We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we went out of our way to come here - and utterly worth it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iokasti Caffe

Iokasti Caffe
Villa Iokasti | Varnali 10, Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
+302897022607
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“we went out of our way to come here - and utterly worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I cannot speak highly enough of our visit to Iokasti. We were travelling back from Knossos to our hotel in Agios Nikolaos, and stopped here on a strong recommendation from a friend. And I'm SO glad we did. We were welcomed like family and fed like royalty, for a light 'late lunch' on a searing hot July afternoon.
Our host added a dish of her prized, home made taramasalata that has completely spoiled me: I don't think I could face the thought of anyone else's after this.
We loved it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    55
    15
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Not bad but not worth a second visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We were a family of 6 who visited here during our holiday in Koutouloufari in June/July. We chose to try here after reading some good reviews on this site. We have visited Koutouloufari a number of times, but have never been in before as it was very near where we stay and we like a walk in the evening before and after we eat.

We went on one of the first nights of our holidays and they had a varied menu, but I ordered stifado and was advised a few minutes later that it was off. We ordered plain spaghetti with no sauceon it or anything else for my nephew, but when this came it came with cheese sprinkled on it, so this had to go back. Another issue for me was that you could only get wine by the glass or bottle and they had no house wine as in most other places.

The food was okay, but the service was a bit disjointed and we thought it was expensive for what we had eaten compared to some other places in the village.

All in all we were a little disappointed and did not make a return trip in our second week.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Good food but poor service, waited almost 2 hours for our main course, told it was because everyone came at once, there was only about 20 in the place. Would hate to think how long I would wait if it was busy !!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“favourite restaurant in Koutouloufari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We have just returned from a great week in the Koutouloufari area and eat out every evening. It was a restaurant we returned to after our first visit because it is quality. Chef cooked us the most beautiful pieces of fillet steak on our first visit washed down by a lovely Greek Syrah wine. At 16 euro it was an expensive bottle for the area but worth it. The steaks at 18 euro were lovely and served a variety of ways. We had one with a mushroom sauce and the other 3 pepper. Although this was the most we spent on food and drink it was worth it. The second visit we spent less but still had a great meal. The mix of romantic and greek music was perfect too. Lovely hosts too.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This restaurant has a lovely layout and feel to it. The lamb and feta dish was lovely (kleftiko). Would recommend it for a nice quiet meal.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iokasti Caffe also viewed

Koutouloufari, Hersonissos
Koutouloufari, Hersonissos
 
Koutouloufari, Hersonissos
Koutouloufari, Hersonissos
 

Been to Iokasti Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iokasti Caffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.