We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly welcoming and warm!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oniro Restaurant

Oniro Restaurant
Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete, Greece
(+30) 28970 23840
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Southampton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly welcoming and warm!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

This is one of our best finds ever in Koutouloufari. The food outstanding the view breath taking and the wonderful warm welcoming atmosphere second to none.

The family who run the restaurant have recently appeared in a small cameo in BBC3's, 'Sun, sex and suspicious parents, series 2.' One of the boys parents were sat in Oniro whilst telling their son they were in france.

Funny program, but it brought back such fond memories to see Eri serving wine in the restaurant.

They treated us like part of the family, and nothing was too much trouble, I so look forward to my next visit to Crete as this will be my first port of call on my first evening for a most fantastic meal.

A must try!!!!!!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    70
    13
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Really good traditional Greek food, a big resteraunt but no waiting around.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful family restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Great quality and delicious food, lovely service--treat you like family! Don't miss the meatballs--the sauce is out of this world. Spacious indoor and outdoor eating spaces.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Perfect Greek hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Whenever I go on a trip, I plan ahead. It's sort of a compulsory disorder which my girlfriend likes very much, as we always get to see most of the place we wanna visit, and I plan ample time for her to lie in the sun and for myself to write the business newspapers or a good book.

And so it was that I had read ahead that the Oniro restaurant in Koutouloufari was a pretty decent place. And you know what, it totally was.

Price - quality - hospitality - views, the best deal you will find for miles around. Went there twice in the short period of 4 days we were there, and truly, advisable.

Enjoy Crete. Regards from Brussels.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in village and good value too.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011 via mobile



We visited twice in September and were not disappointed. The food is well cooked and presented and comes wih fresh veg and homemade bread, unlike most of the competitors. Chicken stuffed with vine leaves was delicious and steaks were large and perfectly cooked. We visited 10 different restaurants during our stay and Oniro was the best by far, and very good value.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oniro Restaurant also viewed

Koutouloufari, Hersonissos
Koutouloufari, Hersonissos
 
Koutouloufari, Hersonissos
Koutouloufari, Hersonissos
 

Been to Oniro Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oniro Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.