We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, small portions” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pad Thai Restaurant

Pad Thai Restaurant
15 High Street, West Malling ME19 6QH, England
01732 870 000
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Pad Thai Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 39 Restaurants in West Malling
Price range: $39 - $55
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: West Malling, widely considered the gastro-capital of the Maidstone area, offers a wide range of restaurants and Pad Thai is it’s finest South East Asian offering, tempting in diners from across the South East. One of the reasons could be the combination of olde worlde Tudor building and traditionally inviting Thai inspired décor, another could be the warm welcome and excellent service but undoubtedly the main draw would be the unsurpassed food. Created by a team with a history serving the Thai Royal family, the traditional dishes are authentic and delicious, made with excellent, fresh ingredients.
uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, small portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We visited the Pad Thai for the first time one Sat eve. The food was very tasty but there was no way near enough. The portions were too small for the prices they charge. I came out feeling hungry! The service was OK but there seemed too many staff rushing around. I know the place way busy but less rush more interaction with the customer would have been nice. I will be heading back to the Lemongrass in T Wells. Far superior food, great size portions, better friendlier service and better value for money.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    19
    21
    14
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“My last visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

The food is good, but having discovered another Thai in Tunbridge Wells, whose food surpases the Pad Thai, and where we are treated with warmth, repect and made to feel special there is no competition, I'd rather travel the 20 miles than nip round the corner to the Pad Thai.

I have made my last visit to the Pad Thai this week, I shalln't be returning. not because I don't like the food, and. not because it's pricey, but because the main lady is agressive, intrusive and unwelcoming. We sat and waited for over 20 minutes to be served and even then we had to get the lady's attention to serve us, which I think was a big mistake and one she wasn't happy with.

We ordered our starters which were served, and then we ordered our main course and she repeated our order several times, tutting at us as she didn't think it was a good choice, which begs the question what's it doing on the menu.

On previous visits, and their have been many, we chose to ignore her abruptness and put it down to a difference in cultures, and actually found it quite amusing on times. However, our last visit a couple of days ago was just down right rudeness on her part, on a par with Fawlty Towers".

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A great Thai meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We visited on a Saturday evening, and luckily we'd booked as the restaurant filled up fast.

We opted for one of the set meals, and the owner/manager was very accommodating when we asked for an alternative to the green curry dish. She asked if we ate most things, told her to leave it with us and said she'd surprise us!

The mixed starters were very good & varied. The soup smelt a bit odd but tasted a lot better than it smelt! The Pad Thai noodles were lovely as were the other meat & seafood dishes.

Overall it was a lovely & enjoyable meal, with very good service, and I'm sure we'll visit again in the future.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

good authentic thai food in a cosy old 'tudor type'? building. It may look closed, need a bigger 'Open' sign but it is well worth checking out rather than passing by because you can't see in!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent service - excellent traditional food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Firstly I have to admit it is not cheap - but if you feel like treating yourselves this is the place to head. Real gold cutlery and beautifully decorated china await you as you are seated by traditionally dressed, friendly staff. You will not find a more authentic Thai restaurant in Kent.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pad Thai Restaurant also viewed

 
West Malling, Kent
Southborough, Kent
 

Been to Pad Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pad Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.