We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks Good sadly did NOT deliver” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Patriko

Patriko
Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete, Greece
2897029343
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 36 Restaurants in Koutouloufari
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Looks Good sadly did NOT deliver”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Firstly lets be clear we are not going to slag this place....secondly my wife & I have been to Crete many times & travelled the island extensivley from one end to the other, always hiring a car...hence we say AVERAGE for this place overal. Sadly we feel the standard in this area is VERY high so lets be honest .. Frozen chips, frozen fish, when its all available locally is a bit sad. Staff however wonderful warm & freindly.clean place nice setting..not to pushed for space. I had cheese pies to start, dry & hard have had MUCH better. Patriko chicken for main...Nice, but FROZEN CHIPS er hello.... My wife had onion soup...very nice... however the really sad bit was her FROZEN Sole....fish on this island is normally SOOOOO Good however this was most definatly NOT... it was dry grey & tastless served in a breadcrumbs & quite honestly very not GREEK she left most of it. However it was followed with a carrafe of Very good raki..on the house & some nice water melon again free..we would not say DONT go here just perhaps dont order the sole & dont expect true authentic CRETAN cooking, we have eaten out EVERY night we have stayed in Crete over many many years & we have been blown away with the simple mountain food, plain honest cooking, this was tourist food. Good value in fairness **** & well served & presented & plenty of it...so hope this helps..

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    31
    16
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Nice Greek atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were persuaded to come in here by the nice lady at the entrance who wasn't pushy at all. It was also very full which is always a good sign, in fact they started turning people away just after we were seated as there was no more room.
We had baked feta cheese between us to start, it was lovely. The only complaint I have is that we then had to wait about an hour for our main course (I had sea bream, my husband had kleftiko) - to be honest by the time it came I had started to lose the will to live. The food was good but not outstanding - perhaps they need more help in the kitchen as it is so busy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Food, service, surroundings outstanding. All home cooked and fresh food, very reasonably priced and service exceptional......Definately should go there you won't be disappointed.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We ate here on the first night of our holidays. To be honest the whole reason we were drawn to this restaurant while passing was due to the very pleasant lady greeting people in the restaurant. She was so friendly and welcoming and gave us great advice on what to do during our holiday around the local area.We ordered two steaks and unfortunately the food wasn't as good as the welcome, I found the steak very though and rubbery, however my Fiancee's didn't seem as bad so maybe it was just one bad dish :) Would definitely recommend it for the friendly service!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic! - well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We passed by this restaurant a few times because we didn't fancy looking out at the scooters and quad bikes next door but the lovely lady doing the welcome was so pleasant we decided to go in and try it out. Excellent choice! Very good meal, excellent service and very, very reasonable price.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patriko also viewed

Koutouloufari, Hersonissos
Koutouloufari, Hersonissos
 
Koutouloufari, Hersonissos
Koutouloufari, Hersonissos
 

Been to Patriko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patriko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.