We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pretty restaurant, food was nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Esperos

Esperos
Koutouloufari, Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
london
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Very pretty restaurant, food was nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We ate here twice on our holiday - the chips were to die for!
Very nice restaurant whether you are sat upstairs with the view or downstairs within the vines. The service was very good and all waiters we encountered were very friendly.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    47
    14
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good, but not quite brilliant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Having missed out on eating here on our previous visits to Kotouloufari, we rectified that situation this year.

The taverna itself is very pleasantly laid out, with a large terrace looking out over the main street and towards the coast, and a cosy lower level also. Due to it's size, even when it was busy it never felt cramped or claustrophobic.

The staff were very friendly, from the attractive brunette on the door, through to all of the waiting staff. They were all very well drilled and ran a very efficient operation.

The food was very nice, tasty and well made, just as I've come to expect from tavernas on Crete. My only gripe was that the portions weren't as generous as some other places in the village, which was a bit of a let down. Don't let that put you off though as the food is truly delicious, and is served by very friendly, helpful staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“2nd visit this year!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

this was our second visit to koutouloufari this year, once again one of our first meals had to be at esperos, fantasic meal has always, great surroudings and brilliant staff, its always a pleasure to visit esperos.we cannot recomend this restaurant highly enough.looking forward to our visit again next year. thank you evlyn, manolis and all the staff for making our holiday special once again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
“One of the best restaurants we have been too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were in Crete in the summer and went to this restaurant and the food was delicious, we are vegetarian and there was a lot of choice if you didn't want to eat meat. The staff and owners are really welcoming and friendly, we ended up coming back to eat here each night as we loved it so much. Nice upstairs balcony with sea view as well. Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Best restaurant i know on kreta.
Lovely food, great service and nice staff. Good atmosphere. Try the mezes they are lovely

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Esperos also viewed

Koutouloufari, Hersonissos
Koutouloufari, Hersonissos
 
Koutouloufari, Hersonissos
Koutouloufari, Hersonissos
 

Been to Esperos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esperos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.