We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms and friendly staff. Highly recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Iokasti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Iokasti to your Saves list
Villa Iokasti
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ag.Konstantinou 10, Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Koutouloufari
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms and friendly staff. Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed here with a friend for four nights and we fell in love with the place! Every individual villa has its own kitchen, living room, bedroom, bathroom, and a balcony. There was plenty of space and everything was tidy and clean.

The place is away from the party crowd and about a 20-minute walk to the town, buses, and the beach. Katie was super friendly and made the stay even more enjoyable. Lokasti is also a restaurant that serves excellent food in a nice setting.

I will definitely stay here again and would highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    15
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
31
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We have just spent 5 nights at this wonderful little hotel. Dimitris and katerina were so lovely and hospitable. Nothing was too much trouble for them. This is the most friendly place we've ever been to. The restaurant food was delicious especially the Cretan roast lamb and potatoes. The room was adequate but excellent for the price and we had the ground floor poolside room which was very convenient. Although we hated Hersonissos as a resort -loud and noisy, the village of Koutouloufari and the neighbouring villages were delightful and I could have happily spent a week in the villages without touching the town. Plenty of lovely restaurants in the village. We had a car to visit a few of the sites - Spinalonga, Knossos and Lisithi and it was very easy to get on to the main road without touching the main resort of hersonissos.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere-Stad, Flevoland, Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in villa Iokasti in September 2012. I promised Katie( Katarina ) that we would write a review but I haven't come round to it until now.
We do definitaly recommend Villa Ioakasti to anyone who is looking for a quiet holiday in a traditional Greek setting. Villa Iokasti is a very pitoresque place to stay, made up out of several appartments which are situated on different levels giving it the atmosphere of a small village on it's own. The appartements are clean and tidy and the kitchen has the basic house hold items. If you require anything else you can always ask Katie and she is always happy to try and provide you with the item you require. If I remember right cleaning is done twice per week.
The swimming pool is kept clean very good as well and the time that we stayed there were always plenty of sunbeds available. We had diner several times during our weeks stay in Villa Iokasti and as many other we agree that the food is excellent!

Villa Ioakasti is in 2 minutes walking distance of the historic center of Koutoulofari where there are plenty of restaurants to enjoy oneself in the evenings. The town is situated on the slopes of the mountain above the very touristic Chersonissos. Although we have read that you can walk down the mountain we were glad we had a rental car to go there since in combination with the heat in can be quite a tough walk. Expect to be walking down for about 15 to 20 minutes and remember you will have to walk back up again as well. Shoes are recommended. Alternatively you can easily rent a scooter in one of the many rentals available in town.

You can find a small supermarket in the street straight across Villa Ioakasti which also includes a backery which we found to be very handy for some fresh baked bread in the morning to be enjoyed in front of our appartement.

Although it is already a while ago we would like to thank Katie, Dimitris and Nicolas for a great stay and the excellent service that we experienced here. If you want to experience authentic Greece and a relaxing holiday be sure to visit Villa Iokasti.

Danny and Esther from Holland.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meerlo, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Great place tot stay, exceptionally friendly! You feel right at ease. Accomodation was clean and tasteful. The food in the restaurant is very good and you sit on a beautiful terrace. In one word LOVELY.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Iokasti is the best you could hope for when looking for somewhere to stay in Crete. Built on the side of a hill overlooking the sea, it's simple shuttered rooms ( and air con ) make you feel as if you are in an old fashioned greek village, with terraces and tree-shaded courtyards . You walk in to the hotel through the veranda 'cafe '... rather a misnomer, the food, cooked by the owner is the best I have eaten in Crete. River cafe eat your heart out. Dimitri Vassilaki chooses the very best fresh ingredients and cooks them so that each ingredient speaks for itself . We had haloumi and sun dried tomatoes ( dried by himself, of course..) which made you think quite differently about each, and what a combination they made. Ketty makes the breakfast marmalade and jams and the puddings

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Katie, Dimitris and Nicolas are exceptionally friendly people, making sure you enjoy every part of your holiday to the max. They made me feel very welcome and at ease, and they are always there if you want to have a little chat or want some information, but never in a pushy way at all. The apartments are clean and there is more than enough space, the atmosphere inside the walls of this little village - as I like to call it - instantly puts you in relax mode and the food is by far the best I got to eat during my stay on Crete. The location is also very nice with a lot of nice spots in the near proximity. Definately recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duiven, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

It was 17 years ago that I am here for first time and it was love at first sight. I knew then here I go here often. I did, I know not how many times .....
You are here kindly received. Lovely relax you feel right at home.
The accommodation is clean and spacious. The restaurant is lovely from lunch to dinner, and the bar with great cocktails ... and great music .... Local people often come to something to drink after work that is always a good sign ..
I would say book! you will not regret!

Room Tip: I've been in different rooms and have no bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Iokasti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Iokasti

Address: Ag.Konstantinou 10, Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos > Koutouloufari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Koutouloufari
#5 Romantic Hotel in Koutouloufari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Iokasti 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Iokasti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iokasti Hotel Koutouloufari
Villa Iokasti Koutouloufari, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Iokasti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.