We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice pub will return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The George at Trottiscliffe

The George at Trottiscliffe
Taylors Lane | Trottiscliffe, West Malling ME19 5DR, England
01732 822462
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 39 Restaurants in West Malling
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Tel number 01732 822462 Postcode ME19 5DR
kent
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“nice pub will return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

had lunch here, was very busy, omelette was yummy! will defo return! nice country feel and in summer the beer garden will be a pleasant way to enjoy a sunday roast..nice little village too.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    34
    13
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Snodland, Kent. UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Huge plates!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Visited here for lunch today (a Sunday).

Glad we booked as the place was packed, even at 2pm when we arrived. Nice to see that in the current economic climate! the business was justified by the service, food, quality and quantity! We 4 adults, 2 children) all had roast and one adult had the steak and ale pie. All were huge dishes and all were polished off. The children's plates (specifically Children's size) would have been enough for an adult, and the adult size could have been a share plate! The desserts were divine and very English (treacle tart, lemon meringue pie, coffee and walnut sponge cake etc). My cheese and biscuit plate would have fed me and the kids (but they had ice cream and I didn't want to share!)

The only down side would be that if they reduced the plate sizes a bit, they could reduce the prices a bit. Don't get me wrong, it was extremely good value, but you do need a big appetite!

There's a lovely play area outside for the kids, but today was too wet for our kids to appreciate it properly.

Would definitely recommend this place and will definitely be going again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Come here often with my boyfriend and always have such a lovely meal. Steaks are always cooked how you want them to be. Excellent!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Fab Food and Charming Village Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We turned up without a booking on a Saturday lunchtime, and we did have to wait for 1 hour and 15 mins before our starter turned up. They were soooo busy, so my advice is to book in advance. Obviously very popular. Anyway, all was forgiven when the food arrived, because it was excellent. Try the homemade soup......it was delicious and clearly freshly made.

I took my parents and they had the OAPs 2 courses for £10. The portions were very healthy, and they really enjoyed the food and atmosphere.

Try to get seated at the front of the pub, as the back extension is pretty characterless.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wrap Up Warm - but the food is lovely!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Lovely lovely old fashioned pub/restaurant. Food Excellent - service excellent - but so so cold. There were twelve in our party and everyone commented on how cold it was in there.

All of the food was served quickly and was hot when it arrived. Portions are huge, and good value for money. The waitress was helpful and very friendly, asking serveral times during the meal if everything was ok.

We visited midweek but I understand that it is busier at weekends. Would certainly recommend a visit if you are in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George at Trottiscliffe also viewed

West Malling, Kent
East Malling, Maidstone
 

Been to The George at Trottiscliffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George at Trottiscliffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.