We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iokasti Caffe

Iokasti Caffe
Villa Iokasti | Varnali 10, Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
+302897022607
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Sussex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We ate here on our first night and enjoyed it so much we came again.

Excellent wine and very well prepared and imaginative food, good service and pleasant atmosphere. The house salad was fantastic, very fresh, all the dishes we tried were good and puddings were lovely too. Very well presented food.

Our 6 year old son (he only eats bread, pasta, cucumber, sugar and coke) really liked eating here as well and they tried their best to develop his tastes.

Our evenings here weren't the cheapest but we felt it was money well spent as we all left very happy. Greek food can be terribly monotonous after a few days but you could easily eat here every night. Thanks to the chef and staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    57
    16
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely food & setting, exceptionally rushed experience. Disappointing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Tried to visit first eve of stay but told full even though I would say less than 50% of space in use. Had been on a previous visit so thought try again but perhaps best to book. Asked for a table at 9pm but told 'bit too late'. Arrived 8.30pm instead. Again, restaurant empty. Puzzling. Also, guests continued to arrive well past 9pm. Odd. The whole experience from start to finish lasted about 50 mins - we ordered wine (local recommendation, average), starters (cannot fault), mains (again, lovely). No time between courses, food was very hot too - good thing but even more time needed to take time & enjoy. We're on holiday!! Cannot understand as now into late September?! The food & settings as I said above were lovely. Service from the waiter (sorry not sure of name) was warm & inviting. The (apparent) owner or manager drifts around kissing those who she recognises from previous years & is, in my opinion, largely unwelcoming to those she does not. Not a genuine Greek welcome. Based on this experience I would not return. To contrast, we enjoyed a relaxed 2 hour plus experience in Esperos last night which restores my faith that hopefully this was an unfortunate one-off or the restaurant has just had enough after a a long season.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Pasta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We visited this restaurant only once during our visit and weren't disappointed. I had a lovely pasta dish and when we go back to Koutoulafari we will def visit again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth seeking out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The klefitiko amazing as was the chicken salad at lunch. Staff welcoming and friendly. Evening meals finished with complimentary fruit and Raki. Good views of the sea.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The restaurant has lovely staff, a nice location and ambience and good reviews. We were undecided on what to eat so thought we would try it. My partner had the mousaka from the specials which was tasty but could have done with a side salad.bbc I had the tagleatelli it was average, to be fair It tasted like something I could make at home but was unnecessarily smothered in olive oil. Maybe we made the wrong food choice unfortunately it is our least favourite meal in koutouloufari.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iokasti Caffe also viewed

Koutouloufari, Hersonissos
Koutouloufari, Hersonissos
 
Koutouloufari, Hersonissos
Koutouloufari, Hersonissos
 

Been to Iokasti Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iokasti Caffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.