery but worth ordering by phone and picking up.

Fried peppercorn baby squid are very, very tasty and I highly recommend trying them. (we've had these every time and I always want more)
Their Crispy Mongolian lamb special is a variant of the famous Peking duck wraps (which they also do) and the lamb is unusual but really very tasty (we've had that twice now)
They have a few ginger and spring onion dishes, and the balance of the ginger and the spring onion are very tasty (we had lamb)

They have loads of other dishes but these have been my personal favourites (I would happily each 3 -4 portions of the baby squid)

The service is smiley but not very personal or friendly, but I've never cared as we've always ordered their food as a takeaway. If you fancy Chinese food this the best I've found in the area and some of the best I've had in England

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Always delivers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Visited Imperial Dynasty in September 2013 with family. The food was as always of the highest quality but if ID are ever to hit 5* then the service needs to improve.

Although it is attentive the sparkle is just not there from a few years back. The owner adds the smile and personality but all the staff need to take his lead.

That said, I would whole heartedly recommend the Imperial Dynasty.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imperial Dynasty also viewed

 
West Malling, Kent
 

Been to Imperial Dynasty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Dynasty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.