We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting and great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pithari

Pithari
Alexi Minoti & Agiou Vasileiou, Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
+(30)2897021449
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 36 Restaurants in Koutouloufari
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Mediterranean, Pizza & Pasta, Ice Cream, Vegetarian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Hornsea
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely setting and great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We dined here on the first and last nights of a recently holiday in Koutouloufari. The food and service was great both time. The Pithari Lamb is definitely worth trying and they make the best Greek pancakes in the village.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    21
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“This place is worth to try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Pithari was our first dinner experience in Koutouloufari. Restaurant is very attractive with big tree in the middle, pergolas with grapes, nice terrace upstairs. We visited this place 2 times. 1st visit was very positive; the guy who runs the place was very nice, described main local dishes. While waiting for food they provide bread with tapenade and butter with herbs. We had to wait a bit for our food, it arrived all together. The quality of food was very good (spinat & cheese pies, dakos, garlic bread, aubergine rolls, vegetable musaka, cretan salad). As compliment we received cretan pancakes with honey. We enjoyed a lot.
During our 2d visit personel didn't look friendly, maybe got tired. I ordered sole fish for main course; it was cooked in foil with lemon sauce. Healty choice, but I'd prefer pan fried for this type of fish.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Virtually empty and food took over an hour to arrive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Restuarant is nice and pretty to sit in. The guy who runs it didn't seem that friendly though. We placed our order, had a shared starter which came straight away and then after 45 minutes of wiaitng for our main course we asked how long it would be to which he replyed '6 greek minutes' he then went away and came back and said sorry there'd been a mistake and our food had been forgotten about so it was being done now (this is when there were 3 other tables occupied in the restaurant).
Food was very nice when it came but not worth waiting an hour for!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely traditional greek food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Very much enjoyed our meals there. The Pithari Lamb was excellent so succulent. Also had juvetsi which had never had before and was really tasty. Good service and enjoyed our wine, very reasonably priced.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corby
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“poor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

food was bland and cold....service was very slow....people complaining that they had to wait for an hour for their bills and had to ask on a number of occasions.....staff could not cope and were not organised.....we visited 10 restaurants during our stay 9 were brilliant this one poor

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pithari also viewed

Koutouloufari, Hersonissos
 
Koutouloufari, Hersonissos
Koutouloufari, Hersonissos
 

Been to Pithari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pithari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.